Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
mpromber
Posts: 3Joined: November 27th, 2007, 11:17 am
Posted November 30th, 2007, 7:51 am
Works now. For some odd reason, my Greasemonkey stopped working for me, so I did a clean new install of Firefox (deleted user profile) and installed keyconfig from the source I gave above, no hiccups and it works.
fire&ice
Posts: 1Joined: November 30th, 2007, 2:55 pm
Posted November 30th, 2007, 2:59 pm
To make keyconfig compatible with later versions of Firefox.
Download keyconfig.xpi from http://mozilla.dorando.at/.
Rename to keyconfig.zip
Extract to a directory
Open install.rdf
Find <targetApplication><rdf>
<id>{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}</id>
<minVersion>1.5.0.6</minVersion>
<maxVersion>2.0.0.3</maxVersion>
</rdf></targetApplication>
Replace the 2.0.0.3 with 2.0.0.99 or similar.
Rezip up into a zip file (make sure that the root is the directory that contains chrome/ components/ etc.)
Rename to keyconfig.xpi
Drag into firefox
Install
ekbworldwide

Posts: 53Joined: May 28th, 2007, 3:53 am
Posted November 30th, 2007, 4:39 pm
I'm using keyconfig 20060828.1 Is the newest version of keyconfig 20060828.1?
Is the newest version of keyconfig to be found here (?):
http://mozilla.dorando.at/
I just installed ff 2.0.0.11 - It disabled keyconfig
So I used the MR Tech's Local Install add-on to override the incompatibility problem. All it takes is a mouse click and a restart. I've only been using 2.0.0.11 for a few minutes. Will I experience problems?
MR Tech's Local Install
http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/
It's very useful.
...
mastavic
Posts: 1090Joined: March 28th, 2004, 12:18 amLocation: San Francisco/San Jose, California
Posted November 30th, 2007, 7:23 pm
How weird. After I installed Firefox 2.0.0.11, keyconfig did not work. However, it works now, and I have not even changed anything.
ekbworldwide

Posts: 53Joined: May 28th, 2007, 3:53 am
Posted November 30th, 2007, 9:32 pm
MaStAViC wrote:How weird. After I installed Firefox 2.0.0.11, keyconfig did not work. However, it works now, and I have not even changed anything.
That makes no sense to me. I got an incompatibility warning and keyconfig was disabled. I clicked "check for update" and then was none to be found.
And none of the keyboard shortcuts worked. Hmm... maybe I could have just restarted firefox and tried again...
...
Louise6380
Posts: 61Joined: November 4th, 2007, 2:26 pm
Posted December 4th, 2007, 2:56 am
I'm using latest trunk with new profile with the fix below. I was able to install and the list of shortcuts are there but I can't add new shortcut to keyconfig. When I open "Key Editor" from "Add a new key" button, pressing "OK" will do nothing. Any idea what's wrong?
It seems it also does not work in 3.0 Beta 1.
thanks
dorando wrote:irkregent wrote:I'm trying out the trunk builds again (20070530), and found that the list of keys in KeyConfig's dialog is empty. Does anyone have it working on a trunk build?
It seems that in current trunk the "app-startup" doesn't fire, but it should be possible to workaround this by changing - Code: Select all
function keyconfigService() { }
to - Code: Select all
function keyconfigService() { this.os.addObserver(this,"stupid-dummy",false); }
in <a href="http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/profile">Profile</a>/extensions/keyconfig@dorando/components/keyconfig-service.js
dmcritchie
Posts: 30Joined: September 3rd, 2004, 1:14 pm
Posted December 4th, 2007, 1:39 pm
Can keyconfig be updated for Firefox 3. RC1 is out.
It also looks like it will need to be on a secure server or have a signature;
otherwise, not checking for compatibility would probably have worked.
http://wiki.mozilla.org/User:Mossop:Fx- ... teSecurity
dorando
Posts: 1203Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am
Posted December 6th, 2007, 5:35 am
DynaBMan wrote:Does anyone have a working keyconfig on the FF 3 beta?
The app-startup issue still seems to be present in the beta (I've had no time to investigate if this is a bug in the core, or a wrong assumption on my side), additionally "Add a new key" broke but should be fixable by replacing - Code: Select all
document.createElement
with - Code: Select all
gDocument.createElement
in Profile/extensions/keyconfig@dorando/chrome/keyconfig.jar!/content/keyconfig.js (don't forget to disable extensions.checkCompatibility and extensions.checkUpdateSecurity to actually install/enable it). unabatedshagie wrote:Is it possible to use keyconfig to make a key that will open a link in the current tab if you have it held down when clicking on a link?
No, but you might be able to create a custom extensions to achieve that by using a blank (.xpi is a .zip) one and pasting following above the </overlay> in overlays/main.xul - Code: Select all
<script><![CDATA[
var forceCurrent = { onLoad: function forceCurrent_onLoad(){ eval("handleLinkClick ="+handleLinkClick.toString().replace( 'case 0:', 'case 0: if(event.shiftKey && !event.ctrlKey) return forceCurrent.handleLinkClick(event, href); ')); }, handleLinkClick: function forceCurrent_handleLinkClick(event, href) { var a = gPrefService.getIntPref("browser.link.open_newwindow"); var b = gPrefService.getIntPref("browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction");
gPrefService.setIntPref("browser.link.open_newwindow",1); gPrefService.setIntPref("browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction",0);
loadURI(href, null, null, false); window.setTimeout(forceCurrent.reset,0,a,b);
event.stopPropagation(); event.preventDefault(); return true; }, reset: function forceCurrent_reset(a,b){ gPrefService.setIntPref("browser.link.open_newwindow",a); gPrefService.setIntPref("browser.link.open_newwindow.restriction",b); } }
window.addEventListener("load", forceCurrent.onLoad, false);
]]></script>
. This assumes that you wanted to force links that would normally open in a new window to open in the current tab, but note that it won't work always. The example code hijacks Shift+Click on links but not if the Ctrl key is down (the 'event.shiftKey && !event.ctrlKey' ), available modifiers are altKey, ctrlKey, shiftKey, metaKey (not usable on Windows). antonyb wrote:I'd like to assign a key in Thunderbird to cycle through my "Favourite Folders" while still keeping the Folder List on "All Folders" - i.e. hit the key and the current folder moves to the next in my favourites list, but that folder is highlighted in the "All Folders" view.
The best I can come up with currently is (note that the folders need to be visible for it to work): - Code: Select all
const MSG_FOLDER_FLAG_FAVORITE = 0x80000000;
var folderTree = GetFolderTree(); var currentIndex = folderTree.view.selection.currentIndex;
for(i = currentIndex + 1, l = folderTree.view.rowCount; i < l; i++) if(folderTree.view.getResourceAtIndex(i). QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIMsgFolder). getFlag(MSG_FOLDER_FLAG_FAVORITE)) return folderTree.view.selection.select(i);
for(i = 0, l = currentIndex; i < l; i++) if(folderTree.view.getResourceAtIndex(i). QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIMsgFolder). getFlag(MSG_FOLDER_FLAG_FAVORITE)) return folderTree.view.selection.select(i);
MaStAViC wrote:dmfalk wrote:Firefox updated to 2.0.0.10, Keyconfig reported as incompatible.
d.m.f.
The very reason I am at this forum today. Can I do anything about this? keyconfig is one of my three favorite extensions (wish such a feature were built into Firefox). Thanks.
Compatibility information has been updated (actually to 2.0.0.11 now), you likely need to click on Tools > Add-ons > Find Updates (ignore the incorrect message at the top, only the one below the extension name is correct). Note that it is possible to disable compatibility checking by adding a boolean 'extensions.checkCompatibility' through about:config (can be re-enabled trough the Add-ons Manager). mpromber wrote:I see it as enabled, but the Preferences button in Add-ons is greyed out, [...]
The keyconfig window is not really a preference window for itself, but rather a Tool for the Application. mpromber wrote:[...] Ctrl-Shit-F12 brings up an empty keyconfig dialogue box where I can't change anything.
If you previously had an unofficial version installed you might need a workaround to get it to work again. dmcritchie wrote:Can keyconfig be updated for Firefox 3. RC1 is out.
:-k The newest builds I can find are labeled firefox-3.0b2pre, and 3.0b2-candidates don't seem to be available yet.
antonyb
Posts: 3Joined: November 18th, 2007, 8:04 pm
Posted December 6th, 2007, 6:10 pm
dorando wrote:antonyb wrote:I'd like to assign a key in Thunderbird to cycle through my "Favourite Folders" while still keeping the Folder List on "All Folders" - i.e. hit the key and the current folder moves to the next in my favourites list, but that folder is highlighted in the "All Folders" view.
The best I can come up with currently is (note that the folders need to be visible for it to work): - Code: Select all
const MSG_FOLDER_FLAG_FAVORITE = 0x80000000;
var folderTree = GetFolderTree(); var currentIndex = folderTree.view.selection.currentIndex;
for(i = currentIndex + 1, l = folderTree.view.rowCount; i < l; i++) if(folderTree.view.getResourceAtIndex(i). QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIMsgFolder). getFlag(MSG_FOLDER_FLAG_FAVORITE)) return folderTree.view.selection.select(i);
for(i = 0, l = currentIndex; i < l; i++) if(folderTree.view.getResourceAtIndex(i). QueryInterface(Components.interfaces.nsIMsgFolder). getFlag(MSG_FOLDER_FLAG_FAVORITE)) return folderTree.view.selection.select(i);
That works perfectly! Thanks loads,
Ant.
linpinn
Posts: 19Joined: March 19th, 2006, 2:06 am
Posted December 12th, 2007, 4:29 am
I altered the back and forward keys to arrow left and arrow right ,this works, but the left/right scroll function on my touchpad is now disabled ,in FF only.
Any suggestions ?
Thanks ,Lin
ilwhx
Posts: 30Joined: September 6th, 2004, 5:55 pm
Posted December 12th, 2007, 6:48 pm
Is there any dev-build for firefox 3.0 b1/b2 ? it's a Key extension whether I can try the newest trunk build of firefox.
Louise6380
Posts: 61Joined: November 4th, 2007, 2:26 pm
Posted December 14th, 2007, 8:49 pm
@dorando
Thanks!
Now it's working and I can use this great extension again!
dorando wrote:The app-startup issue still seems to be present in the beta (I've had no time to investigate if this is a bug in the core, or a wrong assumption on my side), additionally "Add a new key" broke but should be fixable by replacing - Code: Select all
document.createElement
with - Code: Select all
gDocument.createElement
in Profile/extensions/keyconfig@dorando/chrome/keyconfig.jar!/content/keyconfig.js (don't forget to disable extensions.checkCompatibility and extensions.checkUpdateSecurity to actually install/enable it).
phantomx

Posts: 47Joined: October 26th, 2004, 11:50 am
Posted December 21st, 2007, 2:56 pm
Hi, Dorando.
I have some troubles making this useful extension work in Fx 3.b1 (I'm using the portable version, if that matters). I already modified the keyconfig-service and added the unofficial-version patch but still the same.
The extension is installed and I can fire it, but the listing is empty. If I click on Add key it seems it does something for a little bit but nothing happens, no visual feedback is given. Any suggestions for me?
Thanks in advance.
dorando
Posts: 1203Joined: January 9th, 2004, 9:57 am
Posted December 23rd, 2007, 11:29 am
linpinn wrote:I altered the back and forward keys to arrow left and arrow right ,this works, but the left/right scroll function on my touchpad is now disabled ,in FF only. Any suggestions ? Thanks ,Lin
Does the scroll function fail or does it trigger the Back/Forward function instead? Or does it fail after you've pressed the Back/Forward key? ilwhx wrote:Is there any dev-build for firefox 3.0 b1/b2 ?
Nope, but what Louise6380 has quoted should be all you need to get it working. phantomx wrote:The extension is installed and I can fire it, but the listing is empty.
Anything in the Tools > Error Console (set javascript.options.showInConsole to true in about:config)?
Louise6380
Posts: 61Joined: November 4th, 2007, 2:26 pm
Posted December 26th, 2007, 1:14 am
I want to set a shortcut for toggling show/hide of bookmarks and navigation toolbar but I can't find the command. Does anybody know how to do this?
thanks.
@ilwhx
I think you also need, <a href="http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=3169008#3169008">this</a> in addition to what dorando <a href="http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?p=3182658#3182658">mentioned</a> above in order to make keyconfig work with Firefox 3 Beta, given that you have
- Code: Select all
user_pref("extensions.checkCompatibility",false); user_pref("extensions.checkUpdateSecurity",false);
in your user.js or created the boolean through about:config.
Return to Extension/Theme Releases
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
|