MozillaZine

Firefox 3 Won't Start

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
sciguyryan
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 2179
Joined: November 10th, 2004, 1:33 pm
Location: Wales

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 1:26 pm

Actually it is not the job of a Mozilla developer to fix problems caused by extension writers, it's their job. As I am sure has been noted before we are not Mozilla developers here so complaining at us will not get anything done. We are just here to help, that's all.
Cheers!

Ryan Jones

steviex
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 28902
Joined: August 12th, 2006, 8:27 am
Location: Middle England

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 1:55 pm

@ k8cpa

ryan 3 is NOT a Developer. We are NOT Developers here.

This is a user to user Support Forum. WE Can't fix anything.

Have you tried the Standard Diagnostic, to see if something is wrong in your setup ? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox

Further reasons why Firefox might not start up are listed HERE ... http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser_will_not_start_up

If none of that does anything, and you think it is a bug in Firefox, then Bugzilla is the place to got to look to see what is being done to address the issue.

If you can code, you are welcome to try and tackle the issue, as unlike other Browsers, this IS an OPEN source project, where anyone can contribute...

Bugzilla can be found here... https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/
Please note these Bug Filing instructions here.... http://www.mozilla.org/support/firefox/bugs
and Bugzilla ettiquette..... https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/page.cgi?id=etiquette.html

The Mozilla feedback address is this... http://feedback.mozilla.org/

Please mind your attitude, if you actually want any help, rather than just complaining.
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein

Please DO NOT PM me for support... Lets keep it on the board, so we can all learn.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27553
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 2:19 pm

k8cpa wrote:Just fix it and quit trying to blame others....

http://www.mozillazine.org/about/

Your welcome to try and create your own browser and then have people critique your work if you think you can program better than those at Mozilla and contributors. Or at least help out in Bugzilla and such.

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123047
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 2:41 pm

No one is going to fix your profile except you. The developers aren't going to reach out and hold your hand.

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2008, 7:15 pm

k8cpa wrote:Just fix it and quit trying to blame others....

Maybe no one explained to you how this works. You fix it, we just give advice. We're volunteers. You've got to make people want to give you advice. I think I'll pass.

k8cpa
 
Posts: 6
Joined: June 22nd, 2008, 11:02 am

Post Posted June 23rd, 2008, 12:10 pm

Okay guys... I was wrong. it was a plug in. #-o

The new version is working.

I feel like such an idiot. :-# #-o :cry:

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted June 23rd, 2008, 2:55 pm

Thank you for owning up to it. We all feel better when it works out. :D

JazzCat7425
Guest
 

Post Posted June 24th, 2008, 9:34 pm

Try Firefox Portable edition, http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable ; may solve the problem.

When I updated to FF 3.0 several days ago, I met the problem "xul.dll not found" and FF cannot start. This confused me a couple of days. Today, an idea just comes into my mind. I install the FF Portable edition and everything goes OK.

Have a try everybody. :)

Rykudo
Guest
 

Post Posted July 11th, 2008, 3:46 am

Network Demi-God wrote:I hope this works for the rest of you, I found a solution that worked for me.

I simply installed Firefox 3 in it's own directory, ex: C:\Firefox 3\ instead of C:\Firefox\


Dude...you are a HERO!!!
It's working fine now =D>
A good thing too, Internet Explorer's a nightmare :lol:
Thanks a lot pal :wink:

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted August 4th, 2008, 4:59 pm

FF3 Installation definitely have a BIG issue, not corresponding with plug-ins. My Windows XP PRO SP3 installation is completely clean from ANY previous version of FF (no appdata, no program files no old profiles, etc...) Still won't run! May be registry issue?

david fletcher
Guest
 

Post Posted September 1st, 2008, 11:48 am

Demi-God is a genius. I did a custom install instead of a standard install which allowed me to add a "3" to Firefox. It worked and all my bookmarks were there too. Thank you so much Demi-God.

Robles
Guest
 

Post Posted September 4th, 2008, 1:49 pm

Custom reinstall in new folder FF3 worked for me as well. Much thanks.

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted September 4th, 2008, 3:53 pm

In the future, you don't have to do a custom install. Just uninstall and then delete the old Firefox directory in the Program Files (or rename it if you want to be ultra-cautious).

What you have all done is simply to install it in a new, clean directory. There was probably some junk in there that was put there by a plugin, and that's why it was malfunctioning.

atem28
Guest
 

Post Posted September 4th, 2008, 3:59 pm

Some firewalls will block a program in one directory but not block it when it is installed in a new directory, so that may be the cause instead of junk in the directory (in which case installing back to the default directory would not work).

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted September 4th, 2008, 4:11 pm

Well, I don't really know the cause for sure, but that doesn't sound like a firewall. A firewall is not supposed to identify programs by the directory they are in. Just install in a new directory and that will do the trick.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests