MozillaZine

Can't add sites to bookmarks toolbar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
wgman21

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 7:02 am

Post Posted September 7th, 2009, 8:42 pm

I am using the bookmarks toolbar in FF 3.5.2 and for some reason I can't add any more bookmarks. I deleted some that I don't really use any more, but that wasn't it. It wasn't full. Any ideas? I'm thinking that I accidentally checked some option that has it locked, but can't find it. #-o

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19699
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted September 7th, 2009, 9:31 pm

You may be in private browsing mode. I don't believe you can add bookmarks then. Look at the Tools menu. Should be an option to "End Private Browsing".
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted September 7th, 2009, 9:52 pm

I doubt that's it. I just verified you can create bookmarks and add them to the bookmarks toolbar in private browsing mode. And they're still there after leaving private browsing. If I recall correctly, this is intended behavior, i.e. private browsing is not supposed to affect bookmarking.

Edit: http://support.mozilla.com/en-US/kb/Pri ... not_retain

Alan Baxter
 
Posts: 4419
Joined: May 30th, 2005, 2:01 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Post Posted September 8th, 2009, 7:16 am

This might be caused by a known bug introduced in Fx 3.5. Install the bug447571 (Expand bookmarks toolbar) extension. Does that fix your problem?

Anonymosity
 
Posts: 8487
Joined: May 7th, 2007, 12:07 pm

Post Posted September 8th, 2009, 12:52 pm

I found another way to stop the bookmarks from being squashed by the search box, other than adding that extension. If you make the min width and max width the same and remove the flex property from the search box, it will not squash anything. Using "-moz-appearance: none !important;" for the #search-container element will remove the flex.

wgman21

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 7:02 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2009, 4:04 pm

Alan Baxter wrote:This might be caused by a known bug introduced in Fx 3.5. Install the bug447571 (Expand bookmarks toolbar) extension. Does that fix your problem?


I installed it and it didn't help. I can't figure it out. I was always able to add to it and then one day "poof", nothing!

wgman21

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 7:02 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2009, 2:41 pm

PS: I'm not browsing in Private Browsing Mode.

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19699
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted September 13th, 2009, 5:25 am

It's possible that your bookmarks file has become corrupted. You can try restoring one of the backup files, or you can export your bookmarks to an HTML file, remove your bookmarks file and then import the file you exported. Here's how you can try each method:

Use Backup
Go to Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks.
Press the Import and Backup button.
Choose Restore -> (file date)
Close and restart Firefox and try to make a bookmark on the bookmarks toolbar.

Start fresh
Open Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks.
Hit the Import and Backup button, choose Export HTML.
Save the file to somewhere safe that you'll remember.
Close Firefox.
Go to your profile folder and move the file called places.sqlite somewhere else (don't delete it, just move it).
Open Firefox, note that your bookmarks should be restored from an earlier backup. Unfortunately, you'll lose your history.
Try to create a bookmark on your toolbar. If it works, great! If it doesn't, close Firefox and put the places.sqlite file back into your profile so your history is restored.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

newsoft
 
Posts: 25
Joined: September 13th, 2009, 5:19 am

Post Posted September 13th, 2009, 5:29 am

Did anyone solve this problem?

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19699
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted September 13th, 2009, 6:42 am

newsoft - you appear to be posting just to post and copying previous posts, which is against several of the rules here. Please stop. Thank you.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

wgman21

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 7:02 am

Post Posted September 13th, 2009, 7:03 am

smsmith wrote:It's possible that your bookmarks file has become corrupted. You can try restoring one of the backup files, or you can export your bookmarks to an HTML file, remove your bookmarks file and then import the file you exported. Here's how you can try each method:

Use Backup
Go to Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks.
Press the Import and Backup button.
Choose Restore -> (file date)
Close and restart Firefox and try to make a bookmark on the bookmarks toolbar.

Start fresh
Open Bookmarks -> Organize Bookmarks.
Hit the Import and Backup button, choose Export HTML.
Save the file to somewhere safe that you'll remember.
Close Firefox.
Go to your profile folder and move the file called places.sqlite somewhere else (don't delete it, just move it).
Open Firefox, note that your bookmarks should be restored from an earlier backup. Unfortunately, you'll lose your history.
Try to create a bookmark on your toolbar. If it works, great! If it doesn't, close Firefox and put the places.sqlite file back into your profile so your history is restored.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder


Thanks! I will be away from my computer for the rest of the day, but I will try this in the next couple of days and let you know if it works. It's such a nice toolbar when it's working!

wgman21

User avatar
 
Posts: 12
Joined: April 3rd, 2009, 7:02 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2009, 8:44 pm

I still can't drag n drop, but I can add to the bookmarks toolbar by clicking bookmarks and choosing to add it to the toolbar. A little slower, but it gets me where I want to end up. Thanks for all of the responses.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22215
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted September 18th, 2009, 11:09 pm

I'm curious... if you open your bookmarks sidebar can you drag something to the bookmarks toolbar that way?
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: skuddle and 12 guests