MozillaZine

Can't connect using Firebird 0.6

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
rcmoore
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 3rd, 2003, 7:51 pm

Post Posted August 3rd, 2003, 7:56 pm

Hopefully someone can help out with a new install...

Every URL I enter gives me "The Conecction was refused when attempting to contact ....". I'm on a standalone pc with a modem that's already connected to my ISP. Using tools/options/connection I have "direct connection to the internet" selected. No problem with IE (other than the obvious). Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks,
Russ

scratch

User avatar
 
Posts: 4942
Joined: November 6th, 2002, 1:27 am
Location: Massachusetts

Post Posted August 3rd, 2003, 9:26 pm

is IE set to use a proxy? if so, try copying those proxy settings.

mendoza

User avatar
 
Posts: 53
Joined: August 3rd, 2003, 10:52 pm

Post Posted August 3rd, 2003, 10:55 pm

I have the same problem and IE is not set to use a proxy.....

rcmoore
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 3rd, 2003, 7:51 pm

Post Posted August 4th, 2003, 9:31 am

No, IE doesn't have a proxy defined. I also installed the full Mozilla product (1.4) and it does the same thing. Win2K and it makes absolutely no sense to me. I get the 'Connection Refused..." for every URL including the pre-installed quick links like help & FAQ. It looks great and exactly what I had hoped for when I installed it. But it doesn't look like it's useable in my environment. I only wish I knew what it is that's making mine different from those where it actually works...

Thanks again..

Hendikins

User avatar
 
Posts: 26
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm
Location: On a train

Post Posted August 4th, 2003, 9:34 am

Are you using any firewall software?

rcmoore
 
Posts: 3
Joined: August 3rd, 2003, 7:51 pm

Post Posted August 4th, 2003, 9:48 am

No. No firewall s-ware at all. I can have 50 instances of IE and all will 'connect' fine. Even if I close everything and restart Firebird/Mozilla as the only app, the same message appears.

alted2
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 7th, 2003, 11:39 pm

Post Posted August 7th, 2003, 11:43 pm

Have you ever installed a firewall? I had the exact same problem and I thought I had disabled my firewall but when I uninstalled my firewall Firebird worked fine.

mendoza

User avatar
 
Posts: 53
Joined: August 3rd, 2003, 10:52 pm

Post Posted August 8th, 2003, 1:14 am

I found out the solution for me : it was my mail client (foxmail) which needed to be patched to not change my connection settings.

daihard
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 16633
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 6:27 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Post Posted August 8th, 2003, 1:44 am

mendoza wrote:I found out the solution for me : it was my mail client (foxmail) which needed to be patched to not change my connection settings.

Don't you hate it when a third-party application changes something so essential without even letting you know? :2gunfire:
Kubuntu 8.04 (kernel 2.6.24-25-generic) / KDE 3.5.10
CentOS 4.8 (kernel 2.6.9-78.0.22.ELsmp) / KDE 3.5.10
Mac OS X 10.6.1 (Snow Leopard) / iPhone 3GS (32GB black)

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests