Firefox 2.0.0.10 broke my application, how can I fix it?

Discuss how to use and promote Web standards with the Mozilla Gecko engine.
TakaIta
Posts: 17
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 12:53 am

Firefox 2.0.0.10 broke my application, how can I fix it?

Post by TakaIta »

Firefox 2.0.0.10 broke my application. It now displays this error message:

Error: uncaught exception: Permission denied to get property HTMLDocument.privlib

Can somebody please tell me if there is a way to code around this? Is there some description of why this error is created with the new version?

Anything, please....
TakaIta
Posts: 17
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 12:53 am

Post by TakaIta »

Oh shit, it has something to do with an iframe.

My application does not do anything wrong with iframes. If Mozilla solves a security problems, it should make sure that the solution does not break valid working applications. This really ... me off.

[edit]No expletives please. trolly (moderator)[/edit]
User avatar
trolly
Moderator
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post by trolly »

You can check the descriptions of the fixed bugs to see if it has anything to do with your problem.
Domino seems to be also a valid application. Now it breaks on the jar bug fix.

I can move this over to "Web Development". Maybe there is a fix for you.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.
VanillaMozilla
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post by VanillaMozilla »

TakaIta,
How do you expect anyone to be able to help you? You haven't posted a single line of code, nor posted a link. We can't see your computer.

You're also insulting the wrong people. No one here is responsible for Mozilla code or has any power to change it.

Finally, you might be right, but don't forget that you might be wrong. Suggest you get a fresh try in the right place. Bye now.
TakaIta
Posts: 17
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 12:53 am

Post by TakaIta »

I checked them. I am not a security expert, so it will take some time for me to understand what exactly has changed in Firefox which breaks my application.

Basically my application (which is an intranet application) asks permission from the user to browse his PC and the network. It does so using an iframe and a jar-file. Both the iframe and the jar are mentioned in the update. Not sure where to start.
User avatar
trolly
Moderator
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post by trolly »

Best to check first if your jar archives are sent with the allowed content-types. This already broke Domino/Lotus Notes.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.
TakaIta
Posts: 17
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 12:53 am

Post by TakaIta »

Which content-type should they be sent with?

I have changed the content-type from "application/octet-stream", to "application/java-archive" for ".jar" files.

But the .jar file is located in an iframe (with id='privlib'), which is where the error ("Permission denied to get property HTMLDocument.privlib") comes from. I can get the properties of the iframe, but not of the iframe.contentDocument.
User avatar
trolly
Moderator
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post by trolly »

"application/java-archive" seems to be fine. http://www.mozilla.org/security/announc ... 07-37.html
For the other thing i'm moving to Web Development ...
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.
TakaIta
Posts: 17
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 12:53 am

Post by TakaIta »

Ok. I noticed another interesting thing.

There is no problem with getting the contentDocument or contentWindow of an iframe when the src points to an html document.

In my application it point to a jar file:

src=jar:http://localhost/4xp240/js/privlib.jar!/privlib.html
TakaIta
Posts: 17
Joined: December 16th, 2005, 12:53 am

Post by TakaIta »

Next morning.

Hmm, not sure if anyone is reading this anymore after it has been moved.

I did some more tests and found a totally bizar thing with this. It happens only on "http://localhost". When I open exactly the same page, but with "http://mycomputername/", there is no problem.

At least that means that users (who never run the application on "http://localhost") are not effected. And it seems that I have to abandon localhost as a development platform, at least when using Firefox.

Isn't that strange?
User avatar
trolly
Moderator
Posts: 39851
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post by trolly »

Yep. I'm not familiar with web development so i can not help here.

I have placed a comment in the JAR bug. If you can post the part of your application where the jar is loaded it would help if someone tries to check.
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=369814
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.
User avatar
bzbarsky
Posts: 478
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:36 pm

Post by bzbarsky »

TakaIta wrote:I did some more tests and found a totally bizar thing with this. It happens only on "http://localhost". When I open exactly the same page, but with "http://mycomputername/", there is no problem.


Can you please follow the directions at http://www.mozilla.org/projects/netlib/ ... gging.html to get a log of the HTTP traffic when loading that http://localhost URI and post that log here?
User avatar
jscher2000
Posts: 11742
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Contact:

Post by jscher2000 »

bzbarsky wrote:Can you please follow the directions at http://www.mozilla.org/projects/netlib/ ... gging.html to get a log of the HTTP traffic when loading that http://localhost URI and post that log here?

Someone should update that article to replace Ethereal with its successor, Wireshark: http://www.wireshark.org/

Edit: Sorry that was supposed to be .org not .com (!!)
Last edited by jscher2000 on November 29th, 2007, 6:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bzbarsky
Posts: 478
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 1:36 pm

Post by bzbarsky »

jscher2000 wrote:Someone should update that article to replace Ethereal with its successor, Wireshark: http://www.wireshark.com/


Want to do it? Click the "Edit this Page" link at the bottom, make the edits, click the "Save Changes" tab, click the "Download Diff" button.

Then e-mail the resulting file to bz@mit.edu. I'll get the changes made.
VanillaMozilla
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post by VanillaMozilla »

While you're at it, why don't you fix the program name and path?
Post Reply