MozillaZine

Avoid master password when filling in site passwords????

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
johann_p

User avatar
 
Posts: 8479
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 3:05 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Post Posted August 6th, 2004, 2:35 am

I have migrated from the suite to FF and there is one difference in the behavior that gets on my nerves ... extremely annoying: FF wants to know my master password before filling in the first site password of a session. With the suite, there was a way to avoid this (i.e. the master password only protected my email certificates but not my site passwords).

Is there a way to get rid of the master password? My user account and the location of my computer provides enough protection?

I could nowhere find a preference dialog to delete or change the master password ...
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”

sard
 
Posts: 157
Joined: October 13th, 2003, 4:15 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2004, 3:18 am

It's hidden 6 screens deep in Tools > Options > Advanced > Manage Security Devices > Software Security Device > Change Password

johann_p

User avatar
 
Posts: 8479
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 3:05 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Post Posted August 6th, 2004, 7:39 am

Thank you sard ... in my version of FF it is Edit->Preferences->Advanced ... but you got me on the right track! :)
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”

Hamburger
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 7:35 am

Post Posted August 6th, 2004, 8:34 am

Linux changed it to Edit-Preferences. On Windows it's Tools-Options.

ueffchen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 24th, 2004, 6:33 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2004, 6:49 am

What does the master password do?
a) Does it stop using the PWD manager without the master PDW?
b) Does this protect that the signons.txt can simply be copied to another FF profile?

Rgds, Ueffchen

hodges

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: October 11th, 2004, 7:51 am

Post Posted December 1st, 2004, 2:52 pm

> Is there a way to get rid of the master password?

I'm not entirely sure if this will work, but you might try (if yer on windoze) shutting down Firefox, and then renaming..

\Documents and Settings\<user>\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxxxxx.default\key3.db

..to be something like "key3.db.orig" or "!key3.db", and then relaunching FF and seeing if it now behaves as you want -- which seems to be that you want it to in fact use the "save passwords" feature, but to not require a Master Password.

See message #10 in this thread...

master password problem-can I reset it?
http://forums.mozillanews.org/index.php ... readid=435

..for related info.

Hope this helps,

JeffH
=JeffH

davidsilvestri
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 9:14 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2004, 7:42 am

WHAT DO I DO ABOUT GETTING RID OF THE MESSAGHE SAYING MY SERVER HAS REJECTED MY PASSWORD. AND HOW DO I ENABLE JAVASCRIPT? THANKS. DAVEDUDE
davedude

Hamburger
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 7:35 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2004, 8:25 am

davidsilvestri wrote:WHAT DO I DO ABOUT GETTING RID OF THE MESSAGHE SAYING MY SERVER HAS REJECTED MY PASSWORD. AND HOW DO I ENABLE JAVASCRIPT? THANKS. DAVEDUDE

Tools-Options, enable javascript.

davidsilvestri
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 9:14 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2004, 12:52 pm

thanks. it is enabled, but a site still says i do not have javascript enabled. also, still need to know how to solve the problem with message that my server keeps rejecting my password and i cannot find where the password is. any ideas would be appreciated.
davedude

Hamburger
 
Posts: 1138
Joined: May 7th, 2004, 7:35 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2004, 2:14 pm

Most likely the site is useragent sniffing. There are several ways around it. The first method is to first disable Java, and then type about:config in the location bar, right-click- new and then type: MSIE 6.0

ylbissop
 
Posts: 1
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 11:48 pm

Post Posted December 9th, 2004, 12:01 am

hodges wrote:> Is there a way to get rid of the master password?

I'm not entirely sure if this will work, but you might try (if yer on windoze) shutting down Firefox, and then renaming..

\Documents and Settings\<user>\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxxxxx.default\key3.db

..to be something like "key3.db.orig" or "!key3.db", and then relaunching FF and seeing if it now behaves as you want -- which seems to be that you want it to in fact use the "save passwords" feature, but to not require a Master Password.
JeffH


on mac it's users\(your account)\Library\Aplication support\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxxxxx.default\key3.db
and it has worked a charm for me so far thanks!

spelo5967
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 15th, 2005, 4:51 pm
Location: Longmont, CO USA

Post Posted April 16th, 2005, 6:40 pm

OK, I have tried changing my password for the Software Security Device, which said it was successful and I was "logged in" and I also tried changing the name of the key3.db file, but that only got it to stop prompting me for the Master Password, but still automatically throwing up an error box saying my password is invalid. This happens every time I launch FF or even just open a new window and it's getting very annoying. I have no use for a Master Password and would like to just turn the damn thing off. Any more suggestions?

WinLin

User avatar
 
Posts: 1230
Joined: June 19th, 2004, 2:47 am
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Post Posted April 17th, 2005, 4:29 am

Rename both key3.db and signons.txt, the two files work together.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7.8)
Gecko/20050511 Firefox/1.0.4 (MOOX M3)
-----------------
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.7)
Gecko/20050421 Firefox/1.0.3 (Debian package 1.0.3-2)

spelo5967
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 15th, 2005, 4:51 pm
Location: Longmont, CO USA

Post Posted April 18th, 2005, 1:12 am

And where would I find signons.txt? I just searched my harddrive for the file and it's not coming up. I know it's not in the same folder as key3.db, so I'm at a loss...

spelo5967
 
Posts: 14
Joined: April 15th, 2005, 4:51 pm
Location: Longmont, CO USA

Post Posted April 18th, 2005, 1:15 am

Oh BTW, I finally bit the bullet and just got rid of the Master Password by resetting it, but I'm still getting the error box about the "invalid password", so the situation is unchanged, really.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests