MozillaZine

Is there any extension to get the find dialog back?

Talk about add-ons and extension development.
d13f00l
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 20th, 2004, 4:20 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2004, 4:22 pm

I really dislike the new find toolbar. Is there any way/extension to put it in a window instead of a toolbar? Thanks.

TalynOne
 
Posts: 11
Joined: June 23rd, 2004, 9:18 pm

Post Posted October 20th, 2004, 11:07 pm

Seconding this request.

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted October 21st, 2004, 12:54 am

Perhaps the Find option in the rightclick menu is something for you? It uses the little window.
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=117678

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted October 21st, 2004, 1:19 pm

There are a couple find extensions, I think.

d13f00l
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 20th, 2004, 4:20 pm

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 2:02 am

No, I'm looking to completly overwrite the new find toolbar, with the keyboard shortcuts as well. I don't see any extensions for it, yet. :(

Hekx

User avatar
 
Posts: 37
Joined: October 13th, 2003, 4:49 pm

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 10:19 am

Hopefully 1.0 will feature a choice in toolbar or dialog box.
I never had any problems with the latter, so I don't see why it was removed.
hekx.ed

mai9

User avatar
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 12:13 pm

I hope to regain the password dialog aswell :cry:

Hekx wrote:Hopefully 1.0 will feature a choice in toolbar or dialog box.
I never had any problems with the latter, so I don't see why it was removed.

it was removed for the same reason the password dialog was, because they don't want nag dialogs prompting the user. iirc Ben was also against the prompt that happens if you try to close firefox with more than one tab, but at the end that prompt was added.

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 1:30 pm

mai9 wrote:I hope to regain the password dialog aswell :cry:

Hekx wrote:Hopefully 1.0 will feature a choice in toolbar or dialog box.
I never had any problems with the latter, so I don't see why it was removed.

it was removed for the same reason the password dialog was, because they don't want nag dialogs prompting the user. iirc Ben was also against the prompt that happens if you try to close firefox with more than one tab, but at the end that prompt was added.


Actually, it was gone for quite a while, then added back in later.

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13671
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 1:56 pm

Dialogs to avoid dataloss (accidentally closing a browser with multiple tabs) aren't really in the same category as dialogs that stop you changing tab or clicking on other buttons within the window. I can't think of many people who want applications to interfere with their actions, but similarly, hardly any applications will allow you to exit with unsaved progress, and that's a good thing.

mai9

User avatar
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: January 15th, 2003, 3:41 pm
Location: Barcelona

Post Posted November 5th, 2004, 6:26 pm

sasquatch wrote:
mai9 wrote:I hope to regain the password dialog aswell :cry:

Hekx wrote:Hopefully 1.0 will feature a choice in toolbar or dialog box.
I never had any problems with the latter, so I don't see why it was removed.

it was removed for the same reason the password dialog was, because they don't want nag dialogs prompting the user. iirc Ben was also against the prompt that happens if you try to close firefox with more than one tab, but at the end that prompt was added.


Actually, it was gone for quite a while, then added back in later.

which dialog are you talking about? and when was it gone and then added back? because I don't recall this :-k

red_avni
 
Posts: 21
Joined: August 12th, 2004, 7:17 am

Post Posted November 7th, 2004, 5:02 pm

A lot of people asking about this, so I did a compare on browser.js and browser.xul for .9.3 and the 1104 aviary build. This is all that needs to be changed to enable to find dialog again. I'm entirely too lazy to create an extension though.


Change these [lines] in browser.xul...
Code: Select all
[37]   <script type="application/x-javascript" src="chrome://global/content/findBar.js"/>
[141]  <command id="cmd_find" oncommand="onFindCmd();"/>
[142]  <command id="cmd_findAgain" oncommand="onFindAgainCmd();"/>
[143]  <command id="cmd_findPrevious" oncommand="onFindPreviousCmd();"/>   


...to this, and add the stringbundle tag on line 57.
Code: Select all
[37]   <script type="application/x-javascript" src="chrome://global/content/findUtils.js"/>
[57]   <stringbundle id="findBundle" src="chrome://global/locale/finddialog.properties"/>
[141]  <command id="cmd_find" oncommand="getBrowser().find();"/>
[142]  <command id="cmd_findAgain" oncommand="getBrowser().findAgain();"/>
[143]  <command id="cmd_findPrevious" oncommand="getBrowser().findPrevious();"/>


In brower.js delete initFindBar() on line 665, and voila...the find dialog is back.

gorgias
 
Posts: 226
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 4:03 pm
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 7th, 2004, 5:18 pm

I think that will break find as you type. Fayt seems to depend on the toolbar code :(

d13f00l
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 20th, 2004, 4:20 pm

Post Posted December 9th, 2004, 4:05 am

red_avni wrote:A lot of people asking about this, so I did a compare on browser.js and browser.xul for .9.3 and the 1104 aviary build. This is all that needs to be changed to enable to find dialog again. I'm entirely too lazy to create an extension though.


Change these [lines] in browser.xul...
Code: Select all
[37]   <script type="application/x-javascript" src="chrome://global/content/findBar.js"/>
[141]  <command id="cmd_find" oncommand="onFindCmd();"/>
[142]  <command id="cmd_findAgain" oncommand="onFindAgainCmd();"/>
[143]  <command id="cmd_findPrevious" oncommand="onFindPreviousCmd();"/>   


...to this, and add the stringbundle tag on line 57.
Code: Select all
[37]   <script type="application/x-javascript" src="chrome://global/content/findUtils.js"/>
[57]   <stringbundle id="findBundle" src="chrome://global/locale/finddialog.properties"/>
[141]  <command id="cmd_find" oncommand="getBrowser().find();"/>
[142]  <command id="cmd_findAgain" oncommand="getBrowser().findAgain();"/>
[143]  <command id="cmd_findPrevious" oncommand="getBrowser().findPrevious();"/>


In brower.js delete initFindBar() on line 665, and voila...the find dialog is back.


Awesome, thanks.

Unarmed
 
Posts: 4941
Joined: July 31st, 2003, 1:26 pm

Post Posted February 8th, 2005, 8:41 pm

Bumping this ancient thread with an extension.

Retro Find 1.0 implements the diffs that red_avni found. My first attempt at writing an extension, but tested and working under Firefox 1.0.

idbehold

User avatar
 
Posts: 476
Joined: August 7th, 2004, 10:45 pm

Post Posted February 8th, 2005, 11:30 pm

Unarmed wrote:Bumping this ancient thread with an extension.

Retro Find 1.0 implements the diffs that red_avni found. My first attempt at writing an extension, but tested and working under Firefox 1.0.

HOLY SH!T I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, You put all mozilla devs to shame with your extension alone. This has to be the best thing since sliced bread, I LOVE YOU!
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; Intel Mac OS X 10.5; en-US; rv:1.9.1b1pre) Gecko/20080911020314 Minefield/3.1b1pre

Return to Extension Development


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests