MozillaZine

[0.1.3 Avble] Image Zoom Ext for Moz, Fx & Tb

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
thinktiger
 
Posts: 50
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 11:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 11:53 am

New Extension for Mozilla, Firefox and Thunderbird

Features Include:
- Zoom In/Out
- Reset Image Size
- Custom Zoom
- Custom Dimensions
- Fit Image to Screen
- Zoom to Preset Values directly from menu
- Option to Change Zoom In/Out Factor
- Ability to show or hide the items that are shown in the menu via the options.

http://www.yellowgorilla.net/imagezoom

I started writing this extension after Image Zoomer by Travis Hardiman was not compatible with Firefox 0.9. and then it just kept on going. Now Travis is working on Image Zoomer again but this version has been entirely rewritten for Firefox and Thunderbird and Mozilla and had many more new features.

I tried to contact the owner of the Image Zoomer extension to take over that project when it was inactive but my messages were blocked by a spam blocker. Similar efforts to get my extension listed anywhere on the official pages have been blocked in the same manner. Anyone have any ideas on how do I get in contact with these people to make this extension available to the greater community.
Last edited by thinktiger on July 5th, 2004, 8:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Rowne Mastaile

User avatar
 
Posts: 1434
Joined: December 21st, 2003, 3:05 pm
Location: Housed in a swirling neosma of scintillating thought and turgid ideas.

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 12:07 pm

If you're having email troubles, I could send a gmail invite your way that you could use to mail them, I've tossed most out to my friends but I'm fairly sure I have one left.

Also; a bit of a suggestion, should you have the time or inclination. What'd be really interesting for an extension like this is the ability to store a domain name (such as deviantart.com) and have a set 'Always Zoom to:' for that domain.

This would help accessibility, I think. Especially for users like myself who are vision impaired. I had suggested this to the author of Image Zoomer too. No rush and no absolute need, it's just an interesting challenge, if you wish to take it and all that.

David H
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: June 13th, 2003, 5:17 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 12:18 pm

Any chance of getting a version that works with 0.8? I don't want to upgrade yet because there are still a few extensions I like that don't work properly in 0.9.

thinktiger
 
Posts: 50
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 11:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 8:22 pm

I have put a new version up that is compatable with Firefox 0.8 (and possibly older versions) as well as Mozilla 1.7 I have only done limited testing on these two platforms so leave comments here, on the webpage or send me a mail if you experience problems. I am committed to getting this extension stable.

The new version is here:
http://www.yellowgorilla.net/imagezoom

soccer_dude182

User avatar
 
Posts: 720
Joined: July 11th, 2003, 10:50 pm
Location: Waco, TX

Post Posted July 3rd, 2004, 10:01 pm

Working great here :)

David H
 
Posts: 2254
Joined: June 13th, 2003, 5:17 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted July 4th, 2004, 9:45 am

Tiger, thank you so much for this extension. It's working wonderfully on my 0.8+ build. I love all the options! The custom zoom factor is exactly what I've been wishing for.

One small detail. The image fit function seems to expand images to the size needed to fill the whole screen, but if the image is, for example, in a table column on the right side of the page (such as the "donate" image here ==>), it expands off the edge of the visible page. My expected behavior would be for the browser to center the display on the image itself.

Great work overall. Thanks again!

SantaFe

User avatar
 
Posts: 196
Joined: May 25th, 2003, 10:48 pm
Location: Shunting Box Cars.

Post Posted July 4th, 2004, 10:08 am

Really like this extension!!!! Works great in Firefox 0.9.1 & Thunderbird 0.71! I Have noticed however, that in Mozilla 1.70 whenever I use either the Custom Zoom or the Custom Dimention options, the browser quits to the desktop. Using Slackware 10 & KDE. But since I never use those anyway it's no biggie to me. :)

thinktiger
 
Posts: 50
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 11:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post Posted July 4th, 2004, 11:11 am

SantaFe wrote:I Have noticed however, that in Mozilla 1.70 whenever I use either the Custom Zoom or the Custom Dimention options, the browser quits to the desktop. Using Slackware 10 & KDE.

If anyone else is having this problem I would love to know as I only have access to a Windows Machine to test this extension and it works on my Mozilla 1.7 installation. Could you please post either here or at my website the detailed steps which caused the failure.

Any suggestions here to improve the extension are also appreciated.

SantaFe

User avatar
 
Posts: 196
Joined: May 25th, 2003, 10:48 pm
Location: Shunting Box Cars.

Post Posted July 4th, 2004, 11:22 am

thinktiger wrote:
SantaFe wrote:I Have noticed however, that in Mozilla 1.70 whenever I use either the Custom Zoom or the Custom Dimention options, the browser quits to the desktop. Using Slackware 10 & KDE.

If anyone else is having this problem I would love to know as I only have access to a Windows Machine to test this extension and it works on my Mozilla 1.7 installation. Could you please post either here or at my website the detailed steps which caused the failure.

Any suggestions here to improve the extension are also appreciated.
Weird, they just started working now. Haven't rebooted the computer or anything, but the two things that weren't working now work fine. Hmmm.... oh well. it's now at 100% now in Mozilla 1.7. :D

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6462
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted July 4th, 2004, 12:10 pm

I've got "Reset Image" set in both the main and submenu options, but I've yet to see that setting appear in the Firefox context menu when looking at an image. Anyone else seeing, or more properly, not seeing that option either?

thinktiger
 
Posts: 50
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 11:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post Posted July 4th, 2004, 12:37 pm

John Liebson wrote:I've got "Reset Image" set in both the main and submenu options, but I've yet to see that setting appear in the Firefox context menu when looking at an image. Anyone else seeing, or more properly, not seeing that option either?

Do you see an "Actual Size" menu item because that is the menu item that corresponds to the "Reset Image" option. I have to review the naming of these items in the next release.

John Liebson
 
Posts: 6462
Joined: July 29th, 2003, 1:09 pm

Post Posted July 5th, 2004, 3:21 am

thinktiger wrote:
John Liebson wrote:I've got "Reset Image" set in both the main and submenu options, but I've yet to see that setting appear in the Firefox context menu when looking at an image. Anyone else seeing, or more properly, not seeing that option either?

Do you see an "Actual Size" menu item because that is the menu item that corresponds to the "Reset Image" option. I have to review the naming of these items in the next release.

Ah, yes, of course, everyone knows that "Reset", when translated, means "Actual Size."....

Yes, I do see "Actual Size," and, yes, it does work; thanks.

diesel_travis

User avatar
 
Posts: 133
Joined: September 16th, 2003, 11:31 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post Posted July 5th, 2004, 6:46 am

Nice job, this is exactly what I wanted to do with ImageZoomer. Sorry that you had trouble trying to contact me. If you'd like I could give you CVS access to the ImageZoomer project and you could put your stuff there? (or I could just put a note there pointing to your extension) My email is travis dot hardiman at gmail dot com.

diesel_travis

User avatar
 
Posts: 133
Joined: September 16th, 2003, 11:31 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Post Posted July 5th, 2004, 7:28 am

The only thing I could suggest would be using offsetHeight and offsetWidth in your getHeight() and getWidth(). The reason for this would be if someone used a % for the image dimensions:
Code: Select all
<img src="http://www.mozilla.org/frontpage/productIconFirebird.png" style="width:50%" alt="50%" />

getWidth() returns 5 instead of the actual width for that one.

thinktiger
 
Posts: 50
Joined: July 3rd, 2004, 11:15 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

Post Posted July 5th, 2004, 9:15 am

I am addressing this right now actually. I have run into problems using offsetHeight and offsetWidth if the image has padding (or margin, I can't remember) and is different on the width to the height. It skews the image. I am working on a new solution for this now and should have it ready in the next couple of days.
Image Zoom extension for Firefox, Mozilla and Thunderbird

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests