MozillaZine

Tabbrowser Preferences Extension

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 4th, 2003, 7:45 pm

If there are any volunteers to make translations of the "Tabbrowser Preferences" content for your prefered language, let me know. Better to start while its small I guess.

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 5th, 2003, 7:36 pm

Just to make it easier for any would be volunteers, here is the current content that needs translating for other localizations. All I ask is that you let me know what localization code you have provided a translation for (i.e. fr-FR or ja-JP) :)

Code: Select all
<!ENTITY  tabBarBehavior.caption  "Tab Bar Behavior">
<!ENTITY  tabBarAutohide.label  "Hide the tab bar when only one tab is open">

<!ENTITY  tabBehavior.caption  "Tab Behavior">
<!ENTITY  addTabBehavior.label  "Open new tabs at the home page">

<!ENTITY  linkBehavior.caption  "Link Behavior">

<!ENTITY  linkTarget.label  "Load links in:">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.tab  "New Tab">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.window  "New Window">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.current  "Current Browser">

I've already received a volunteer for Dutch. All other languages are welcome though.

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 7:42 am

Suggestion for se-SE
Code: Select all
<!ENTITY  tabBarBehavior.caption  "Flikmeny Egenskaper">
<!ENTITY  tabBarAutohide.label  "Göm Flikmenyn när endast en flik är öppen">

<!ENTITY  tabBehavior.caption  "Flik Egenskaper">
<!ENTITY  addTabBehavior.label  "Starta med hemsidan i nya flikar">

<!ENTITY  linkBehavior.caption  "Länk Egenskaper">

<!ENTITY  linkTarget.label  "Öppna länkar i:">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.tab  "Ny Flik">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.window  "Nytt Fönster">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.current  "Nuvarande Flik">


BTW,
<!ENTITY linkTarget.label "Load links in:">
shouldn't this actually be
<!ENTITY linkTarget.label "Load target _blank links in:">

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 7:50 am

Stefan wrote:Suggestion for se-SE
Code: Select all
<!ENTITY  tabBarBehavior.caption  "Flikmeny Egenskaper">
<!ENTITY  tabBarAutohide.label  "Göm Flikmenyn när endast en flik är öppen">

<!ENTITY  tabBehavior.caption  "Flik Egenskaper">
<!ENTITY  addTabBehavior.label  "Starta med hemsidan i nya flikar">

<!ENTITY  linkBehavior.caption  "Länk Egenskaper">

<!ENTITY  linkTarget.label  "Öppna länkar i:">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.tab  "Ny Flik">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.window  "Nytt Fönster">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.current  "Nuvarande Flik">


BTW,
<!ENTITY linkTarget.label "Load links in:">
shouldn't this actually be
<!ENTITY linkTarget.label "Load target _blank links in:">

You are right of course. I figured that the "_blank" terminology would be even more confusing for web newbies than what I used however. If there is a more accurate way to say it without using target=blank in 5 words or less I would like to hear it.

Thanks for the translation. Just out of curiousity, what country is SE?

Stefan

User avatar
 
Posts: 2051
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 2:46 am

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 8:18 am

Chris Cook wrote:
BTW,
<!ENTITY linkTarget.label "Load links in:">
shouldn't this actually be
<!ENTITY linkTarget.label "Load target _blank links in:">

You are right of course. I figured that the "_blank" terminology would be even more confusing for web newbies than what I used however. If there is a more accurate way to say it without using target=blank in 5 words or less I would like to hear it.



Hmm, I was thinking about "Open target New window links in:" for a while, but that would ultimately lead to bugreports when there is a "valid" new target like target="blabla".

Perhaps "Open blank/new window links in:" would work?

Really difficoult to get an accurate wording that doesn't confuse average Joe but still sais what the option REALLY does.
Perhaps a longer explanation as a title could be added when you hover above the option?
Eg

"Open New window links in:"
and title='This option contgrolls the behaviour of links with target="_blank" or target="new"'
Just out of curiousity, what country is SE?


It's Swedish (at least I think it is, right now you made a small doubt in my mind that it might actually be sv-SV, but if it is I'm sure someone will correct me soon enough).

Could give you a hungarian translation too, if I only knew what tabs were called :D

xfranky

User avatar
 
Posts: 2059
Joined: December 5th, 2002, 11:10 am
Location: Italy

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 12:28 pm

Main problem is I don't know how to translate "tab" in Italian... gotta think about it...
Otherwise I could leave it in English, but I don't know if it's the right thing to do...
..::XF::..

xfranky

User avatar
 
Posts: 2059
Joined: December 5th, 2002, 11:10 am
Location: Italy

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 12:33 pm

BTW a possible transalation for it-IT would be...
Code: Select all
<!ENTITY  tabBarBehavior.caption  "Opzioni della barra dei tab">
<!ENTITY  tabBarAutohide.label  "Nascondi la barra dei tab quando un solo tab é aperto">

<!ENTITY  tabBehavior.caption  "Opzioni dei tab">
<!ENTITY  addTabBehavior.label  "Apri i nuovi tab nella pagina principale">

<!ENTITY  linkBehavior.caption  "Opzioni dei collegamenti">

<!ENTITY  linkTarget.label  "Apri collegamenti in:">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.tab  "Nuovo Tab">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.window  "Nuova Finestra">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.current  "Browser corrente">


There's still the "tab" question though...
..::XF::..

alanjstr
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9100
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 4:43 pm
Location: Anywhere but here

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 12:41 pm

XF wrote:There's still the "tab" question though...

I tried two online dictionaries. Neither had a word for "tab" in Italian.
Former UMO Admin, Former MozillaZine General Mod
I am rarely on mozillaZine, so please do not send me a private message.
My Old Firefox config files

tve
Moderator
 
Posts: 3275
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 12:07 pm
Location: Federal Republic of Germany

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 12:59 pm

a widely used word for Tab in German is "Registerkarte".. so I just used "Tab" instead ;) most people will understand that too.

btw, "SE" is Sweden (quite obvious since Stefan is from Sweden :), "SV" is El Salvador according to IANA.org's ccTLD list ;)
<i>Latest Firefox Trunk & Thunderbird 1.0</i>

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 3:18 pm

tve wrote:a widely used word for Tab in German is "Registerkarte".. so I just used "Tab" instead ;) most people will understand that too.

btw, "SE" is Sweden (quite obvious since Stefan is from Sweden :), "SV" is El Salvador according to IANA.org's ccTLD list ;)

Obvious perhaps except that he doesn't have his location entered (at the moment) and I didn't bother to look up the country code.

Wonder why Sébastien, or someone else, didn't submit for fr-FR. Oh well, french speakers will have to live with my (possibly faulty) french translation.

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 3:19 pm

XF wrote:BTW a possible transalation for it-IT would be...
Code: Select all
<!ENTITY  tabBarBehavior.caption  "Opzioni della barra dei tab">
<!ENTITY  tabBarAutohide.label  "Nascondi la barra dei tab quando un solo tab é aperto">

<!ENTITY  tabBehavior.caption  "Opzioni dei tab">
<!ENTITY  addTabBehavior.label  "Apri i nuovi tab nella pagina principale">

<!ENTITY  linkBehavior.caption  "Opzioni dei collegamenti">

<!ENTITY  linkTarget.label  "Apri collegamenti in:">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.tab  "Nuovo Tab">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.window  "Nuova Finestra">
<!ENTITY  linkTarget.current  "Browser corrente">


There's still the "tab" question though...

I'll go ahead and implement this translation unless anyone modifies any part of it.

cdn

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:47 pm
Location: UK

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 3:37 pm

just to clarify for everyone

when djst did compact menu swedish, it was designated sv-SE

iarnell

User avatar
 
Posts: 784
Joined: February 1st, 2003, 4:26 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 7th, 2003, 5:43 pm

cdn wrote:when djst did compact menu swedish, it was designated sv-SE

And according to http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc3066.txt this correctly follows the current best practices - the ISO 639 language code sv for the Swedish language and the ISO 3166 country code SE for Sweden.

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 8th, 2003, 9:00 am

Just so everyone knows, I checked the various Phoenix localizations lists here and here and swedish doesn't seem to be available. I certainly don't mind adding the extra languages for my extension but I hope that they will be used. Does anyone use the non english localizations even though they aren't necessarily up to date with the nightlies?

I thought David had volunteered to do the swedish localization for Phoenix.

Now I have almost all the supported languages except spanish, chinese, and polish.

Chris Cook

User avatar
 
Posts: 898
Joined: December 14th, 2002, 9:57 am
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted March 8th, 2003, 10:18 am

A couple questions for the xul experts.

How is the locale component handled for extensions? If an extension only provides locales for "fr-FR" and "it-IT" (for example) but the application locale being used is "en-US", is the locale simply not found or does it arbitrarily pick some other locale to use? I've tried digging up specific documentation for this question but have not found anything.

On another topic, has anyone possibly considered an extension that would allow switching between locales? In other words, if I have both en-US and fr-FR locale jars installed and I want to be able to easily switch between them with a menu option (or even an extension preference), this seems much more accessible and logical than providing different localized distributions of the application. One could simply download a language extension (sv-SE.jar) and switch to it. Does anyone see any reason this couldn't be done?

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests