MozillaZine

Menu Editor 1.2

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
asqueella
 
Posts: 4019
Joined: November 16th, 2003, 3:05 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Post Posted May 11th, 2005, 2:53 pm

See the Menu Editor 1.2.1 thread.



Menu Editor 1.2
[home][forums]

Menu Editor is an extension that allows you to customize the menus in Firefox and Thunderbird.

Authors: velcrospud and me.
Works on: Firefox/Thunderbird 1.0.x and trunk builds.

If you have any issues, please post them here on in the ME forums.


Currently known extension conflicts:
- unable to reliably work with "snapback tab/window" items of SessionSaver (probably will fix after a new version of SS is released)
- Greasemonkey's menu items don't work, although installed scripts are fully functional. Greasemonkey 0.2.3 version that works with ME is available at http://mozilla.doslash.org/stuff/
Last edited by asqueella on July 16th, 2006, 8:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted May 11th, 2005, 9:09 pm

Thank you, guys! - great job! Have no problems with FF and TB. Along with TabMix, this is my favorite extension. Thanks a lot.

Bloodeye
 
Posts: 582
Joined: July 12th, 2004, 7:20 pm

Post Posted May 11th, 2005, 9:25 pm

Just wanted to say thx for the great extension, you guys are awesome! ;)

zachariah

User avatar
 
Posts: 586
Joined: September 30th, 2003, 12:44 pm
Location: Earth

Post Posted May 11th, 2005, 10:39 pm

awesome!

Help MozillaZine: Donate! or Buy Something!

Chris Wood

User avatar
 
Posts: 33
Joined: May 20th, 2004, 3:44 pm
Location: New Zealand

Post Posted May 11th, 2005, 11:45 pm

What's new in 1.2?
Firefox guinea-pig

manc39
Moderator
 
Posts: 2037
Joined: June 17th, 2004, 8:34 am
Location: Manchester, England

Post Posted May 11th, 2005, 11:53 pm

Chris Wood wrote:What's new in 1.2?

http://mozilla.doslash.org/stuff/me-changelog.txt
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1b1) Gecko/20060712 BonEcho/2.0b1

asqueella
 
Posts: 4019
Joined: November 16th, 2003, 3:05 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Post Posted May 12th, 2005, 4:57 am


Worldseye
 
Posts: 118
Joined: March 19th, 2004, 5:50 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2005, 5:52 am

Just wanted to let you know, Add Bookmark Here 0.5.3 still shows a problem with ME, "Add Bookmark Here" menu items are duplicated and appear at the top of the tools menu, for now I've disabled ABH, tried resetting menu data, but the problem persisted.

Thanks

Dan
Dan

ul
 
Posts: 46
Joined: May 14th, 2005, 5:24 am

Post Posted May 15th, 2005, 7:03 am

Awesome. I love this extension. Thanks Devon and Nickolay!

Can you add the ability to edit tab context menus? (So you can remove Reload Tab, Reload All Tabs, Close Other Tabs)

Worldseye
 
Posts: 118
Joined: March 19th, 2004, 5:50 pm

Post Posted May 15th, 2005, 9:00 pm

I second request for tab context menu editing, so I can add SnapBack Tab to it (if possible as it is dynamic)..
Dan

asqueella
 
Posts: 4019
Joined: November 16th, 2003, 3:05 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 3:17 am

ul, Worldseye: I plan to look in implementing that in the next cycle after my exams.

Worldseye: Strange, ABH works for me. Anyways I don't plan on doing any bugfixing at the moment.

jsallo
 
Posts: 69
Joined: May 28th, 2005, 12:19 pm
Location: NJ, USA

Post Posted May 30th, 2005, 12:54 pm

I like this extension... It has lots of potential!

What I'd like to see:

Make the display and editing 'tree-like' (like bookmarks).

This would allow me to open items that appear in folders and create folders to group items properly in cascading menus.

Eg.

Print Image
Print Preview
Print... Ctrl-P

Could be grouped into a folder called "Printing" with a cascade containing these 3 items

asqueella
 
Posts: 4019
Joined: November 16th, 2003, 3:05 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Post Posted May 30th, 2005, 1:13 pm

(see also MenuManipulator. I think it has tree-like editor)

rinscewind

User avatar
 
Posts: 16
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 2:19 pm

Post Posted May 30th, 2005, 1:36 pm

I loved the 1.0 version of Menu Editor, as I could hide and move menu items. When I upgraded to 1.2, I found two things:

1 - I use Dict 0.6.6, as I like the extra window it opens, and other extensions use tabs. With MenuEd 1.2 the context menu entry for Dict is not visible. It is there, usable, and less than half the height of a normal context menu entry, but it is not 'shown'. There is just an extra, small space between the entry above it and the seperator below it. I have a screenshot posted on a geocities page of the small space highlit:

http://www.geocities.com/rinscewind/dict066bug.html

2 - The ability to move items is not there. I liked the ability to move a few often used items to the bottom of the context menu, and now I can't. Is this going to be put back in?
Never criticize a man until you have walked a mile in his shoes. Then go ahead -- you will be a mile away, and will also have his shoes.

ul
 
Posts: 46
Joined: May 14th, 2005, 5:24 am

Post Posted May 30th, 2005, 1:42 pm

Rinscewind, I use 1.2 and the context menu entry for Dict is visible. It's called dict-define-selection, under the Main Context Menu group in Menu Editor. You do have to scroll quite a ways down but it's there. You can also right-click a word and see "Define word".

I can also move menu items by dragging them up and down.

Perhaps you can uninstall 1.2 and reinstall it? Or try 1.2 with a fresh profile?
Last edited by ul on May 30th, 2005, 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest