MozillaZine

Firefox will not start when I click the icon.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
I_LOVE_FIREFOX_YES_I_DO
 
Posts: 11
Joined: January 29th, 2008, 3:09 pm

Post Posted January 29th, 2008, 3:13 pm

Well, I click the icon to start up Firefox and the load picture appears. However, it goes away after a second. ...And then nothing happens at all. Now the odd part about this is this only sometimes happens. It occurs mostly when I first start up the computer and then after a while when I try, it loads fine.

So most of the time when I log on using Firefox I have to use the link off of my Blue Tie email icon... This gets annoying.

Please help. Also, is there a way to make a particular page an icon?

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122770
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted January 29th, 2008, 3:33 pm

Moving to Firefox Support
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2008, 4:53 pm

[q]: "Please help. Also, is there a way to make a particular page an icon?"
See: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_desktop_shortcut

About your other problem: maybe your security software (firewall) hasn't started yet, so try to wait a bit longer until all services are started and running.

I_LOVE_FIREFOX_YES_I_DO
 
Posts: 11
Joined: January 29th, 2008, 3:09 pm

Post Posted January 29th, 2008, 6:08 pm

No, that can't be why. Blue Tie still loads and so does Internet Explorer. Plus, it'll sometimes still do it hours after I start up. But ever since I made the Mozilla start page an icon and hasn't done that when I click that icon.

Thanks. ^__^

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2008, 9:03 pm

Does it still happen if you start Firefox in -safe-mode?

You can create a test profile as a quick test to check if it is caused by your current profile:
Standard diagnostic: Create a new (test) profile
(only enter a name for the new profile, do not click "Choose Folder" to specify a location)

PeterLech
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 11th, 2006, 9:41 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2008, 10:13 pm

I have the same problem in XP. I hear it loading from the Hard drive, but it never opens

I uninstalled the exiting version, shut down the cpu, restarted and reinstalled the latest version of FireFox. I have been using it since Version .9 and never had this program until after the recent ATT U-verse install.

Everything else works OK.

Jazz2222
Guest
 

Post Posted January 30th, 2008, 12:59 am

I_LOVE_FIREFOX_YES_I_DO wrote:Well, I click the icon to start up Firefox and the load picture appears. However, it goes away after a second. ...And then nothing happens at all. Now the odd part about this is this only sometimes happens. It occurs mostly when I first start up the computer and then after a while when I try, it loads fine.

So most of the time when I log on using Firefox I have to use the link off of my Blue Tie email icon... This gets annoying.

Please help. Also, is there a way to make a particular page an icon?


Thank you for posting this question.
I see that you are having the same problem that I starting having yesterday. I did not want to uninstall Firefox, because I have many Bookmarks saved, and I do not want to lose them. I have done everything, including a System Restore, but my Desktop Icon, my Start Menu Button, and the Safe Mode Button on the Start Menu do not work to open Firefox.
It is still listed in my Add/Remove Programs.
So, I hope that someone comes in to answer our question. Thank you again.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34781
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 30th, 2008, 1:14 am

A little info on your 'Profile' folder, for future ref.,
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder_-_Firefox

Have you both (Peter n Jazz), tried a new profile yet, as suggested?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1-38/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Franco50
Guest
 

Post Posted January 31st, 2008, 3:09 am

I've been having this problem on a regular basis since upgrading to a Vista PC about 7 weeks ago - I never had the problem previously with XP. In that time I must have re-installed FF about four times but the problem eventually keeps coming back. One thing that I havn't noticed from the posts on this thread is that in my case Firefox will be listed in Task Manager as running even though the browser screen hasn't appeared. As the most recent entry for FF can't be deleted from Task Manager I have to reboot the PC and try again - sometimes FF will then start but sometimes not. I have previously tried running FF in Safe Mode which didn't change things for me. I havn't tried creating Test Profile yet so will try that but I would assume that my numerous re-installs would have covered that base automatically?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34781
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted January 31st, 2008, 5:33 am

Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1-38/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

I_LOVE_FIREFOX_YES_I_DO
 
Posts: 11
Joined: January 29th, 2008, 3:09 pm

Post Posted January 31st, 2008, 6:53 am

I just solved my problem by making Google an icon...

Do that, guys. Make whatever page you want your homepage an icon. The only annoying part is you have to disable tabs or when you click the icon it doesn't open in its own window... Maybe if you held "Shift" down it would... I'm not sure.

Edit: Nope, you'll have to disable tabs under options...

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 4th, 2008, 10:56 am

HELP, firefos won't start up when I click on the icon! help!!!!

geotiger
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2009, 8:56 am

It seems that many people still have the same problem. I started having the same problem after I had installed a few window vista upgrades. I had no problem before the upgrade. Now, I could not start Firefox through clicking on the icon nor through the dos window. I tried the safe mode as well. Nothing is happening! Nothing in the task manager neither. No error neither.

"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -safe-mode

Dartman
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 11964
Joined: February 9th, 2006, 9:43 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2009, 9:08 am

Perhaps something in those Vista updates caused an issue?

See the following link. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser_will_not_start_up

The thread you posted in is almost two years old. As such, I am locking it due to it being outdated. If the above link doesn't help start a new thread.
Alcohol and Calculus don't mix. Never drink and derive.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests