MozillaZine


The Official Win32 20040901 [Br/Tr] builds are out.

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
crafteh
 
Posts: 469
Joined: August 2nd, 2003, 12:15 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 11:22 am

Our extension (WeatherFox) doesn't get its javascript component registered. The other developer filed bug 257681.

whorfin

User avatar
 
Posts: 326
Joined: April 1st, 2003, 3:11 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 11:33 am

OK, so how do I do a manual install of extensions and themes, until they're updated to get around the version level nanny?
Lighten up, Francis

supernova_00
 
Posts: 4832
Joined: June 24th, 2004, 8:03 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 11:42 am

This is for manually uninstalling extensions and themes but just do opopsite for installing them. know i dont know how to change the maxversion numbers though.


1) You will need to know the ID of the Theme/Extension you need to delete. It is a unique ID. To find out which is which, you will need to goto userProfile/Extensions directory.
It will look like this... {9f08cb5a-76b1-4bcf-aff9-90e1a5d60b1e} (In this example I use the Noia 2.0 eXtreme id)
Double click into that directory and look into the chrome directory. You will find .JAR file name of the Theme you installed. If it's the one you want to delete then delete the whole {9f08cb5a-76b1-4bcf-aff9-90e1a5d60b1e} directory (make sure you close Firefox before delete it).

2) Look into the Extensions.rdf file. Open it up with wordpad. Delete these lines...
CODE
<RDF:Description RDF:about="urn:mozilla:theme:{9f08cb5a-76b1-4bcf-aff9-90e1a5d60b1e}"
em:version="2.74"
em:name="Noia 2.0 (eXtreme)"
em:description="Thanks to Carlitus for the wonderful icon set and Aaron for the base file."
em:creator="Kongkeat Kuatrakull"
em:homepageURL="http://kasteo.deviantart.com/"
em:internalName="Noia2f"
em:contributor="Noia icons by Carlitus">
<em:targetApplication RDF:resource="rdf:#$R6LPc2"/>
</RDF:Description>
<RDF:Seq RDF:about="urn:mozilla:theme:root">
<RDF:li RDF:resource="urn:mozilla:theme:{9f08cb5a-76b1-4bcf-aff9-90e1a5d60b1e}"/>
</RDF:Seq>


Code should start with the id of the Theme you need to delete and end with the same id. If you not sure, you can make a backup of the Extensions.rdf file before try to delete them.

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 1:00 pm

It appears that pretty much any extension that has components in the extension's components directory is broken by this build and enabling or setting the maxVersion to .10 will not fix the extension. Putting the extension's components in the application's components directory, deleting the profile directory's compreg.dat and xpti.dat, and restarting Firefox is a workaround for this issue. The extensions that I have that this affects are WeatherFox, FoxyTunes, and the Venkman service for the JS Debugger.

Note: though DeepestSender has the composer.xpt in the extension's components directory it isn't affected with the zip builds (possibly the installer builds as well but I can't confirm since I don't use them) since the composer.xpt was added back to the app's components directory.

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 1:08 pm

vertigo451 wrote:
mrtech wrote:ARG, dynamic theme switch has been disabled in latest aviary branch, you have to restart to use diff theme, this was working so well though, I guess there were some other issues. Does anyone know if this will this be re-enabled?


Some themes had issues with dynamic switching (see Bug 226791), so the devs decided to remove it for 1.0 Final. The feature is still in the trunk and will probably be looked at again.


Good god, I sure hope they re-add them, I've added a comment to the bug, but it would be great if they could make dynamic switching optional, oh well.

TheDormouse
 
Posts: 242
Joined: December 22nd, 2002, 11:23 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 1:22 pm

To everyone freaking out about extensions:

Keep your profile and install the new build. You'll get a message that many of your extensions are incompatible with this Firefox version. Stay calm. Open the extension manager, right-click on any grayed-out extensions and hit enable.

That should make the majority of your extensions work again. It made Chatzilla, Hotmail Tabs, Web Developer, and Adblock all work for me!

-=Cyrus=-
 
Posts: 55
Joined: July 4th, 2004, 1:42 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 1:45 pm

Apart from bug fixes what has been added / changed e.g. features etc? as I am waiting till 1.0PR is out.

Thanks

Robert S.

User avatar
 
Posts: 4399
Joined: April 24th, 2004, 3:04 am
Location: Bay Area, CA

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 1:45 pm

That does indeed re-enable any extension and is easier than repackaging with a new maxVersion. It won't fix extensions that t use components in the extension's components directory

Gert-Paul
 
Posts: 277
Joined: December 16th, 2003, 6:15 am
Location: the Netherlands

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 1:47 pm

mrtech wrote:Good god, I sure hope they re-add them, I've added a comment to the bug, but it would be great if they could make dynamic switching optional, oh well.

See #256930 - set extensions.dss.enabled to true and you can use it again.

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 2:23 pm

Excellent, thanks that WFM!!
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

ieremiou

User avatar
 
Posts: 637
Joined: July 20th, 2004, 3:21 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NYC

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 2:28 pm

About Dynamic Theme Switching... Reading Bug 257304

>+pref("extensions.dss.enabled", false); // Dynamic Skin Switching
>+pref("extensions.dss.switchPending", false); // Non-dynamic switch pending after next
>+ // restart.

Turn off dynamic skin switching.

>Index: toolkit/mozapps/extensions/content/extensions.js
>+const PREF_EXTENSIONS_DSS_ENABLED = "extensions.dss.enabled";
>+const PREF_EXTENSIONS_DSS_SWITCHPENDING = "extensions.dss.switchPending";

Dynamic Skin Switching enabling/disabling and state tracking prefs.
Apparently there should be prefs in about:config?
I haven't gotten a latest avairy optimized build yet to check this.

EDIT: Yep it's there in the about:config prefs section... Just enable extensions.dss.enabled to true and it will do it dynamically.
Another thing is to edit your themes maxversion to 0.10.0+ in the install.rdf if it hasn't already been done. I had to do that with Noia 2.0 eXtreme 2.74 and it seemed to cross over just fine.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20050922 Firefox/1.6a1 - Build ID: 2005092210

Greg K Nicholson

User avatar
 
Posts: 1328
Joined: September 28th, 2003, 8:58 am

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 4:15 pm

Shouldn't new nightlies be in a -0.10 directory instead of -0.9?

Peter(6)

User avatar
 
Posts: 13011
Joined: September 4th, 2003, 1:26 am
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 4:30 pm

they're still in 0.9, we'll see tomorrow
nightly build threads 20040225 (FF 0.8.0+) - 20120331 (FF14a)

wgianopoulos

User avatar
 
Posts: 1737
Joined: July 23rd, 2003, 8:15 am

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 5:14 pm

Zaagmans wrote:Hmmm... this is weird.
I deinstalled my previous FireFox version and even deleted the Application Data/Mozilla folder to startup a brand new firefox.

But when I install firefox I get the following error at the end of the installation:

Image

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20040901 Firefox/1.0 PR (NOT FINAL)


This is because the talkback server was down when this build was created. hopefully they will have it back running before tomorrow's nightly build. As other posters mentioned this happens with tinderbox builds, but that is not the case here. This is the official nightly and should have talkback included.

Jadugar
 
Posts: 1774
Joined: April 18th, 2004, 3:27 pm

Post Posted September 1st, 2004, 8:42 pm

Ok, I just wanted to check. I'm having trouble viewing any movie clips online with firefox lately. This latest version is no different. I was under the impression that viewing movie clips is currently broken. I just figured since we seem to be gearing up for the 1.0 PR release whether if anyone can actually view movies with firefox on these latest builds?

So far, every build I install, I install from scratch (clean profile, clean directory etc etc). Only things I copy over are the plugins folder, select files from profile folder (bookmarks.html, user.js, signons.txt, key3.db, formhistory.dat).

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest