Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Cah
Guest

Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by Cah »

Is there to remove the new open new tab button that is to the right of tabs? I'd also like to remove the tab list thing on the right side but I can't figure out how to do it.
User avatar
LoudNoise
New Member
Posts: 39900
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LoudNoise »

Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39954
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LIMPET235 »

Thanks LN.
Anything to remove the tab drop down at the right?
Seems as though the "Stylish", "Remove tab drop down" has been immobilized.
Couldn't see any updated Styles.
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
User avatar
Bluefang
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by Bluefang »

I know Tab Mix Plus allows you to control what buttons show up on the tab bar.
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39954
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LIMPET235 »

Thanks Bluefang.
Would really prefer the "Stylish" way. ;)
Hopefully, someone will update it.
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
User avatar
Bluefang
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by Bluefang »

try

Code: Select all

.tabs-container .tabs-alltabs-stack,
.tabs-container .tabs-closebutton,
.tabs-container .tabs-newtab-button
{
display: none !important;
}
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39954
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LIMPET235 »

Well, that got rid of the "Close" button but didn't touch the "Drop Down".
Next please. ;)
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
User avatar
Bluefang
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by Bluefang »

ok, try

Code: Select all

.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-alltabs-stack
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-newtab-button
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-newtab-topbox
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-closebutton
{
display: none;
}

#alltabs-place-holder
{
width: 0px !important;
}
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39954
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LIMPET235 »

Sorry but no ceegarrh.
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
User avatar
Bluefang
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont
Contact:

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by Bluefang »

Apparently TMP messes around with the contents of the tab bar. Lets try this again with a virgin profile

Code: Select all

.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-alltabs-button,
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-alltabs-box-animate,
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-newtab-button,
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-closebutton
{
display: none !important;
}
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...
User avatar
Gingerbread Man
Posts: 7735
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by Gingerbread Man »

Cah wrote:Is there to remove the new open new tab button that is to the right of tabs?

I put this in my userChrome.css file:

Code: Select all

/* Tab bar: hide new tab button */
tabbrowser .tabs-newtab-button { display: none !important }


Cah wrote:I'd also like to remove the tab list thing on the right side but I can't figure out how to do it.

I didn't have that one displayed when Firefox 3.5 first started up, so I assume it was hidden by this userChrome.css code:

Code: Select all

/* Tab bar: hide all tabs drop-down list */
.tabbrowser-strip *[class^="tabs-alltabs"] { display: none !important }
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39954
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LIMPET235 »

Removes both buttons.
I've got a bottle of "White Out" here somewhere.
Maybe I'll use that. ;)

Thanks for the assist, Bluefang.

Thanks muchly, Gingerbread Guy.
Worked like a charm.
Looks a lot cleaner now.
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
karenanne
Posts: 630
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 5:16 am

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by karenanne »

I'm a little confused. I would like to remove the new tab button, but keep the drop down list. How do I do that? Thanks.
karenanne
Posts: 630
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 5:16 am

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by karenanne »

By the way, a pox on lower contrast between text and background, as the forum has moved to. Not all of us have twenty year old eyes, folks.
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39954
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

Post by LIMPET235 »

Hi Karenanne,
D/L & install the extension that LN posted..
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/10535

Have you tried changing the screen settings re; Contrast/Brightness?
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
Locked