MozillaZine

It's possible to use Vista Theme in XP?

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
matias
 
Posts: 26
Joined: November 25th, 2004, 6:35 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 6:40 am

Hi,

I'm using lastest build of Minefield (Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9b3pre) Gecko/2008013104 Minefield/3.0b3pre) and i don't like those green back and forward icons.

It's possible to tweak something somewhere to use vista matching theme?

Thanks!.

Cheers.

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 6:47 am

Not yet that I know of. The new Vista Icons are in the build, but there is more work to enable them, and that won't happen until after the release of Beta 3, in about a week or ten days.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.9b3pre) Gecko/2008020103 Minefield/3.0b3pre Firefox/3.0 ID:2008020103

RoboTrigger
 
Posts: 11
Joined: January 30th, 2008, 9:39 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 7:07 am

Yes, it is. The following method works for me on 2008013104:

Download the Vista icons from here:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/attachment.cgi?id=298693

Put it in your profile/chrome directory. Then, put this code in userChrome.css:

Code: Select all
.toolbarbutton-1 {
  list-style-image: url("./Toolbar_aero.png") !important;
}
toolbar[iconsize="large"][mode="icons"] #unified-back-forward-button > #back-forward-dropmarker {
  list-style-image: url("./Toolbar_aero.png") !important;
}

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 7:31 am

Arntuuri wrote:Yes, it is. The following method works for me on 2008013104:

Download the Vista icons from here:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/attachment.cgi?id=298693

Put it in your profile/chrome directory. Then, put this code in userChrome.css:

Code: Select all
.toolbarbutton-1 {
  list-style-image: url("./Toolbar_aero.png") !important;
}
toolbar[iconsize="large"][mode="icons"] #unified-back-forward-button > #back-forward-dropmarker {
  list-style-image: url("./Toolbar_aero.png") !important;
}


thanks for that, there is a 'stray' period in front of "toolbarbutton-1 that seems to kill all toolbars.
Also, the darn button is Still green ? hmmm

I didn't try downloading the info from the bug as I was told all the Vista icons were now included.

EDIT: That link shows the Icon set for Vista, but I'm not sure how to download, Save as ? and where in the Profile-Chrome folder ? userChrome.css ?

TychoQuad
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 8:15 am

Very nice. I much prefer the Vista version of the theme. the colours of the navigation buttons aren't a horrible green, the curved edge on the pulldown menu looks less retarded and the refresh buttons arrow is alot more neat

matias
 
Posts: 26
Joined: November 25th, 2004, 6:35 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 8:26 am

Cool!
Many thanks.
Works perfectly.

Cheers.

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 8:30 am

OK, I'm am idiot - how do I make this work?

Image

Canyonero
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: April 25th, 2003, 11:02 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 11:13 am

Littlemutt wrote:OK, I'm am idiot - how do I make this work?

Image

Some extensions use the toolbarbutton-1 class for their toolbar buttons. The userchrome overrides the icons they set for themselves by default. Whatever is showing the messed up button is probably from an extension.

Gyges
 
Posts: 364
Joined: January 1st, 2003, 1:28 pm
Location: Lincoln, NE

Post Posted February 1st, 2008, 12:44 pm

After Playing around a bit, I figured it out dump the ./ in the quotes so it looks like this instead:

.toolbarbutton-1 { list-style-image: url("Toolbar_aero.png") !important; }
toolbar[iconsize="large"][mode="icons"]
#unified-back-forward-button > #back-forward-dropmarker { list-style-image: url("Toolbar_aero.png") !important; }

At least that works for me, when I downloaded a placed the Toolbar_aero.png file into the chrome folder along with my modified userchrome.css.

a;skdjfajf;ak

User avatar
 
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2008, 3:36 am

@ gyges
thanks that worked just great.

Stifu

User avatar
 
Posts: 984
Joined: July 13th, 2007, 8:02 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2008, 3:51 am

First time I try to mess with userChrome, but that was quick and simple, thanks.
Hmm, full screen is broken, though, and displays all of the icons.

CR1M1N4L

User avatar
 
Posts: 25
Joined: October 20th, 2007, 12:27 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2008, 4:13 am

What about linux icons on XP?

RoboTrigger
 
Posts: 11
Joined: January 30th, 2008, 9:39 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2008, 4:38 am

Hmm, full screen is broken, though, and displays all of the icons.
Hmm, didn't notice this, since I rarely use full-screen mode. I'm not sure how to fix it since I'm not too good at theming, I just know my way around basic CSS.
What about linux icons on XP?
Well, I imagine that would take a bit more tweaking. The XP and Vista icons have identical shapes for the most part, so all those -moz-image-region attributes don't need to be changed at all, but would have to be for any drastically different icons.

KrisSilver
 
Posts: 63
Joined: February 2nd, 2008, 4:38 am

Post Posted February 2nd, 2008, 5:22 am

The only default icons that have changed for me is reload, go, and home? How do I get the rest to change? Back/forwards, go and the likes!?

pikaunforgiven
 
Posts: 1004
Joined: May 9th, 2005, 9:58 am
Location: um that place, the one with the stuff

Post Posted February 2nd, 2008, 5:33 am

CR1M1N4L wrote:What about linux icons on XP?


wont happen since if i remember correctly they are taken from gtk (or gnome depending on if you have the gnome libs installed or not). while there is gtk for windows, firefox isnt built to use gtk in windows so it wouldnt work too well.

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest