MozillaZine

Extensions: Gmail Compose 0.5.3 & BBCode 0.1.2

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 7:08 pm

Seems a few different sites link to this page.

GMailCompose has evolutionized and has become a much superior extensions now called

WebMailCompose.

Please go it's corresponding thread and download from there.
Cheers
-Jed
Last edited by jedbro on August 30th, 2004, 6:55 pm, edited 16 times in total.

Hidea
 
Posts: 231
Joined: June 18th, 2004, 2:35 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 8:19 pm

awsome stuff!!! :D :D

peter.reisio

User avatar
 
Posts: 3166
Joined: March 3rd, 2004, 6:57 pm

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 8:21 pm

screenshots of bbcode?

Zulithe

User avatar
 
Posts: 657
Joined: May 3rd, 2003, 5:45 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 8:28 pm

wow jedbro ... great extentions! Keep up the excellent work!

gdeka
 
Posts: 79
Joined: April 25th, 2003, 1:24 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 24th, 2004, 9:04 pm

jed i implemented subject etc.. differently to the way you were going to - i will send you a new jar file if you want. (Dammit jed - i was trying to make my first extension - why is it when you have a decent idea people go and do it for you - really thanks for doing this jed) now just how to hook in the mailto:

TychoQuad
 
Posts: 1263
Joined: December 11th, 2002, 12:30 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 12:01 am

Would it be possible to make BBCode a toolbar inside text boxes over a certain size? (that could be switched to doing HTML)

Rowne Mastaile

User avatar
 
Posts: 1434
Joined: December 21st, 2003, 3:05 pm
Location: Housed in a swirling neosma of scintillating thought and turgid ideas.

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 5:41 am

As another thought, instead of embedding there could be an option to allow this command-bar to show near any <textbox> tags. For example, the extension would search the HTML and then embed its code directly above the <textbox> tag. That way it would always show above the textbox and not take up its space.

I'm not sure how well this would function though, if at all...

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 7:10 am

TychoQuad wrote:Would it be possible to make BBCode a toolbar inside text boxes over a certain size? (that could be switched to doing HTML)


Yeah, I have thought about that. Maybe for 0.2 or 0.3
Can you think of a mock-up on how the toolbar should be layed out? Specifically the functions that use a url from the clipboard.
Thanks

gdeka wrote:jed i implemented subject etc.. differently to the way you were going to - i will send you a new jar file if you want. (Dammit jed - i was trying to make my first extension - why is it when you have a decent idea people go and do it for you - really thanks for doing this jed) now just how to hook in the mailto:


Sorry, that has happened to me too, anyhow, feel free to make a new extension off of my code if you like, or send me code/ideas, or if you'd like, I clould set up an account at mozdev and we could both contribute to the extension.

I PM'ed you my e-mail address
-Jed

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6448
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 8:57 am

jedbro wrote:Image BBCode 0.1 (size: 5kb) - Adds a context menu for easy access to BBCODE formating in PHBB Forums, liks this form (Firefox 0.9 and later only) .
Feedback and Comments welcome

- Jed

Okay, here is my feedback:

This is a lousy extension!

Why?

It installed the first time, and it works.

So?

Well, how can I give you my usual hard time if the extension works that way?

Furthermore, I suppose that now you expect me to say "Thank you"?

Sigh....

banjobacon!
 
Posts: 1922
Joined: April 5th, 2003, 3:34 pm

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 9:02 am

Heh. I didn't really want to bother with the BBCode extension, but seeing how much fun John had with it makes it look so appealing.

Rowne Mastaile

User avatar
 
Posts: 1434
Joined: December 21st, 2003, 3:05 pm
Location: Housed in a swirling neosma of scintillating thought and turgid ideas.

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 11:09 am

Well, I must say that I'm surprised that my Fx hasn't 'sploded horribly yet as this new extension brings my installed list up to a grand total of 64 extensions! *huff*

lynchknot
 
Posts: 6253
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:36 pm

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 11:21 am

Not for 9+? - does not show up in ext manager and does not work.

Rowne Mastaile

User avatar
 
Posts: 1434
Joined: December 21st, 2003, 3:05 pm
Location: Housed in a swirling neosma of scintillating thought and turgid ideas.

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 1:23 pm

It might be because of this:

app.version
extensions.lastAppVersion
general.useragent.vendorSub


,,,and this:

extensions.disabledObsolete

The former should all be set to 0.9 and the latter should be set to false.

I can install these extensions on 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040621 Nucleargoat/0.9 (Firefox/0.9 rebrand)' (which is really 0.9.0+) without issue.

jedbro

User avatar
 
Posts: 1899
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 12:35 pm
Location: Mexico / Boulder Co.

Post Posted June 25th, 2004, 5:19 pm

lynchknot wrote:Not for 9+? - does not show up in ext manager and does not work.

That is odd, both extensions list the following
Code: Select all
   
        <em:minVersion>0.8</em:minVersion>
        <em:maxVersion>0.9+</em:maxVersion>


Should work. Anything special about your build?
Also, which extension?

asqueella
 
Posts: 4019
Joined: November 16th, 2003, 3:05 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Post Posted June 26th, 2004, 2:29 am

Good stuff. One thing I'd like to see is keyboard shortcuts, for example CTRL+B for making currently selected text bold.

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest