MozillaZine

All flash site no longer working after FF 3.6.4?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
kstrike155
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 26th, 2006, 8:14 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2010, 12:37 pm

I'm having trouble with Flash now, too. I'm behind a corporate firewall/proxy, and since upgrading to 3.6.4 Flash sites no longer work (and they LOCK UP the browser).

If I kill plugin-container.exe at least I can regain control of the browser. Any suggestions? I have reinstalled Flash already.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20782
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted June 23rd, 2010, 12:48 pm

kstrike155 wrote:I'm having trouble with Flash now, too. I'm behind a corporate firewall/proxy, and since upgrading to 3.6.4 Flash sites no longer work (and they LOCK UP the browser).

If I kill plugin-container.exe at least I can regain control of the browser. Any suggestions? I have reinstalled Flash already.

I'm guessing you have no access/control to that firewall?

If that is correct, then I would suggest you type about:config in the addressbar (note, that there are no spaces in that) and search for ipc in the seachbox at the top of the about:config page.

Right click
those top 5 entries and toggle them to the opposite of what they are now, i.e.


Image

dom.ipc.plugins.enabled.npswf32.dll - true becomes...
dom.ipc.plugins.enabled.npswf32.dll - false ...and so on...

That will disable all the container stuff and you should be good to go.

[edit]Please see the addendum.....below.LIMPET235.[/edit]
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

kstrike155
 
Posts: 6
Joined: November 26th, 2006, 8:14 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2010, 1:47 pm

Frank Lion wrote:I'm guessing you have no access/control to that firewall?


Nope. :(

Frank Lion wrote:If that is correct, then I would suggest...


That works beautifully, thank you. I'm not sure why it wouldn't work in the first place, though. From what I can tell the firewall on my actual machine doesn't block applications, only specific ports. And I'm assuming that the plugin-container.exe process still uses the proxy setting assigned in Firefox (and still travels over the standard HTTP(S) ports).

It would be nice to have the sand-boxed plugin processes. :(

burak
Guest
 

Post Posted June 24th, 2010, 8:34 pm

I am from turkey man THANKS your says:)

Andressssssssss
Guest
 

Post Posted June 25th, 2010, 9:10 am

Soy de Chile, gracias !!!!

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 25th, 2010, 9:24 am

Locking before the solution gets lost in a cascade of thanks.

If you do have access to your firewall please see this post: viewtopic.php?p=9528629#p9528629
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39229
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 10th, 2010, 5:01 am

Addendum....

Alice wrote:
Frank Lion wrote: To disable, see here - viewtopic.php?p=9530495#p9530495

Frank, that post says,
search for ipc in the searchbox at the top of the about:config page.
Right click those top 5 entries and toggle them to the opposite of what they are now

To disable plugin-container.exe for all plugins, all 5 dom.ipc.plugins.enabled.* preferences must be set to "false" in about:config ... like this: (Firefox 3.6.6)

Image

The first dom.ipc.plugins.enabled preference is already set to "false", by default. You don't want to set it to "true" since that would enable plugin-container for all other plugins! More information here:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Plugin-container_and_out-of-process_plugins


Thanks Alice.
Locking.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 13 guests