MozillaZine

Thunderbird incoming message headers missing

User Help for Mozilla Thunderbird
nrcbtm1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 14th, 2008, 10:48 am

Post Posted January 14th, 2008, 11:13 am

After one of the recent automatic install Thunderbird updates (2.0.0.8, I think), the headers on my incoming messages no longer appear when I open a message. It doesn't matter if I choose "normal" or "all" headers in the View menu, nothing shows. If I select "message source" from the View menu, I get what looks like the full (all) header for the message. If I click on "forward message" I get to see the normal header of the original message because it shows up in the message text under the "Original Message" line. So I am getting the information, it just doesn't display when reading a message.

I am now using Thunderbird version 2.0.0.9.

Does anyone know how to fix this? Could it be something in the Thunderbird>Options>Advanced>General>Configuration Editor that needs changing?

bkennelly
 
Posts: 2177
Joined: June 26th, 2005, 4:36 pm
Location: Mesa, AZ

Post Posted January 14th, 2008, 2:49 pm

Either the mailbox or the summary file (index) may be corrupt.
Back up your profile, and delete the files with extension MSF. When you start Thunderbird, it will rebuild all the index files, which may clear up the problem.
Try compacting the folders.

If you still have problems, go to the account folder, delete 'INBOX.msf', and rename INBOX to something else, like "Old Mail". When you restart Thunderbird, it will recreate the Inbox. That may fix the problem for new mail.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122757
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted January 14th, 2008, 4:37 pm

Actually, there is an extension that's causing this. I can't remember the name, but "header" is included in it.
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

tanstaafl_bh
 
Posts: 591
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 7:49 am

Post Posted January 15th, 2008, 10:27 am

View Headers Toggle

I still can't figure out why it does this sometimes, and sometimes it doesn't.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122757
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted January 15th, 2008, 10:36 am

That's it.
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 15701
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted January 15th, 2008, 3:04 pm

And just to be sure we're covering all the bases...

In your message display, is there a little [+] box to the left of the Subject? If so that means the displayed headers have been collapsed. To expand the headers, click the [+].
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win7 Home Prem (64bit): FF 39.0, TB 38.1.0 ║ Android 4.2.2/4.4.2: FF 9.0, no Android TB available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

nrcbtm1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 14th, 2008, 10:48 am

Post Posted January 16th, 2008, 10:56 pm

Thanks everyone for your help. Daifne , your suggestion that I check what extensions I had solved the problem. I uninstalled the extension I had for displaying headers (it was not the one you mentioned) and that fixed it. I can still "toggle" the header display of a message using the "header" option of a message's View menu. :D I had forgotten that I had installed a headers extension. :oops:

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122757
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted January 17th, 2008, 8:31 am

:-)

I have 38 extensions at the moment. Forget which ones? You bet.

You're very welcome.
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

KL801
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 16th, 2009, 12:57 pm

Post Posted June 16th, 2009, 1:11 pm

I'm a newbie, and I've had this problem since the second or third day I started using Thunderbird. Thank you so much! I uninstalled everything that might even conceivably have had to do with the headers, and the problem is solved!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34614
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 16th, 2009, 1:15 pm

That's good news.
Now locking this oldie.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1-38/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Thunderbird Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests