MozillaZine

Suddenly Firefox stopped loading pages, only IE is working..

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
bobdeniro
Guest
 

Post Posted October 2nd, 2005, 7:44 am

A couple of days ago I upgraded to v. 1.0.7, and an hour ago suddenly Firefox stopped working.
Now when I try to load a new page nothing happens ("page 'x' not found"), only IE works, but as soon as I try to launch Firefox again then IE stops working as well (server not found).
I did not change any firewall options, did not change anything, simply Firefox stopped working.
Please help me, IE sucks but what else should I use if Firefox doesn't work???
Thanks for your help.
My OS is WinXP Home Edition 2002, SP2...

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 2nd, 2005, 7:50 am

bobdeniro wrote:A couple of days ago I upgraded to v. 1.0.7, and an hour ago suddenly Firefox stopped working.
Now when I try to load a new page nothing happens ("page 'x' not found"), only IE works, but as soon as I try to launch Firefox again then IE stops working as well (server not found).
I did not change any firewall options, did not change anything, simply Firefox stopped working.
Please help me, IE sucks but what else should I use if Firefox doesn't work???
Thanks for your help.
My OS is WinXP Home Edition 2002, SP2...

correction...
the message says "page x does not exist"...

bobdeniro
Guest
 

Post Posted October 2nd, 2005, 7:51 am

bobdeniro wrote:A couple of days ago I upgraded to v. 1.0.7, and an hour ago suddenly Firefox stopped working.
Now when I try to load a new page nothing happens ("page 'x' not found"), only IE works, but as soon as I try to launch Firefox again then IE stops working as well (server not found).
I did not change any firewall options, did not change anything, simply Firefox stopped working.
Please help me, IE sucks but what else should I use if Firefox doesn't work???
Thanks for your help.
My OS is WinXP Home Edition 2002, SP2...

Correction...
the error message states "page 'x' does not exist"

rtmjr50

User avatar
 
Posts: 6318
Joined: August 2nd, 2004, 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post Posted October 2nd, 2005, 7:51 am

bobdeniro wrote:A couple of days ago I upgraded to v. 1.0.7, and an hour ago suddenly Firefox stopped working.
Now when I try to load a new page nothing happens ("page 'x' not found"), only IE works, but as soon as I try to launch Firefox again then IE stops working as well (server not found).
I did not change any firewall options, did not change anything, simply Firefox stopped working.
Please help me, IE sucks but what else should I use if Firefox doesn't work???
Thanks for your help.
My OS is WinXP Home Edition 2002, SP2...


have you check for a virus or spyware problem? .... using firefox will not effect your use of IE

For Spyware Protection:
Adaware SE Personal: http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/
Spybot-S&D: http://www.spybot.info/en/home/index.html
SpywareBlaster: http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/
for winXP: M$ AntiSpyware (beta) [much better than adaware/spybot comb0]
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/securit ... fault.mspx

Read: How to: Spyware, Trojan And Virus Removal
http://forums.majorgeeks.com/showthread.php?t=35407
Read: Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware Products & Web Sites
http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_ant ... m#products
If Your PC is Infested w/ Spyware...
http://www.spywarewarrior.com/rogue_ant ... htm#online
Read: Aurora Popups removal
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 52#1602552
Read: Spyware Stoppers: Our tests reveal the most powerful tools for fighting back.
http://www.pcworld.com/reviews/article/ ... g,1,00.asp

Guide: Fixing a bad Firefox Profile
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 02#1590202
step #1 ... try opening in safemode.
step #2 ... create a new profile using the profilemanager
step #3 ... other answers ... have you read:
Standard Diagnostic - Was working fine but isn't anymore
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic
Browser will not start up
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_:_Iss ... 7t_Startup
Error loading any website
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website#
Problematic extensions
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problematic_extensions

later, Richard
Rule #1: My computer is always right, the human is always the problem .. RULE #2: See Rule #1
using Win XP/SP2 (home) FF1.5.0.9 FF2.0.0.1 FF3a1 Tbird1.5.0.9 ==> Press for More Answers <==
No colours in sig please.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 2nd, 2005, 8:00 am

I have Kaspersky antivirus that has always worked fine with Firefox...
About to try with the Standard Diagnostic, will let you know.
Meanwhile thanks :)

ibrahimarian
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2009, 1:43 pm

Suddenly firefox stopped loading pages,only

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122733
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted July 27th, 2009, 4:13 pm

Please start your own topic. This one died four years ago. Locking.
JE SUIS CHARLIE
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: L.A.R. Grizzly and 13 guests