MozillaZine

[Fx] stipe: 1.0.7/W32 s8v1

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 7th, 2005, 3:26 pm

This was built using Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 2003.

s8v1 : this build is for all processors

This build uses Jairo Boudewyn's icons.

http://pryan.org/firefox/stipe/firefox-107-s8v1.exe
4.70 MB Self-extracting 7-zip archive
Last edited by moole on November 3rd, 2005, 11:10 am, edited 79 times in total.

realgeorge

User avatar
 
Posts: 459
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 7:56 pm

Post Posted February 7th, 2005, 11:27 pm

Stipes, I love this build. It works great on my Win98 P2. It is stable and fast. It has some snap to it in normal browsing, and best of all, IT DOES NOT CRASH at my infamous Java stock chart site http://www.prophet.net/analyze/javachar ... symbol=IBM Thanks a million. One question: Is there anything I could adjust in your optomizations that would allow it to work even faster on my 300MHz P2 on 56k dialup?

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 8th, 2005, 4:06 am

realgeorge wrote:Is there anything I could adjust in your optomizations that would allow it to work even faster on my 300MHz P2 on 56k dialup?

Check the Firefox tuning thread in the Firefox General forum.

realgeorge

User avatar
 
Posts: 459
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 7:56 pm

Post Posted February 8th, 2005, 12:38 pm

stipe wrote:
realgeorge wrote:Is there anything I could adjust in your optomizations that would allow it to work even faster on my 300MHz P2 on 56k dialup?

Check the Firefox tuning thread in the Firefox General forum.
Thanks Stipes. I found exactly what I need in that Firefox Tuning thread in the Firefox General forum which I had missed somehow in my earlier searches for speed tweaks. Thanks again for this teriffic build. It has been trouble free and is now my default browser. EDIT: I just noticed that in the Additional Preferences added to this bulid, there are several network duplications entered at the end of the list. I thought you might want to know.

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 8th, 2005, 1:24 pm

realgeorge wrote:EDIT: I just noticed that in the Additional Preferences added to this bulid, there are several network duplications entered at the end of the list. I thought you might want to know.

I've just noticed.
It can't do any harm. :)

LordDeath

User avatar
 
Posts: 341
Joined: February 4th, 2004, 12:42 pm
Location: Germany

Post Posted February 9th, 2005, 11:21 am

i am not able to switch from your 20050206 trunk build to this aviary build without creating a new profile or what do you think?

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 9th, 2005, 11:48 am

It's recommended to create a new profile when switching from trunk back to aviary.

realgeorge

User avatar
 
Posts: 459
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 7:56 pm

Post Posted February 12th, 2005, 3:14 pm

stipe wrote: I want to make a perfect 1.0.1 build. :)
Do you have any idea yet about how often you will update this build? I`v used it now about 4-6 hours a day since it`s release and it has worked flawlessly on my Win98 300MHz PII. Thanks again. :D

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 12th, 2005, 3:56 pm

realgeorge wrote:
stipe wrote: I want to make a perfect 1.0.1 build. :)
Do you have any idea yet about how often you will update this build? I`v used it now about 4-6 hours a day since it`s release and it has worked flawlessly on my Win98 300MHz PII. Thanks again. :D

I'll probably make one or two more builds of 1.0.1 branch because I think it will soon be closed and it doesn't get many changes per day as trunk.

bcool

User avatar
 
Posts: 638
Joined: December 27th, 2003, 9:01 am
Location: Ozarks

Post Posted February 13th, 2005, 8:06 am

Smooth as silk, stipe. My PIII likes it a lot. Family tragedy has kept me away for long time so I'm a little lost. This build is ALL PROCESSORS (no SSE , right?). How does this build seem so fast even without mmoy patches? I'm surprised. Nice. Thanks!
Never let them see you sweat

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 13th, 2005, 8:34 am

bcool wrote:This build is ALL PROCESSORS (no SSE and probably no -02, right?).

This build does not need SSE and it IS compiled with -O2.
I've stopped using mmoy's patches because they seem to slow my build down.

bcool

User avatar
 
Posts: 638
Joined: December 27th, 2003, 9:01 am
Location: Ozarks

Post Posted February 13th, 2005, 10:09 am

Judging by this 2/07 build, the lack of mmoy does not hurt - at least on my machine. mmmm......
Never let them see you sweat

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 15th, 2005, 4:59 am

2005-02-15 1.0.1 build is up

sasquatch
 
Posts: 6022
Joined: November 25th, 2003, 8:56 am

Post Posted February 15th, 2005, 8:49 am

Sounds good. I haven't run a "Stipe build" in a long time. Might try it soon. Any chances of a "matching" Thunderbird build as well?

moole

User avatar
 
Posts: 908
Joined: October 22nd, 2003, 1:27 pm
Location: Split, Croatia

Post Posted February 15th, 2005, 9:37 am

sasquatch wrote:Any chances of a "matching" Thunderbird build as well?

I've already got one 1.0 build on my computer but I haven't uploaded it.
I've built it with official artwork. Would it be legal if I were to release that?

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests