MozillaZine

How do you use the flexible space?...

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
spee

User avatar
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 2:54 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 3:19 am

Oh.....I messed up my almost perfect menubar configuration by fooling around with the flexible space item. Now my searchbar is really long...how can I bring it back to the size it was by using the flexible space? Thanks...
under the coke sign

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 3:21 am

This useful for controlling the size of the searchbar.

Searchbar Autosizer 1.3.7
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1172
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

spee

User avatar
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 2:54 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 3:28 am

Thanks alterna but I forgot to mention that I don't want any extensions - I've tried them all... and this Autosizer in particular is a little annoying!
under the coke sign

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 3:42 am

You can set the searchbar size through userChrome.css

/* Search box width */
#search-container, #searchbar {
min-width: 200px !important;
max-width: 200px !important; }


adjusting size to taste

http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder_-_Firefox
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

bubba9
Guest
 

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 5:37 am

. Now my searchbar is really long......
Drag all the icons from the navigation bar up to the top toolbar.
:new-alien:
How do you use the Flexible Space?...

Put an FS at the far left end of the bookmarks toolbar. ( But only if you have a small number of bookmarks in the toolbar; e.g. works great for an 8-button toolbar. )

spee

User avatar
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 2:54 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 6:52 am

Thank you both for your replies.

For alterna: I can't get the code to work. I remember trying the same thing in the past with no success.

For bubba9: Your suggestions don't work.This how my firefox looks like:...
Image
under the coke sign

bubba9
Guest
 

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 7:19 am

What is that red icon at the right end of the search bar? Does it have something to do with the bar being so long?

bubba9
Guest
 

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 7:30 am

or, maybe that's standard for your version; Vista Home Basic just looks different O:)

spee

User avatar
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 2:54 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 7:34 am

Good question. It's an arrow - the same that you'll find in the address bar (if you click on it, it shows the history). I don't know what it does in the search box. IE has the same arrow in the search bar by the way
under the coke sign

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 31080
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 7:44 am

spee,

The Flexible Space is basically a useless holdover item from versions prior to Firefox 2.0; the Search bar fills the available area not taken up by buttons and (regular) spaces.

.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

spee

User avatar
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 2:54 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 7:51 am

It's funny but Flexible Space is what I "used" in order to mess my menu bar up. Thanks edmeister though... I guess I should focus on how to make the address bar longer now...
under the coke sign

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 11:29 am

spee wrote:
For alterna: I can't get the code to work. I remember trying the same thing in the past with no success.



Open Notepad, name it userChrome.css and save to the chrome folder in your profile. Copy and paste the following into it:

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul"); /* set default namespace to XUL */


/* Search box width */
#search-container, #searchbar {
min-width: 200px !important;
max-width: 200px !important; }


Make sure it's your Profile folder, Not Mozilla program folder.

Windows Vista

1. Click the Start button on the Windows taskbar to open the Windows Start menu.
Image:VistaStartMenu.png
2. Type in %APPDATA% in the "Start Search" box.
3. Click the "Roaming" item that appears on the menu.
4. In the Windows Explorer window that opens, choose Mozilla → Firefox → Profiles. Each folder in this folder is a profile on your computer.

You can also navigate directly to your profile folder at the path, C:\Users\<Windows>\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\. The AppData folder is a hidden folder; to show hidden folders, open Windows Explorer and choose "Organize → Folder and Search Options → Folder Options → View (tab) → Show hidden files and folders".

Should work; Good luck.

spee

User avatar
 
Posts: 68
Joined: October 27th, 2007, 2:54 pm

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 6:39 pm

I like that...It worked! You see, many times I found the same instructions except for the first two lines which for some reason were not mentioned in any webpage I looked - including Mozilla.

Thanks for your patience alterna. You're worth a free beer from me... cheers!
under the coke sign

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted February 4th, 2008, 6:48 pm

Happy it worked.:)

I'm finding that there's much that can be tweaked in FF UI through userChrome.css without extensions.

http://www.linnhe2.free-online.co.uk/fi ... hrome.html

is a good place to start.
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 25 guests