Unofficial Win32 2003-08-24 optimised for Pentium 4 w/SSE2

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Unofficial Win32 2003-08-24 optimised for Pentium 4 w/SSE2

Post by aebrahim »

I built Mozilla Firebird today from CVS with MSVC++ .NET 2003 using some optimisations for Pentium 4 as well as SSE2 optimisations. This build is not 100% identical to CVS, because I've changed a few lines in mozilla/configure.in and mozilla/configure, and I've also changed a few makefiles. I've also applied a somewhat dirty trick with my VS.NET 2003 install, where I'm using some libraries from VS.NET 2002. However, it's using the VS.NET 2003 compilers and linkers, so it should fully benefit from the new optimisations. I've posted the build here:

http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... 7-SSE2.zip (6.08MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... 7-SSE2.exe (4.76MB - 7z sfx)

This build will work on Pentium 4, Pentium M and Celeron 1.7 GHz and above systems ONLY.

You can find a copy of these builds (and my older builds) on pryan's mirror:
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim
(I only have space for my latest builds on my webspace, so for older ones you will have to check the mirror. Thanks to pryan!)

My .mozconfig is as follows:

export MOZ_PHOENIX=1
mk_add_options MOZ_PHOENIX=1
ac_add_options --enable-crypto
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-mailnews
ac_add_options --disable-composer
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="-O1 -G7 -arch:SSE2"
ac_add_options --disable-ldap
ac_add_options --enable-extensions=cookie,xml-rpc,xmlextras,p3p,pref,transformiix,universalchardet,typeaheadfind,webservices
ac_add_options --enable-static
ac_add_options --disable-shared

I've included a copy of my .mozconfig in the build folder itself. For more on what the O1 and G7 switches do see this link:
http://www.msdnaa.net/Resources/display.aspx?ResID=1972
Dunderklumpen
Posts: 16224
Joined: March 9th, 2003, 8:12 am

Post by Dunderklumpen »

Oh yes...my daily Firebird fix is here....

Downloading....

EDIT:

Fast, stable - as most previous builds.
Smoth wheel, web developer and chrome edit extensions working ok.
Java - working ok

I have found no other issues that the ones reported earlier (bugs).
Maybe the yellow color have been there before - in Tools/Options. I think it´s an improvement to the UI.
Last edited by Dunderklumpen on August 24th, 2003, 3:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

downloading...
gonna check if AIO is still broken in this build
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

Nope AIo Is still broken :(, so gonna wait for the next build...
User avatar
Skatz[i]
Posts: 64
Joined: July 18th, 2003, 1:30 pm
Location: Good ol' Germany
Contact:

Post by Skatz[i] »

Downloaded, Installed...

Works gr8 so far - I only wish that there will be good themes for the newest nightlies :)
Thinkin about Phoenity ^^
But gr8 build - thx

-Skatz
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.5) Gecko/20030919 Firebird/0.7
old momokatte
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by old momokatte »

sboulema wrote:Nope AIo Is still broken :(, so gonna wait for the next build...

AiO will continue to be broken until it is updated. It's referencing a file that is no longer used by Firebird:

chrome://global-platform/locale/platformDialogOverlay.dtd
sboulema
Posts: 6615
Joined: May 20th, 2003, 12:34 am
Location: Amstelveen, The Netherlands

Post by sboulema »

hmm i have sent an email to the author talking bout the problem, so i hope he is gonna fix this soon :(
User avatar
Coppertop
Posts: 9
Joined: August 12th, 2003, 5:45 am
Location: Haarlem, NL

Post by Coppertop »

The Tabbrowser Extentions Settings screen won't work in this build. It worked OK in 20030823.
User avatar
lwells
Posts: 33
Joined: August 8th, 2003, 8:12 am
Location: Sydney.Au

Post by lwells »

Still having a problem with no space between the left and middle columns on <a href="http://www.slashdot.org">Slashdot</a>. Can anyone confirm?

Edit: Tried with a fresh profile -- still doesn't display correctly.

Edit 2: Display problem only happens when logged out. Log in as a Slashdot user, and the tables work correctly.

LW.
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

lwells wrote:Still having a problem with no space between the left and middle columns on <a href="http://www.slashdot.org">Slashdot</a>. Can anyone confirm?

Edit: Tried with a fresh profile -- still doesn't display correctly.

Edit 2: Display problem only happens when logged out. Log in as a Slashdot user, and the tables work correctly.

LW.

Sorry, not sure what you're seeing here. Can you be a bit more specific? I tried it both while logged out and logged in, and the column spacing looked the same in both and appeared to be correct. FWIW, I'm running at 1600x1200.
User avatar
lwells
Posts: 33
Joined: August 8th, 2003, 8:12 am
Location: Sydney.Au

Post by lwells »

aebrahim wrote:Sorry, not sure what you're seeing here. Can you be a bit more specific? I tried it both while logged out and logged in, and the column spacing looked the same in both and appeared to be correct. FWIW, I'm running at 1600x1200.


Did you try force-refreshing the main page once logged out? Picture tells a thousand words :)
http://users.bigpond.net.au/lwells/misc ... otprob.png

I am also using 1600x1200.

LW.
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Post by aebrahim »

lwells wrote:
aebrahim wrote:Sorry, not sure what you're seeing here. Can you be a bit more specific? I tried it both while logged out and logged in, and the column spacing looked the same in both and appeared to be correct. FWIW, I'm running at 1600x1200.


Did you try force-refreshing the main page once logged out? Picture tells a thousand words :)
http://users.bigpond.net.au/lwells/misc ... otprob.png

I am also using 1600x1200.

LW.

I'm not seeing that issue, it displays correctly for me, even after a forced refresh.

FWIW, I have no extensions installed and am using the default theme.
User avatar
lwells
Posts: 33
Joined: August 8th, 2003, 8:12 am
Location: Sydney.Au

Post by lwells »

Bizarre. I am running a stock standard config. No extensions, default themes, even tried a new profile. Wacked... Oh well :)

LW.
User avatar
Paradox52525
Posts: 1219
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 9:13 am
Location: Middle of nowhere
Contact:

Post by Paradox52525 »

Coppertop wrote:The Tabbrowser Extentions Settings screen won't work in this build. It worked OK in 20030823.


Confirmed....very strange.
User avatar
[Cyrus]
Posts: 41
Joined: August 14th, 2003, 11:41 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Contact:

Post by [Cyrus] »

Skatz[i] wrote:Downloaded, Installed...

Works gr8 so far - I only wish that there will be good themes for the newest nightlies :)
Thinkin about Phoenity ^^
But gr8 build - thx

-Skatz


Tested it on my Brother's Win Box, runs fine. :D

The updated Phoenity Theme is availably here: http://home.comcast.net/~dtoyama/firebird/themes.html (thx to daihard)
You need to get the Themer extension to install it.

MfG
[Cyrus]

PS: It's my favorite theme too ;)
:: Debian GNU/Linux 'unstable' || 2.6.4 || P3 666Mhz ::
Post Reply