MozillaZine

The Official Win32 20041216 [Trunk] build is out.

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Peter(6)

User avatar
 
Posts: 13011
Joined: September 4th, 2003, 1:26 am
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 9:46 am

Special bug # 253831 to report popups that aren't blocked by Firefox popup blocker

The Official Win32 ..... builds are out , RSS feed.
IRC channels: #Firefox || #Spreadfirefox

The Official Win32 2004-12-16 [Trunk] is out.

The previous Official Win32 build was Firefox 1.0 final. || 2004-12-15 Trunk
The latest nightly general directories: Official Trunk || Unofficial Branch/Trunk

Last update: 2004-12-16 -- 08:10 PST = 16:10 UTC (all checkins since the latest nightly included)

BEAST Tinderbox build
Trunk Tinderbox || Bonsai

Fixes: OS in []
  1. #151249[Core]-Middle click on link does nothing on Mac OS X [Mac]
  2. #192139[Core]-Integrate latest Expat [All]
  3. #240070[Core]-Add nsIContentPolicy <> nsIPermissionManager general glue [All]
  4. #244619[Core]-Mozilla crashes during object.eval() with the variable declaration [@ Variables ] [All]
  5. #265333[Core]-Freeze nsIWebBrowserStream [All]
  6. #271473[Firefox]-decouple services on update.mozilla.org [All]
  7. #272927[Firefox]-update MPL-1.1.html (from bug 122951) [All]
  8. #273810[Core]-Support schema="#mySchema" [All]
  9. #274086[Core]-nsStringAPI.h has unused variables in with non-debug builds [Lin]
  10. #274471[Firefox:Help]-Help docs illegible with user background because text color is hardcoded [All]
  11. #274679[Core]-nsHashPropertyBag asserts if enumerated before a property is added [Lin]

Patched but not completely fixed:
  1. #134105[Core]-SOCKS5: DNS lookups should occur on proxy, not client side. [Win]
  2. #244470[Core]-crash on trying to load this page. give an error for "ntdll.dll" [@ js_Interpret] [All]
  3. #270248[Core]-Cleanup string usage in wallet code [All]
  4. #273336[Firefox]-Make all symbols have hidden visibility by default [Lin]

Regressions/confirmed/annoying bugs:
Make sure you vote for bugs that you suffer from.
Do NOT vote for bugs you don't see on your system.

  1. #174734[Firefox]-Links starting with non-English characters in name do not show up in bookmarks [Win]
  2. #201307[Core]-slow scrolling in pages with position:fixed elements [All]
  3. #233625[Firefox]-Uninstalling deleted non-Firefox folders (after installing to C:\Program Files\) [Win]
  4. #241864[Core]-M18a2 Crash after trying to save page and visiting other url or reload current url - [@ ntdll.dll - ???] [@nsCOMPtr<nsIURI>::assign_assuming_AddRef] [Win]
  5. #242134[Firefox]-print page setup headers and footers are not remembered [All]
  6. #244470[Core]-crash on trying to load this page. give an error for "ntdll.dll" [@ js_Interpret] [All]
  7. #247427[Firefox]-"pluginreg.dat" & "registry.dat" should be stored in %APPDATA%/Mozilla/Firefox [All]
  8. #252371[Firefox]-incremental find/search in page does not find/highlight text in textarea/form/text entry boxes [All]
  9. #253979[Core]-crash on geocities.com/killianrotc/ [@ nsEntryStack::Pop() ] [All]
  10. #255637[Firefox]-Easier way needed to create Live Bookmarks from < a > links to feeds [All].
    (Workaround "Rightclick Add Live bookmark" extension).
  11. #255855[Firefox]-[trunk] The dialog that opens when clicking a link to an .exe file has no radio button selected by default. This leads to a useless download! [Win]
  12. #258543[Firefox]-Disabling Form Fill Prevents Selecting Identities On Sites With Multiple Saved Logins [Win]
  13. #260951[Firefox]- Go menu doesn't display recent page history until second opening [All]
  14. #269259[Firefox]-When upgrading an extension, <em:optionsURL> is retained despite its absence in the upgraded extension's install.rdf [All]
  15. #269566[Core]-Crash after 2 or 3 reloads [@ nsCachedStyleData::GetStyleData] [All]
  16. #274899[Firefox]-Tabs get locked after visiting the site. [Win]
  17. #272985[Firefox aviary-landing]-Migration buttons don't function and are missing their text [Win]
  18. #273423[Firefox aviary-landing]-Can't install themes [Win]en-US version only
  19. #273466[Firefox aviary-landing]-Can't drag favicon from url bar into bookmark sidebar to create bookmark [Win]
  20. #273785[Firefox aviary-landing]-plugins are not automatically scanned/detected on startup,unless you have opened about:plugins once [All]
  21. #274903[Firefox aviary-landing]-Can't print using installer builds [Win]
(* #000000 - means it either does not have a bugnumber or is a large group of bugnumbers)

Planned Milestones: Firefox 1.1 (Mar 2005), 1.5 (mid 2005), 2.0 (late 2005).
Trunk Fixes since (sort of) Firefox 1.0 20041109 = 287
Aviary-landing bugs18
Last edited by Peter(6) on December 16th, 2004, 9:10 am, edited 13 times in total.
nightly build threads 20040225 (FF 0.8.0+) - 20120331 (FF14a)

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 10:08 am

Anyone know what Expat is used for in ff?

willem@moz
 
Posts: 258
Joined: June 23rd, 2004, 6:05 am
Location: belgium

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 10:12 am

I downloadad the dec.13 trunk build today.

It feels, IMHO, better than the official version.

Now, lets find the bugs.
The end-user is NEVER wrong, does not make any mistakes.
The programmer allows mistakes.

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 10:20 am

Yeah, finally the checked in the fix for bug #151249 [Core]-Middle click on link does nothing on Mac OS X [Mac]
I use a single button mouse myself, but I know a lot of users who will enjoy this... ;)

jmontana
 
Posts: 558
Joined: March 14th, 2003, 1:36 pm
Location: RI

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 10:32 am

chob wrote:Anyone know what Expat is used for in ff?


<a href="http://expat.sourceforge.net/">Expat</a> is the XML parser.

supernova_00
 
Posts: 4832
Joined: June 24th, 2004, 8:03 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 11:16 am

so whats this do for us? i read that page but still have no clue of its use.

xal

User avatar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: September 16th, 2004, 5:52 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 12:07 pm

hi, can anyone confirm this with the latest nightly (2004-12-15):
Having two tabs open:
Open any web page on the first one(i used google)
On the second tab open this link
try closing the second tab and voila! all tabs dissapear, and you seem locked. Refreshing doesn't work, typing another url doesn't work either...
The only thing i could do in order to be able to see the previous tab, or any other url was opening a new tab.
If you have more than one tab open, then the tab bar still shows, but clicking on the tabs does nothing... you're still stuck in a gray window until you open a new tab.

Thanks!

Edit:
By the way, i tried this on FF 1.0 and it works fine
xal

0live
 
Posts: 799
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 7:28 am
Location: Brussels

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 12:28 pm

^ WFM

For the record 20041214 is evil! It 'randomly' crashed 3 times this afternoon (first crashes since I switched to 1.0+) and after middle-clicking any link there was a 2-3 seconds delay at 100% cpu load before the new tab appeared. So far 20041215 is looking OK with regard to this -)
Linux i686 (ubuntu-gutsy) | Minefield (20081118020400) | Tb 2.0.0.17pre (2008092517) w/ Lightning

xal

User avatar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: September 16th, 2004, 5:52 pm
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 12:41 pm

did you wait for the page to fully load and watch the page?
i tried doing it once without looking at the tab and it worked fine... the problem appears when the page is fully loaded and you close it from within that tab.
xal

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 1:01 pm

xal > i get the same as you

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.8a6) Gecko/20041215 Firefox/1.0+

had two tabs open, opened your link in the third, let it load all the way, right clicked on the tab and chose 'close tab' and the other two tabs remained present, but had no content (grey screen) and clicking on them made nothing happen. bizarre.

0live
 
Posts: 799
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 7:28 am
Location: Brussels

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 1:02 pm

Hmm indeed I can reproduce with a new profile (not with the old 0.9+ branch profile though)
1- lauch ff / new profile
2- file>new tab
3- visit http://www.cnn.com/money/2004/12/14/tec ... /index.htm within this second tab
4- close tab

EDIT: just checked through the 3 latest builds I've used
20041214: problem
20041212: problem
20041208: ok
Linux i686 (ubuntu-gutsy) | Minefield (20081118020400) | Tb 2.0.0.17pre (2008092517) w/ Lightning

BoxerBoi76
 
Posts: 631
Joined: September 15th, 2004, 7:59 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 1:25 pm

xal wrote:hi, can anyone confirm this with the latest nightly (2004-12-15):
Having two tabs open:
Open any web page on the first one(i used google)
On the second tab open this link
try closing the second tab and voila! all tabs dissapear, and you seem locked. Refreshing doesn't work, typing another url doesn't work either...
The only thing i could do in order to be able to see the previous tab, or any other url was opening a new tab.
If you have more than one tab open, then the tab bar still shows, but clicking on the tabs does nothing... you're still stuck in a gray window until you open a new tab.

I can reproduce the same issue using:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8a6) Gecko/20041215 Firefox/1.0+

NO Extensions; NEW Profile;

I've also noticed that I can click on the "Open a new tab" button on the toolbar and get the page I was viewing before I opened the link above in a new tab. I also had a HUGE (I mean about twenty "valid" options to choose from) "right-click" context menu when I right clicked on the link above AFTER I experiencd this issue!!!

BoxerBoi76

chob
 
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 1:32 pm

Could this be an adblocking iFrame problem? I use the adblocking usercontent.css addition to block ads.

jmontana
 
Posts: 558
Joined: March 14th, 2003, 1:36 pm
Location: RI

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 1:35 pm

supernova_00 wrote:so whats this do for us? i read that page but still have no clue of its use.


<a href="http://www.xml.com/pub/a/1999/09/expat/index.html">http://www.xml.com/pub/a/1999/09/expat/index.html</a>

From that page:

"Expat is a library, written in C, for parsing XML documents. It's the underlying XML parser for the open source Mozilla project ..."

0live
 
Posts: 799
Joined: June 15th, 2004, 7:28 am
Location: Brussels

Post Posted December 15th, 2004, 2:01 pm

we have an alleged culprit
- 20041210 has the tab bug, which makes it crash consistently
TB2567807Z
AppName: firefox.exe AppVer: 1.0.0.0 ModName: js3250.dll
ModVer: 4.0.0.0 Offset: 0001ae2b
- same for 20041209
- 20041208 is ok

>> Looks to me like js3250.dll has been altered since dec9
<a href="http://users.skynet.be/bk319871/forums/20041208-trunk-js3250.zip">here's the working one</a>
note it's 338,008 bytes whereas today's one is 338,520 bytes
Linux i686 (ubuntu-gutsy) | Minefield (20081118020400) | Tb 2.0.0.17pre (2008092517) w/ Lightning

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests