MozillaZine


Forums Upgraded - Post Issues Here (2.0.21)

Talk about stuff specific to the site -- bugs, suggestions, and of course praise welcome.
old Ol Grumpy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2007, 12:43 pm

Some of the ips off the google advertising don't close properly when you leave a page and it's getting annoying beyond the normal stuff plus things start to bog down. In some cases you have to close your browser to clear them even when you block them specifically and the names showing in the "lookup" windows are always bogus, some spoofed eo, ao garbage. I could be wrong but then why don't they close properly?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53332
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2007, 1:01 pm

I block the google ads (userContent.css):
@-moz-document domain(mozillazine.org) {.th.gas_head, .gas {display: none !important;}}

/* suppress google_ads_frame */
iframe[src*="googlesyndication"] {display: none !important}

old Ol Grumpy
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted March 11th, 2007, 1:50 pm

I think it may be an bandwidth overlap, if such a thing exists.
The difference is between the ad range for Google and Everyone's Internet in Texas.
The Google range in question starts where the Everyone's Net leaves off.
I just blocked the IP range for the Google ads. It's annoying but it works. Some of the Google ad links don't annoy and they do pay the bills. Thanks for the Chrome script. I'll keep it handy if the other IPs get too annoying.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53332
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 11th, 2007, 3:20 pm

If I'm correct then Firefox still loads them.
Only the display is suppressed with that code.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 47510
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted June 11th, 2007, 1:33 am

Yet another case where I get notified of a reply to a post where it gives me a bogus URL.

The mail message had http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 93#2921993 . If I click on it I get "The topic or post you requested does not exist" . I found the thread is really at http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=557190 , which is the same URL in my list of watched topics. The threads title is "Trust junk mail headers set by SpamAssassin or SpamPal."

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27767
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 11th, 2007, 1:44 am

The post could have been deleted by the member posting it. http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 92#2921992 and http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 94#2921994 does exist and judging by the post times of these two it would have been shortly before the second Guest post in http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=557190

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 25th, 2007, 9:57 pm

(therube)

Yesterday evening, this morning, I have received a number of ...
You cannot make another search so soon after your last; please try again in a short while.

messages, when in fact, I had not made (or attempted) multiple consecutive searches.

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 25th, 2007, 10:20 pm

Happens to me often. It's especially funny when i open my ego after hours of being away from the forums. Just reload the page.

greenknight

User avatar
 
Posts: 6185
Joined: December 13th, 2004, 2:28 am
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens

Post Posted June 27th, 2007, 2:58 am

makondo wrote:Happens to me often. It's especially funny when i open my ego after hours of being away from the forums. Just reload the page.
I had that happen to me tonight when I first arrived, it's never happened before.
Win 10 Home x64, Linux Mint 20.1, AMD A10 6800K APU 4.1 GHz (4.4 Turbo), AMD Radeon HD 8670D (integrated graphics). G.Skill Ares DDR3-2400 (running at 2133) 8GB, Firefox 88.0, Developer Edition 89.0b3, Nightly 90.0a1x64. Nightly 89.0a1x64 Linux AMD64

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 27th, 2007, 9:07 pm

Did you laugh? I chuckle every time.

greenknight

User avatar
 
Posts: 6185
Joined: December 13th, 2004, 2:28 am
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens

Post Posted June 28th, 2007, 5:01 am

I'm on dialup, browsing is slow enough without such pointless delays. No, I didn't laugh.
Win 10 Home x64, Linux Mint 20.1, AMD A10 6800K APU 4.1 GHz (4.4 Turbo), AMD Radeon HD 8670D (integrated graphics). G.Skill Ares DDR3-2400 (running at 2133) 8GB, Firefox 88.0, Developer Edition 89.0b3, Nightly 90.0a1x64. Nightly 89.0a1x64 Linux AMD64

Kab
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: April 17th, 2006, 11:52 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2007, 11:28 pm

When I click "My Posts" over to the top right, I receive this error [well, received similar one 3/6 times in two days]: http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1659/errorrf7.png

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39909
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted August 29th, 2007, 1:50 am

Completely normal. As far as i see it it can happen if someone is changing the database (e.g. moving threads) if you try to find your posts.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20647
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 29th, 2007, 8:17 am

I've had that occur from time to time.
A Refresh (Ctrl+R) usually clears it up.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Kab
 
Posts: 1095
Joined: April 17th, 2006, 11:52 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2007, 1:12 am

Thanks trolly and therube. It's not happened since last reported. :)

Return to MozillaZine Site Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest