MozillaZine

[Ext] OpenDownload² 4.2.0

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
m4dbra1n

User avatar
 
Posts: 3
Joined: November 21st, 2009, 2:43 pm

Post Posted November 22nd, 2009, 10:12 am

I'm joking tuxman :D

Just gave it a look and see if it works well before release ;)

Bye!

dauge
 
Posts: 37
Joined: January 4th, 2005, 2:58 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2010, 9:29 am

I use Orbit Downloader for my downloads. The original version of OpenDowload 1.0 used to show Orbit as one of the choices, along with run, etc.

OpenDownload 2.1.3 does not show Orbit as a choice, ever. Could this be fixed because sometimes I want to use open in default application but sometimes I want to let Orbit manage the download.

thx

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted January 12th, 2010, 9:58 am

This is not OpenDownload's purpose. Use FlashGot for that. :)

dauge
 
Posts: 37
Joined: January 4th, 2005, 2:58 pm

Post Posted January 12th, 2010, 10:07 am

Why did this option disappear when you took over OpenDownload. It's a good feature allowing for much greater flexibility.

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted January 12th, 2010, 10:25 am

It was never in.

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted February 3rd, 2010, 12:00 am

v2.1.4 released. No new bugs to fix, so I decided to add it-IT and the updated es-ES locales. Nothing else.
AMO will be updated, too.

SkH
 
Posts: 11
Joined: August 5th, 2007, 7:38 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 5:23 am

Hello, it's great someone decided to continue this addon! I have translated it to Hungarian!
Can you include it in the addon? Download from here: http://www.mediafire.com/?hx2z45tig1f

Somehow, it doesn't work yet, can you please fix it?

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted March 5th, 2010, 9:38 am

Hmm, I can't, as I don't understand Hungarian. ;)
The easiest way to get a working translation is to register on Babelzilla and translate it there.

osbertdebroilg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 12th, 2010, 6:01 pm

Post Posted March 12th, 2010, 6:07 pm

Hi,

Please could someone help ? I would love to get this plugin working with Firefox Portable. Is there a quick and easy way to install it please?

Many thanks !

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted March 12th, 2010, 6:19 pm

Hmm, the easiest way is clicking the link, I presume.

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted March 19th, 2010, 8:50 pm

Some comments from AMO, answered here for future reference:

But why is it still marked experimental?


Because Jeremy Gillick's 1.0.0 version is still listed.

What I'd like to see is a way to configure it by file extension. Ideally, modify the Tools>Options>Applications to have "Use Associated" as an option in the list of options.


I don't know why I should help my users configuring their browser in a stupid way.
Srsly, automatically executing anything is quite an security hole, so this will probably (like: for sure) never come.

(...) would it be possible to get back the "open with default (...) application" radio button for executable files, since there is no other way to open an executable file directly?


Executables don't have a default application. Executing executables is what this extension does.

abell1204
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 21st, 2010, 8:05 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2010, 8:14 am

This is a great idea and wonderful functionality, but why, when I click the "open with Win32 default" option ... does the "always/remember" dialog become grayed out???

That's the same problem native Firefox already has.

I'd like the option to just trust the file extensions in the link(s) and leave it to the O/S and other mechanisms to guard my privacy and sensibilities.

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2010, 10:12 am

I would call it a security issue. :)

abell1204
 
Posts: 6
Joined: April 21st, 2010, 8:05 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2010, 10:43 am

Tuxman wrote:I would call it a security issue. :)


Really?
Forcing the user to click the same box every time is a security issue? How, exactly, does this insure any security? Maybe I'll have second thoughts? Take this opportunity to rethink my evil ways and navigate away from a site -- all because a box requires me to select "use default Win32 application" every time?

Really ... just for the sake of enlightenment ...

What exactly is prevented by making the user click the box every time?

why does everyone involved in today's computer infrastructure see it as their job to be my mommy?

Please understand that I really do appreciate your (and many other people's) willingness to provide thousands of hours of labor for free in order to make the world a better place, but I'm always amazed when giving the user the option as to how to run his own computer is seen as a risk.

Tuxman
 
Posts: 638
Joined: August 23rd, 2004, 11:53 am

Post Posted April 21st, 2010, 10:57 am

You can't easily "untick" the checkbox, that's why. :)
I would call it a security issue when your Firefox opens any file it is told to open without asking you first. Imagine a website redirecting to malicious code.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest