MozillaZine

Does anyone have anything to say about Firetune

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
RBH

User avatar
 
Posts: 153
Joined: November 11th, 2004, 5:23 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 8:17 am

has any one seen this before?http://www.totalidea.com/freestuff4.htm
Is it any good I'm using it, it seems to help.
RBH

subferno
 
Posts: 292
Joined: June 9th, 2003, 5:35 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 9:04 am

At first, it was telling me that it cant find a profile so I abandoned the program. Just earlier today I downloaded it again and tried it. FireTune finally worked for some reason and it does seem to speed up FireFox.

edit-I didnt realized that I had downloaded their updated version, which fixed the profile problem.
Last edited by subferno on March 20th, 2005, 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Firefox 12
Win 7 Ultimate 64
AMD64 3000+ Gigabyte x800 1.5 gig RAM

Tournier Bob
 
Posts: 39
Joined: December 26th, 2004, 8:46 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 9:43 am

RBH --

I was't particularly excited about making sense out of all the proposed tweaks and editing the profile. Firetune automated the changes and has (as far as I'm concerned) a neat interface. Most importantly, it really does SEEM to speed things up considerably. That's only a subjective judgment but Firefox does feel faster.

Bob

Oscar the Prophet
 
Posts: 788
Joined: March 12th, 2005, 2:05 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 10:38 am

I second the reply of Tournier Bob. Nice and simple and does seem to increase the speed over just a non-tweaked Fire Fox. Does not seem to do evil.

donutbandit
 
Posts: 206
Joined: May 29th, 2003, 9:43 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 11:17 am

Hmmmm... 26.8 seconds before, 23 seconds after. Hardly an earth shaking improvement. BTW, I found their quoted load times excessively long. I am on 56K and 26.8 seconds with the cache cleared is FAR faster than the results they reported.

And it does work on Win9x.

Growler

User avatar
 
Posts: 99
Joined: March 18th, 2005, 7:03 am
Location: UK - Smack bang in the Middle

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 11:22 am

i have it on my laptop with firefox and it has made an improvement

profile wise i only have one and that is the default so no problems there

am on 1.5 meg brodband and i have noticed a difference

N

donutbandit
 
Posts: 206
Joined: May 29th, 2003, 9:43 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 11:28 am

It would possibly cause a greater improvement on those pages that load tons of graphics.

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 11:48 am

These are the changes (fast connection - fast computer):

user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 48 );
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 8 );
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);

Growler

User avatar
 
Posts: 99
Joined: March 18th, 2005, 7:03 am
Location: UK - Smack bang in the Middle

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 12:02 pm

so basically it ups teh connections etc

irs009

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 7:33 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 12:03 pm

It changed my home page, caused all ads to display, even though adblock was enabled. Bad experience. Be sure to backup config before trying. Tweak Network Settings is far superior.
Last edited by irs009 on March 20th, 2005, 12:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Growler

User avatar
 
Posts: 99
Joined: March 18th, 2005, 7:03 am
Location: UK - Smack bang in the Middle

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 12:05 pm

well so far it has been running all day on my comp and no probs like the above

havent changed anything in profiles etc

paulfox
 
Posts: 1510
Joined: May 8th, 2004, 1:38 pm

Post Posted March 20th, 2005, 1:49 pm

I was planning on trying it momentarily, and followed the instructions for "timing with the stopwatch" in preparation. However, I tend to be "skittish" about doing "automated tweaks." If Ria's outlined changes are all it does - why not "about:config" it and do them yourself? What stays in the Firefox/Mozilla folder forever when you download this? Can it then be deleted after changes are made? Are the only changes reflected in your about:config settings and therefore transferred to new FX versions or is this loaded each time?

And all that doesn't address the problems some above had -- I'm excited about speeding up if possible (debating Hosts file thing vs AdBlock or a combination of both as we speak!) - but I'd rather have 1.3 seconds and WORKING than .4 seconds and busted.

What if you already have nglayout.initialpaint.delay set to 0, and there has been much said about maximum connections only being SUPPORTED up to "8," and that 16 or 32 or 625 won't make a difference and could be "bad." With all respect and CREDIT to the developer, everything is outlined in a help file before you load the program so people can decide (as I am with all your help) for themselves.

The pipelining/initial paint delay thing is termed "quick an dirty" by this program, and the additional steps outlined by Ria are apparently as or more important. It's basically that "tweak" article done for you - but there's a world of difference between "fast computer, fast connection" and "slow computer, fast connection." I'm in the middle at 850MHz instead of 1.5GHz - and personally I'll set it at "fast/fast." By setting things manyally you could take the halfway point and "play with it." That's basically my concern - would love more input from others that have used it.
PentiumIII/W2K, Toshiba AMD laptop/Vista. FX 3 on both.

skullmonkey

User avatar
 
Posts: 82
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 2:03 pm

Post Posted March 30th, 2005, 1:42 pm

im doing it manulally so i dont get a virus...


user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
^ ^
^Arnt there^

Ria

User avatar
 
Posts: 3550
Joined: March 21st, 2004, 3:25 am
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted March 30th, 2005, 2:28 pm

You can copy and paste all the prefs into a text editor and save it as user.js in your profile in the same folder as bookmarks.html.
C:\Documents and Settings\you\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\xxxxxxxx.default\user.js

skullmonkey

User avatar
 
Posts: 82
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 2:03 pm

Post Posted March 30th, 2005, 2:36 pm

what does that do?

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests