MozillaZine

Firefox 0.9 Candidate problems (need confirmation)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
eiseli

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 9:07 am
Location: Switzerland

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 7:37 am

Downloaded XFT-Installer and installed it on Mandrake Linux 10.0 Official. Here the problems I noticed, can anyone confirm on other platforms?

- During installation, I was asked to close all my "Windows applications". Probably some zombie remaining from a copy-paste from the windows installer.
- Add engines doesn't load http://mycroft.mozdev.org
- The navigation bar is extremely high (2.5 times the size of the address-field contained within, if I switch to small icon size, then it's still 2 times the size of the address field)
- Customize Toolbars dialog looks really bad:
- 1: the icons are not arranged in a grid, so they all look unordered.
- 2: I can see 8 icons, the 5 remaining are below what I can see and I need to scroll down. The scroll bar appearing here is not a problem per se, but could be the cause of the following problems:
- 3: The "Show Icons" "use small icons" "add new toolbar" "restore default set" line is too wide (I cannot see the right edge of the last button and there's a horizontal scroll bar for a few pixels so that the right edge can be seen)
- 4 Only the upper half of the "Show icons" etc... line can be seen. The second horizontal half is invisible. and no way to scroll is given.
- 5 After repeatedly opening this dialog, I noticed that every time the size is changing. First I could see only 2 lines of icons, then 2.5 lines and finally 3 lines. Then it reverted back to 2 lines. One cycle is about 5-6 opens. Sometimes, it even happens that its attached to the bottom of the viewport (not the top as usual) and about half the usual width, which completely messes up the display. :arrow: <a href="http://www.iseli.org/mozilla/firefox-customize.png">Screenshot</a>
Last edited by eiseli on June 9th, 2004, 9:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
Get the most out of search: add 1000+ search engines to Mozilla and Firefox with <a href="http://mycroft.mozdev.org/">Mycroft</a>

eiseli

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 9:07 am
Location: Switzerland

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 8:37 am

Another problem noticing now is that themes don't get installed. I installed the "Plastikfox" theme, the theme manager showed a progress bar while it was downloading and then, the whole slot for the new theme disappeared. Restarting the browser wouldn't let it appear again.
Get the most out of search: add 1000+ search engines to Mozilla and Firefox with <a href="http://mycroft.mozdev.org/">Mycroft</a>

eiseli

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 9:07 am
Location: Switzerland

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 9:51 am

I moved the address and search bar to the menu toolbar and applied the changes. As a result, all menus were grayed out, and the context menu "customize..." when clicking on any toolbar was grayed out too. When hovering over the menu however, the color changed to black, but the menu was still not clickable. After closing the browser and restarting it, everything was accessible again though.
Get the most out of search: add 1000+ search engines to Mozilla and Firefox with <a href="http://mycroft.mozdev.org/">Mycroft</a>

eiseli

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 9:07 am
Location: Switzerland

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 10:08 am

Get the most out of search: add 1000+ search engines to Mozilla and Firefox with <a href="http://mycroft.mozdev.org/">Mycroft</a>

misfit
Guest
 

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 12:01 pm

i can't start Chatzilla anymore...
i reinstalled it, but still no effect

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 2:43 pm

Chatzilla has not been updated to support Firefox 0.9 yet.

cdevroe
Guest
 

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 3:29 pm

I'd like to say that I found an error. When using a panel, or sidebar, there is no Progress spinning wait thingy icon in the top of the panel anymore.

I found this out because I use the Blo.gs panel, when I hit refresh, I see an hour glass in Windows - but I dont see the "spinner" on the top of the panel next to the panel name and close panel. Just an FYI

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 4:26 pm

There are no images on the 'Home', 'MoveUP' and 'Create Folder' buttons on the 'Save as' dialog box.

bytemaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1264
Joined: August 18th, 2003, 11:34 pm

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 7:05 pm

Anonymous wrote:There are no images on the 'Home', 'MoveUP' and 'Create Folder' buttons on the 'Save as' dialog box.

What platform? Assume Linux because Windows builds use the Windows standard file UI.
Brainbench Most Valuable Professional (MVP) for Computer Technical Support
www.brainbench.com - <a href="http://www.brainbench.com/xml/bb/transcript/public/viewtranscript.xml?pid=742832">view my transcript</a>

Jadugar
 
Posts: 1768
Joined: April 18th, 2004, 3:27 pm

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 7:26 pm

cdevroe wrote:I'd like to say that I found an error. When using a panel, or sidebar, there is no Progress spinning wait thingy icon in the top of the panel anymore.

I found this out because I use the Blo.gs panel, when I hit refresh, I see an hour glass in Windows - but I dont see the "spinner" on the top of the panel next to the panel name and close panel. Just an FYI


Known issue with transfer progress not shown I believe.

eiseli

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 9:07 am
Location: Switzerland

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 7:53 pm

bytemaster wrote:
Anonymous wrote:There are no images on the 'Home', 'MoveUP' and 'Create Folder' buttons on the 'Save as' dialog box.

What platform? Assume Linux because Windows builds use the Windows standard file UI.


http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=246035 Fixed
Get the most out of search: add 1000+ search engines to Mozilla and Firefox with <a href="http://mycroft.mozdev.org/">Mycroft</a>

Coz
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 9th, 2004, 10:25 pm

Post Posted June 9th, 2004, 10:34 pm

Some problems I've noticed on Windows XP:

- Themes can't be installed. The installer just doesn't do anything.

- Navigation bar is really high

- Firefox imports Mozilla Suite's bookmarks and settings and overwrites Firefox 0.8 settings

- If I click an URL from an external program (for example Acrobat Reader) two instanced of Firefox are started, both are showing the same page.

- Windows Installer says it's installing Firefox 0.8

mic_s
Guest
 

Post Posted June 10th, 2004, 1:49 am

what i noticed with win xp: (clean install)

-installer has a background-image behind "launch mozilla firefox 0.8 now"
-under "help" are only "release notes" and "about firefox". where is "help contents"?

what i think is missing (although it isn't a bug; not so important)
- "close" buttons on extensions and theme managaer (and donwload manager)
- in the extensions-manager: hover-effect on the icons of every extension (so people can see that it is clickable)

(sorry for my english)

eiseli

User avatar
 
Posts: 31
Joined: November 29th, 2002, 9:07 am
Location: Switzerland

Post Posted June 10th, 2004, 4:45 am

Coz wrote:Some problems I've noticed on Windows XP:

- Themes can't be installed. The installer just doesn't do anything.

- Navigation bar is really high

- Firefox imports Mozilla Suite's bookmarks and settings and overwrites Firefox 0.8 settings


About Themes: I just tried out a few of them and noticed: some get installed, some don't. I guess those that do get installed are compatible with 0.9 while the others are not. If you want to try: Noia 2.0 eXtreme v. 2.62, Mostly Crystal v. 1.0, Pinball v. 0.9 and Smoke v1.5 worked very well for me.

Navigation toolbar seems to be a general problem then (not only on Linux). That's a side- effect of the new theme. With other themes, the navbar is normal.

About importing the mozilla bookmarks and settings: I didn't want to risk anything and cancelled this step.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Reflective, samsam1147 and 18 guests