MozillaZine


Moving tab location to bottom

Discussion of features in Seamonkey
videobruce
 
Posts: 272
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted July 30th, 2010, 7:50 am

I can't find any add-on or extension for SeaMonkey to allow moving the Tabs from the top to the bottom like Opera has as standard. I just don't like the tabs on top. They are hard to find, getting buried below the Address/Navigation bar. Having them right about the Task Bar makes more sense anyways.
I know there are a couple of add-ons for Firefox that allowed this. Also a 'Close' button on each tab is also missing as a standard option in either Browser. :(

Or,
is there something in that about.config file that will allow these changes?
Chrome-Dome or any other browser that doesn't even have a Menu Bar (which should be standard for all programs) makes it a poor browser! Stop following M$'s lousy O/S.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20587
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 30th, 2010, 5:32 pm

Close button on tab, you should be able to come up with. I know it's been mentioned here before.

Tabs on bottom, don't recall?
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2578
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted July 31st, 2010, 2:04 am

videobruce wrote:I can't find any add-on or extension for SeaMonkey to allow moving the Tabs from the top to the bottom like Opera has as standard. I just don't like the tabs on top. They are hard to find, getting buried below the Address/Navigation bar. Having them right about the Task Bar makes more sense anyways.

Try http://userstyles.org/ & http://forum.userstyles.org/
videobruce wrote:I know there are a couple of add-ons for Firefox that allowed this. Also a 'Close' button on each tab is also missing as a standard option in either Browser. :(

:-k ... CatThief :: SeaTab X 1.0.5

Image

Without using any extension, you also can close each tab, clicking it with the middle mouse button. :)

Cheers! 8-)
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20210118 SeaMonkey/2.53.6
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20210124 SeaMonkey/2.53.7

videobruce
 
Posts: 272
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted July 31st, 2010, 7:55 am

Ok that SeaTab worked as far as a close button. That also solved the problem of not being able to (easily) tell which tab is active. Two very bad omissions of Mozilla, which have been reasons I haven't used Mozilla, too many standard features (that I use every day, that come standard with Opera) are absent here.

I couldn't find anything from that other link.
Chrome-Dome or any other browser that doesn't even have a Menu Bar (which should be standard for all programs) makes it a poor browser! Stop following M$'s lousy O/S.

Ztruker

User avatar
 
Posts: 1309
Joined: February 27th, 2005, 1:08 pm
Location: Melbourne, Fl

Post Posted July 31st, 2010, 5:56 pm

I use a userChrome.css entry I got from this forum to change the background color of the active tab to ble so it' very easy to spot.

/* Change color of active tab */
tab{-moz-appearance: none !important;}
tab[selected="true"]
{
font-weight: bold !important;
background-color: rgb(100,200,255) !important;
color: white !important;
}
Rich
Do, or do not. There is no try. - Yoda

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20587
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 1st, 2010, 12:04 pm

> I use a userChrome.css entry

+1
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

os1smith
 
Posts: 80
Joined: November 26th, 2004, 12:38 am

Post Posted August 1st, 2010, 6:05 pm

There is an extension called "Colorful Tabs" love that ext. random colors for each tab or site specific colors set in pref. but for your case there is also a pref. setting for fade percent on non active tabs. You could set the fade to 60% or so, so the tab your on would be pretty obvious. Here is the link or just look for Colorful Tabs in the extension library.

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamon ... &advanced=

videobruce
 
Posts: 272
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted August 2nd, 2010, 4:42 am

I'm more interested in the location of the tab bar. That add-on that adds the red 'X' helps somewhat.

I added that script to that chrome.css file, but it didn't take. Neither did a previous entry.
Chrome-Dome or any other browser that doesn't even have a Menu Bar (which should be standard for all programs) makes it a poor browser! Stop following M$'s lousy O/S.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39352
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 2nd, 2010, 5:07 am

Moving to SM Features as per request...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20587
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 2nd, 2010, 12:01 pm

I didn't actually check the code that rich posted.
Mine is slightly different. Though would think that either should work?

Code: Select all
/* Change color of active tab */
tab{
   -moz-appearance: none !important;
}
tab[selected="true"] {
   background-color: rgb(0,153,255) !important;
   color: black !important;
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

videobruce
 
Posts: 272
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted August 3rd, 2010, 4:23 am

Tabs Mix Plus works in Firefox, is there any way one can force installation in SeaMonkey when one of these 'add-ons' won't install??
Chrome-Dome or any other browser that doesn't even have a Menu Bar (which should be standard for all programs) makes it a poor browser! Stop following M$'s lousy O/S.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20587
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 3rd, 2010, 8:32 am

Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

videobruce
 
Posts: 272
Joined: March 25th, 2006, 11:38 am
Location: New York State

Post Posted August 3rd, 2010, 10:26 am

:(
Chrome-Dome or any other browser that doesn't even have a Menu Bar (which should be standard for all programs) makes it a poor browser! Stop following M$'s lousy O/S.

Return to SeaMonkey Features


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest