MozillaZine

GrayModern for Firefox

Discuss application theming and theme development.
aconbere

User avatar
 
Posts: 971
Joined: February 22nd, 2004, 9:07 pm

Post Posted September 28th, 2004, 11:31 am

Anyways, your theme was a big help in getting an updated started, I thought I should thank you.

Anders
(oh and when you do decide to remove it I think though you'll find that doing a search for communicator in a couple documents it's referenced only in browser.css, /bookmarks/bookmarks.css, and those times in contents.rdf. It should be a breeze in comparision to some of the other stuff :) )

Bernie

User avatar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 1:49 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted September 28th, 2004, 1:15 pm

aconbere wrote:Anyways, your theme was a big help in getting an updated started, I thought I should thank you.

You're welcome!

aconbere wrote:I think though you'll find that doing a search for communicator in a couple documents it's referenced only in browser.css, /bookmarks/bookmarks.css, and those times in contents.rdf. It should be a breeze in comparision to some of the other stuff :)

And thank YOU! That information will prove most useful, I'm sure.
Bernie Zimmermann
http://www.bernzilla.com

Karim

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2004, 12:20 am

Post Posted September 30th, 2004, 8:24 pm

Anyone else getting this with new tab button? I'm using 1.0 PR.

Image

Bernie

User avatar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 1:49 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted October 1st, 2004, 8:12 am

Karim wrote:Anyone else getting this with new tab button? I'm using 1.0 PR.

Image

Yeah, I see that. I'll have to work on that alignment for the next release. Thanks for bringing that to my attention, Karim.
Bernie Zimmermann
http://www.bernzilla.com

Karim

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2004, 12:20 am

Post Posted October 1st, 2004, 1:45 pm

No problem man keep up the great work. I love this theme!

Bernie

User avatar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 1:49 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted October 12th, 2004, 9:42 pm

GrayModern 0.6.1 Released

Consider this an incremental release of the GrayModern theme to fix some of the annoyances in the 0.6 release. There was a huge backlash from GrayModern fans who quickly noticed the absence of a usable "Go" button. I've never been one to use the button (I prefer to hit Enter), but I of course respect the wishes of GrayModern users and so this release is mostly for them. Look for it to show up on u.m.o. as soon as the big Mozilla machine churns through another update process.

Fixed/Added in 0.6.1
- Bumped Close Tab button to the left a couple pixels
- Added support for throbber sizing depending on location
- Fixed missing Go button (many complained about this)
- Fixed search bar look when in small icons mode
- Removed the communicator folder to reduce overall package size (down 80 KB)

Planned Fixes/Additions for 0.7
- Make sure prompt icons are showing up correctly
- Possibly update Secure Site Notification icon set
- Fix height of regular buttons
- Make listboxes look more like original GrayModern
- Add open state for autocomplete dropdown marker
- Try to add groove around the URL bar (from Mozilla version)
- Find new icons (or fix old ones) for more consistency
- Make sure print icon shows up in large AND small icons mode
- Add extension support (for the most popular extensions)
- Other requests/suggestions?

Download and Install
Download GrayModern 0.6.1 here.
Install GrayModern 0.6.1 here.
Bernie Zimmermann
http://www.bernzilla.com

oingo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:46 pm

Post Posted October 19th, 2004, 11:11 pm

I wrote a comment on your site about this, but figured I should post something here with pictures for clarity.

I get this weirdness if I toggle fullscreen/window
<img src="http://www.zorpia.com/uds/ad32932146807d6134ec2f4824546478029c5ae1b63fbe1fb2c9376ed022f93a.jpg" border="0" />


or this when I launch Firefox fullscreen using Autohide 0.9.5
<img src="http://www.zorpia.com/uds/a44f412c19f942e4cb7fe107504eea9b8b9be36e18f4e558cb0d823d74ce696f.jpg" border="0" />


The problem happens when I toggle Firefox between fullscreen and normal window. I'm using Autohide 0.9.5 extension to 'fullscreen' my browser.

I hope this is helpful.

GrayModern is great. Keep on at it! Excellent work.

Oingo
Last edited by oingo on October 21st, 2004, 5:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Bernie

User avatar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 1:49 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted October 19th, 2004, 11:43 pm

I'm not sure what's going on in your screenshots, Oingo. I see neither of those two examples using GrayModern 0.6.1 on Windows. Toggling (with F11) seems to work fine and the UI changes as I'd expect it to.

Just out of curiosity, when you move the throbber to the main navigation bar (and not the menu bar) does it fix things at all?

Oh, and because I'm unfamiliar with a lot of the available extensions, can you give me a brief explanation of what functionality the Autohide extension provides?

Thanks for your feedback (and I did see your comment on my blog, but this is the best place for bugs).
Bernie Zimmermann
http://www.bernzilla.com

oingo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:46 pm

Post Posted October 21st, 2004, 1:28 am

Hi Bernie

Moving the throbber seems to have fixed it. Excellent!

You asked about Autohide. The Autohide extension allows you to select the toolbars you want to see in fullscreen mode. It also allows you to launch the browser in fullscreen with only the bars you've specified. In the pics I posted above, I've got menu, navigation and bookmarks bars with no title bar at the top of the screen.

I've since removed the bookmarks bar and stuffed all my bookmarks into the menu bar. All my bars take up less than an inch at the top of my screen. Here's a shot of the Autohide options menu with my current setup:
<img src="http://www.zorpia.com/uds/8a9f7130817c023e02e01d0e245769c98c4a2f4691492774871eab212ca6c496.jpg" alt="" border="0" />
That should give you some idea of what it does. It's for fullscreen freaks. Oh, and it makes GrayModern look very nice indeed (just GrayModern - no 'Windows').

Here's the link to the autohide extension
http://texturizer.net/firefox/extensions/#autohide

Looking forward to 0.7 with the small print button.

Oingo

dbMorris

User avatar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: October 28th, 2004, 10:19 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA.

Post Posted November 1st, 2004, 4:45 pm

Hi Bernie -

Great theme! Two points ...

1) Any chance of getting a FIND toolbar button in the scheme of BACK/REFRESH/etc?

2) Any chance of having official XML graphic be placed in status bar rather than bookmark-group.gif?
(I took liberty of hacking my own to get the XML graphic, but others may find it useful?)

thanks,
<a href="http://www.freewebs.com/dbmorris/systemconfig.htm" target="_blank" class="postlink">My System</a> | <a href="http://www.freewebs.com/dbmorris/firefoxconfig.htm" target="_blank" class="postlink">Firefox Extensions & Plugins</a>

ZipperSeven

User avatar
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:20 pm

Post Posted November 4th, 2004, 5:23 pm

I just installed (upgraded from 1.0 PR) the 1.0 RC that came out on Mozilla's FTP servers a few days ago. I haven't gotten Gray Modern to work with 1.0 RC even though I have 0.6.1 installed. Any chance of a quick fix getting this to work?

Oh, btw Bernie, I have to tell you that it is the default theme I use on all of my machines, and the one that I install when I put Firefox on anybody else's machine (family, friends, the landlord, etc. LOL) Thanks a bunch for creating it.

dbMorris

User avatar
 
Posts: 479
Joined: October 28th, 2004, 10:19 pm
Location: Bay Area, CA.

Post Posted November 4th, 2004, 8:56 pm

ZipperSeven -

You can get the theme to work on all versions of FF by temporarily modifying your app version to 0.90 (using config:setup, filter for app.version, then change app.version value), doing the install, then reverting back the app version to 1.0. I've been using the theme now for several weeks through all the testing just fine.

Bernie - when you get a peek at this board, please let me know about the couple questions I left for you. I've made my own version of your excellent theme to deal with the RSS button, but I sure would love a FIND button!!
<a href="http://www.freewebs.com/dbmorris/systemconfig.htm" target="_blank" class="postlink">My System</a> | <a href="http://www.freewebs.com/dbmorris/firefoxconfig.htm" target="_blank" class="postlink">Firefox Extensions & Plugins</a>

ZipperSeven

User avatar
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:20 pm

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 4:13 pm

Thanks db! I'm at work now (with 1.0 PR so it works just fine,) but I will try when I get home.

blatz

User avatar
 
Posts: 169
Joined: October 7th, 2004, 12:59 am
Location: Germany, Munich

Post Posted November 7th, 2004, 4:45 am

when will the update for *1.0* version come ? it´s still 0.10 version

thx
Firefox: Version 2.0 // Thunderbird: Version 2.0

Bernie

User avatar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: September 10th, 2003, 1:49 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Posted November 9th, 2004, 4:52 pm

GrayModern 0.6.2 Released

This is nothing more than a maxVersion update for users of Firefox 1.0. Look for it to show up on u.m.o. as soon as the big Mozilla machine churns through another update process.

Just as a quick status update, numerous people have contacted me via my blog, this forum or in comments at u.m.o. and I am keeping track of all their issues and requests. They will all be taken into consideration as I plan for the next major point release, 0.7.

Download and Install
Download GrayModern 0.6.2 here.
Install GrayModern 0.6.2 here.
Bernie Zimmermann
http://www.bernzilla.com

Return to Theme Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests