Can't access Amazon account page

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
User avatar
ChefChaudart
Posts: 526
Joined: March 3rd, 2004, 12:43 pm
Location: Belgium

Can't access Amazon account page

Post by ChefChaudart »

Since today, when I want to access my account details on Amazon, I got the following error message "Firefox and www.amazon.fr cannot communicate securely because they have no common encryption algorithms."

I use Agent Switcher to works around this issue...

Who does the mistake ? Amazon or Firefox ?
Do not forget Liu Xiaobo
User avatar
rtmjr50
Posts: 6318
Joined: August 2nd, 2004, 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Re: Can't access Amazon account page

Post by rtmjr50 »

ChefChaudart wrote:Since today, when I want to access my account details on Amazon, I got the following error message "Firefox and www.amazon.fr cannot communicate securely because they have no common encryption algorithms."

I use Agent Switcher to works around this issue...

Who does the mistake ? Amazon or Firefox ?


What browser are you telling amazon that you are??? firefox or someother? and why??

later, Richard
Rule #1: My computer is always right, the human is always the problem .. RULE #2: See Rule #1
using Win XP/SP2 (home) FF1.5.0.9 FF2.0.0.1 FF3a1 Tbird1.5.0.9 ==> Press for More Answers <==
No colours in sig please.
User avatar
Athropos
Posts: 238
Joined: October 17th, 2003, 11:04 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Athropos »

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041019 Firefox/1.0

I just got the same problem, I wanted to buy an album and got exactly the same error. I had to use IE to buy it, my night will be full of nightmares :(
More seriously, I also use amazon.fr (not .com), and I did not find anything about this on bugzilla...
Feanor
Posts: 1
Joined: October 20th, 2004, 3:46 pm

Post by Feanor »

Same here, amazon.co.uk, Firefox 1.0PR1, suddenly stopped workng tonight, won't even let me access the site at all :(
User avatar
Athropos
Posts: 238
Joined: October 17th, 2003, 11:04 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Athropos »

Should we file a bug about this?
User avatar
groov
Posts: 50
Joined: January 23rd, 2004, 4:24 pm

Post by groov »

I can access the secure part of Amazon.co.uk to view my orders, using Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20041002 Firefox/0.10.
User avatar
Athropos
Posts: 238
Joined: October 17th, 2003, 11:04 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Athropos »

#265419

I tried with 20041018 and it works. It happened with 19 or 20...
User avatar
Vectorspace
Moderator
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Contact:

Post by Vectorspace »

Tools>Options>Advanced>Validation
Enable OCSP
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0
User avatar
ChefChaudart
Posts: 526
Joined: March 3rd, 2004, 12:43 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by ChefChaudart »

Bingo !
Do not forget Liu Xiaobo
gerai
Posts: 1
Joined: October 21st, 2004, 9:17 am

Post by gerai »

HEY!

Has this got anything to do with my not being able to listen to the music offered by my club, BMG?? You can sample before you buy..my Windows Media Player "cannot read." Any suggestions??

Lost in Rocky Face
User avatar
Athropos
Posts: 238
Joined: October 17th, 2003, 11:04 am
Location: Lausanne, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Athropos »

Was this added recently? I never got this error before...
User avatar
Vectorspace
Moderator
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Contact:

Post by Vectorspace »

gerai wrote:Has this got anything to do with my not being able to listen to the music offered by my club, BMG?? You can sample before you buy..my Windows Media Player "cannot read." Any suggestions??


I doubt it, but give the link to the page and we'll see.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0
User avatar
blatz
Posts: 169
Joined: October 7th, 2004, 12:59 am
Location: Germany, Munich

Post by blatz »

On www.ebay.de nothing works with LOGIN !

With enabled OCSP or disabled ??
Firefox: Version 2.0 // Thunderbird: Version 2.0
Wotan
Posts: 3
Joined: October 22nd, 2004, 11:59 am

Post by Wotan »

I have had the same problem.

Did a fresh install it was OK. Then it kept refusing though not all the time.

I ran the starforce remover tool and everything is now fine.
User avatar
blatz
Posts: 169
Joined: October 7th, 2004, 12:59 am
Location: Germany, Munich

Post by blatz »

Made always fresh installs with the newest nightlys, did you made a fresh profile too ?
Firefox: Version 2.0 // Thunderbird: Version 2.0
Post Reply