MozillaZine

Firefox Double Image Mystery

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 9th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Hi,
Ok, I've been seeing this for the past month or so.

It has nothing to do with my upgrade to 1.0.1 which I just did a couple of hours ago...
(had No problem with the install, used the Auto-Update)

The double image was there on v1.0 as it is now on v1.0.1.

I hope this screen shot of the bottom status bar shows what I'm talking about....
Sometimes there are two blue slide bars (in fact, I see them right now).

<img src="http://home.ripway.com/2003-12/44474/FirefoxDoubleImage.png"/>

***That black area between the blue slide bar and the status bar on the bottom is my Homepage which I was viewing previous to loading this Tab Session (Firefox Support/General).

I just showed the bottom area but, even as I type this I see the same thing on the right
side of Firefox.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Telstar :)

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 9th, 2005, 9:01 pm

Here's what the top of Firefox looks like right now....

Image

sheehan
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: March 30th, 2004, 4:07 pm
Location: Canada

Post Posted March 9th, 2005, 10:28 pm

does the image double when using the default theme? it could just be the theme that needs upgrading or fixing.
and on a side note: please do not use an animated avatar. No problem with the flag, but the animation is against forum rules.

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 9th, 2005, 11:39 pm

sheehan wrote:does the image double when using the default theme? it could just be the theme that needs upgrading or fixing.

Yep, same thing with the Default theme as you can see here...

Image

I use Silver Skin 2.6.4 (for Firefox 1.0.1) which I just updated from the 2.6.3 (for Firefox 1.0)
after the 1.0.1 upgrade but I get the same double image with either one.

I also use the Almost Full Screen 0.10 Extension but I seem to get the double image
whether it's enabled Full Screen or not.

Telstar

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25492
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 12:18 am

Just a thought.. What graphics card do you have?

I have seen display bugs with certain Matrox cards and TNT2 for example.

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 12:26 am

James wrote:Just a thought.. What graphics card do you have?


NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400

It's the original one that came with my Dell 4400.
I have the Drivers updated to the latest.

I wonder if I should just reinstall Firefox?
I hate to open that can of worms if I don't have to though.

Thanks for your input James

Telstar

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3548
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 12:39 am

And with a new profile you get the same result?

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 1:13 am

Ria wrote:And with a new profile you get the same result?

An interesting question that I was wondering about also....

Ok, I just created a new Profile using the Profile Manager.

If I now try to enable the new Profile won't it contain/copy
the same error that is causing the double image?

Telstar

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3548
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 1:47 am

I really don't know if it is the profile itself that has gotten corrupted, or a problem with an extension, or a line in prefs.js.
You should find that out, if you find the problem ennoying enough :)

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 2:04 am

jrzycrim wrote:You could try booting in safe mode. If the problem doesn't show up, then that would indicate a profile problem:

Create a new profile:


If the problem still exists in safe mode or with a new profile, perhaps reinstalling Firefox would help. Can't be sure though...


Ok here's what I've done....

#1) I created a new Profile using Profile Manager but haven't opened Firefox with it yet.
Still have that question as to whether or not the new Profile might give the same double image result. (Guess I could go ahead and try it but the couple of times I've tried creating a new profile and using it things got messed up a bit).

#2) I just went to Start>All Programs>Mozilla Firefox>Safe Mode
I started Firefox in Safe Mode and during the time I was there I minimized, maximized trying to get the double image but NO double image appeared.

As far as reinstalling Firefox, I suppose I could but am fearful of losing the way I have it set up now with my chosen Extensions, Bookmarks and Theme so I'm hoping for an alternative solution.

Telstar

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3548
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 2:47 am

Perhaps some extensions have been updated in the meantime.

sheehan
 
Posts: 1398
Joined: March 30th, 2004, 4:07 pm
Location: Canada

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 8:29 am

If you are concerned about messing up all of your settings, you'll have to isolate the cause of the problem. To begin with, you can disable all of your extensions, then start re-enabling them one by one until the problem recurs. Then you'll have to figure out whether that extension can be fixed, upgraded or lived without.

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 8:38 am

Ria wrote:Perhaps some extensions have been updated in the meantime.

Right after I Auto-Updated to 1.0.1 I saw the Critical Update red arrow in the upper right area of my Toolbar. It was for an update to TBE.

I then went to Tools>Options>Advanced>Software Update>Check Now
and there NO updates found.

A little while ago I went to Tools>Extensions and went down the list one by one and clicked Update. None of the Extensions indicated that an update was available.

I'm going to look around the Extension rooms e.g. The Extension Mirror, etc and see if there is a special section for 1.0.1 updates.

Thanks for your help,

Telstar

sheehan wrote:If you are concerned about messing up all of your settings, you'll have to isolate the cause of the problem. To begin with, you can disable all of your extensions, then start re-enabling them one by one until the problem recurs. Then you'll have to figure out whether that extension can be fixed, upgraded or lived without.

I was composing this reply when your's came in.
Good idea.
I'll see what I can do using your suggestion.

Thanks

petersjm

User avatar
 
Posts: 385
Joined: February 17th, 2005, 4:42 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 8:43 am

If safe mode is working fine, it would definitely appear to be an extension or theme issue. As Sheehan says above, disable all your extensions, then enable them one at a time until you find out which extension has the problem.
Firefox: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-GB; rv:1.8.0.7) Gecko/20060909 Firefox/1.5.0.7
Thunderbird: version 1.5.0.7 (20060909)

Telstar

User avatar
 
Posts: 542
Joined: March 31st, 2004, 12:01 pm
Location: Oregon USA

Post Posted March 10th, 2005, 8:53 am

petersjm wrote:If safe mode is working fine, it would definitely appear to be an extension or theme issue. As Sheehan says above, disable all your extensions, then enable them one at a time until you find out which extension has the problem.

Ok.
I have about 45 Extensions.
I see that I can right-click>Disable for each one.
(Is there a way to Disable the lot at one time?)

I suppose I would have to restart Firefox for each Enable then.

What about the question of a New Profile.
With the new Profile I made, if I were to use it would it possibly
activate WITHOUT the error causing the double image?
In other words, could it potentially FIX the problem?

Thanks everyone for your input,

Telstar

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests