MozillaZine

[ext] NoScript 1.1.4.6 - black & white edition

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
bulldog000
 
Posts: 91
Joined: November 29th, 2005, 2:30 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2007, 10:33 am

Giorgio Maone wrote:@bulldog000:
could you give me the URL of your blog, so I can check it? Thanks :)


<a href="http://urltea.com/285">Sure, here.</a>

Also, do you know why I can't digg links? I refreshed the page around 6-7 times, and got that undefined error each time. Only on the 7th time did it finally actually digg the story.

Jo-W
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 26th, 2007, 10:37 am

Post Posted March 26th, 2007, 10:42 am

Minor feature request:

Right clicking the noscript toolbar button should open the noscript context menu and not the toolbar customize context menu, just like the back and forward buttons.

Great extension

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted March 26th, 2007, 10:44 am

bulldog000 wrote:
Giorgio Maone wrote:@bulldog000:
could you give me the URL of your blog, so I can check it? Thanks :)


<a href="http://urltea.com/285">Sure, here.</a>

Also, do you know why I can't digg links? I refreshed the page around 6-7 times, and got that undefined error each time. Only on the 7th time did it finally actually digg the story.

I've just checked, and I can see an adsense unit just below the title as soon as I temporarily allow blogspot.com (googlesyndication.com was already allowed).
I'm starting to suspect there's something weird in your configuration regarding (re)loading content.
Have you got any extension that can interfere with this (e.g. FasterFox)?

bulldog000
 
Posts: 91
Joined: November 29th, 2005, 2:30 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2007, 2:32 pm

Giorgio Maone wrote:I'm starting to suspect there's something weird in your configuration regarding (re)loading content.
Have you got any extension that can interfere with this (e.g. FasterFox)?


My extensions:
Enabled Extensions: [25]
- AI Roboform Toolbar for Firefox 6.8.9: http://www.roboform.com
- CustomizeGoogle 0.55: http://www.customizegoogle.com/
- CuteMenus - Crystal SVG 1.8.2.1: http://www.cutemenuproject.com/
- del.icio.us 1.2: http://del.icio.us/
- Dictionary Tooltip 1.1.2: http://www.rjonna.com/ext/dictionarytip.php
- DOM Inspector 1.8.1.3: http://www.mozilla.org/projects/inspector/
- Download Statusbar 0.9.4.5.1: http://downloadstatusbar.mozdev.org/
- Forecastfox Enhanced 0.9.3.1: http://users.rcn.com/shoofy/forecastfox_enhanced/
- Gmail Manager 0.5.3: http://www.longfocus.com/firefox/gmanager/
- Google Calendar Notifier 2.5: http://extensions.npike.net
- Google Notebook 1.0.0.16: http://www.google.com/notebook
- Greasemonkey 0.6.7.20070131.0: http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/
- Menu Editor 1.2.3: http://menueditor.mozdev.org/
- MR Tech Local Install 5.3.2.3: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/
- NoScript 1.1.4.6.070304: http://noscript.net
- Resurrect Pages 1.0.7: http://trac.arantius.com/wiki/Extensions/Resurrect
- Skype Toolbar for Firefox 2.1.0.15: http://www.skype.com
- Stylish 0.4: http://userstyles.org/stylish/
- Super DragAndGo 0.2.6: http://morphis.eu.org/
- Tab Preview 0.3: http://ted.mielczarek.org/code/mozilla/tabpreview/
- Talkback 2.0.0.3: http://talkback.mozilla.org/
- VideoDownloader 1.1.1: http://videodownloader.net/
- Yahoo! Mail Notifier 0.9.9.2: http://ymnotifier.mozdev.org
- Yahoo! Toolbar 1.3.0.20060829: http://toolbar.yahoo.com
- Zoho QuickRead 0.7: http://www.zoho.com

Disabled Extensions: [8]
- AllPeers Beta 0.55.1: http://www.allpeers.com/
- Google Toolbar for Firefox 2.1.20060807W: http://www.google.com/
- Hyperwords(tm) 1.9.2: http://www.hyperwords.net
- ImageShack right-click 0.3.6: http://www.imageshack.us
- McAfee SiteAdvisor 26.1: http://www.siteadvisor.com/
- Platypus 0.66: http://platypus.mozdev.org
- Your Minis HUD 1.0.1.2: http://www.yourminis.com/
- Zotero 1.0.0b3.r1: http://www.zotero.org

DNV013
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 3rd, 2007, 7:14 pm

Post Posted March 26th, 2007, 3:20 pm

Is there any way to incorporate a "Temporarily" Allow Scripts Globally option?

Thanks.

Jeffsey500
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 27th, 2007, 9:51 pm

Post Posted March 27th, 2007, 9:54 pm

Hi

On my computer there appears to be a bug with NoScript. I have "Disable Flash" enabled. On the older versions, this worked. But on this one, the flash will display and run for half to one second, then it gets blocked. I'm not sure if this is just a bug or not, but it would be nice to be addressed in a future release.

Thanks for a great extension!

Jeff

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6450
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted March 28th, 2007, 5:15 am

Jeffsey500 wrote:On my computer there appears to be a bug with NoScript. I have "Disable Flash" enabled. On the older versions, this worked. But on this one, the flash will display and run for half to one second, then it gets blocked. I'm not sure if this is just a bug or not, but it would be nice to be addressed in a future release.
It's a known problem with certain types of flash with NoScript, and with Flashblock 1.5.2. Just to temporarily hijack this thread, in the latest Flashblock 1.5.unstable (1.5.3a), I've added what I call InstaBlock[TM] which eliminates this delay in blocking flash objects. Unfortunately Flashblock doesn't work in the presence of NoScript, so you are still out of luck.

Phil

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted March 28th, 2007, 6:46 am

Philip Chee wrote:
Jeffsey500 wrote:On my computer there appears to be a bug with NoScript. I have "Disable Flash" enabled. On the older versions, this worked. But on this one, the flash will display and run for half to one second, then it gets blocked. I'm not sure if this is just a bug or not, but it would be nice to be addressed in a future release.
It's a known problem with certain types of flash with NoScript, and with Flashblock 1.5.2. Just to temporarily hijack this thread, in the latest Flashblock 1.5.unstable (1.5.3a), I've added what I call InstaBlock[TM] which eliminates this delay in blocking flash objects. Unfortunately Flashblock doesn't work in the presence of NoScript, so you are still out of luck.

Phil

Phil, you're in this thread whenever you want.
I was working on this problem when my attention has been diverted on the more important (security wise) matter of XSS countermeasures.
Now that those are settled in a very effective way, I'm already back to my ZapForbid(TM) technology (roughly equivalent to your InstaBlock(TM), I guess), that will be baked into the next release candidate of NoScript ;)

BTW, FlashBlock and NoScript work fine together, just FlashBlock won't work on sites which are forbidden by NoScript -- I know Phil knows, just his last statement was not clear on this point IMHO.

Philip Chee

User avatar
 
Posts: 6450
Joined: March 1st, 2005, 3:03 pm

Post Posted March 28th, 2007, 7:10 am

Giorgio Maone wrote:BTW, FlashBlock and NoScript work fine together, just FlashBlock won't work on sites which are forbidden by NoScript -- I know Phil knows, just his last statement was not clear on this point IMHO.
That's true, but anybody using NoScript would be blocking almost every site anyway, so Flashblock is of limited utility for most NoScript users. At the moment on the Flashblock website, I'm recommending for those people using NoScript and Flashblock, to stick to NoScript (since security is more important than web annoyances).

Phil

H.frog
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 28th, 2007, 12:11 pm

Post Posted March 28th, 2007, 12:16 pm

Version 1.1.4.6.070317 (stable) freeze for few seconds when press OK in no scripts settings
its only happened to me?
is this known issue?

rigz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: March 28th, 2007, 12:52 pm
Location: Mumbai, India

Post Posted March 28th, 2007, 1:01 pm

Noscript can incorporate an option like "Block all Flash" irrespective of javascript being allowed / blocked for that site. And clicking on a placeholder (like ones seen in noscript as well as flashblock) can download the particular object... Why do we need two extensions when one can suffice?

(When will this feature be incorporated? [-o< )

dbhuff
 
Posts: 6
Joined: June 27th, 2006, 6:38 am

Post Posted March 29th, 2007, 8:23 am

Developer version with new XSS capabilities appears to crash on this site:
http://lw.pennnet.com/home.cfm

Worked before, get ColdFusion error page after upgrading to v 1.1.4.6.070325 from 317, no apprent way to enable the page

Giorgio Maone

User avatar
 
Posts: 3516
Joined: September 21st, 2004, 12:05 am
Location: Palermo - Italy

Post Posted March 29th, 2007, 8:47 am

dbhuff wrote:Developer version with new XSS capabilities appears to crash on this site:
http://lw.pennnet.com/home.cfm

Worked before, get ColdFusion error page

Thank you very much for your report.
I couldn't reproduce the ColdFusion error yet: I opened that page with no problem with scripts forbidden, and then with scripts allowed.
I also opened a couple of articles ("IBM team..." and "Corning...") just to be sure.
Is there anything else I should do to trigger this error (e.g. clicking some specific link or button)?

Thanks again!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 13340
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 29th, 2007, 9:20 am

With Adblock disabled, & NoScript Globally Allowed, this page brings up a ColdFusion error.

http://lw.pennnet.com/surveys/quickvote ... type=QVOTE

Ditto with Adblock enabled, & NoScript blocking everything.

Same thing happens in IE, so appears it is simply an error on their end & nothing to do with Mozilla/NoScript.

PS: I notified pennnet, so perhaps at some point it will work correctly.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 13340
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted March 29th, 2007, 9:51 am

I was looking at this:
Bug 371375 – [FIX]Websites can test for URLs visited (pdp Firefox Cache Hack - Firefox History Hack redux)
which uses this as a testcase:
http://www.gnucitizen.org/projects/hscan-redux/poc.htm

Anyhow, in order to get anything to "happen", you have to Allow Globally. Simply Allow gnucitizen.org is not sufficient, & I suppose that is a good thing :-).

Once Allowed Globally, a lot more sites, (the particular sites they check for), then show up in a (NoScript) left-click. They show, though none are allowed to be Allow.

Just to point that out.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 3 guests