MozillaZine

[Ext] Adblock Plus 0.5.11.4

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
mcm_ham

User avatar
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:09 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted May 15th, 2005, 4:43 pm

Homepage: http://bene.sitesled.com/adblock.htm
Forums: http://p2.forumforfree.com/adblockplus.html
Trac: https://opensvn.csie.org/traccgi/Adblock/trac.cgi/
Change Log: http://adblockplus.webhop.org/changelog.txt
Locales: en-US, it-IT, ru-RU, de-DE, nl-NL, fr-FR, zh-TW, ja-JP, zh-CN, cs-CZ, hu-HU, es-ES, pt-BR, pl-PL, sk-SK, ko-KR, ro-RO, da-DK


Adblock Plus 0.5.11.4


Notes:
If Firefox stalls for a long time when loading pages or you experience crashes and have the session saver extension installed then try disabling the "Check DIV Elements" preference.

English
http://adblockplus.webhop.org/adblock_p ... _en-US.xpi
Last edited by mcm_ham on June 29th, 2006, 6:31 pm, edited 165 times in total.

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13667
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted May 15th, 2005, 4:57 pm

Whitelisting! You just made my day. I'm guessing this stuff will go into 0.6 official, right? If so, fantastic.

mcm_ham

User avatar
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:09 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted May 15th, 2005, 5:09 pm

I gather whitelisting is planned for the next official release, but importing from URL's I'm not sure. Actually I used code commented out from the 37th nightly to create that hack. They have stated that they will never support automatic synchronization, which hopefully will change, since many people have wanted it to have their networked or multi-user computers have the same filter list.

LordDeath

User avatar
 
Posts: 341
Joined: February 4th, 2004, 12:42 pm
Location: Germany

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 7:01 am

thx for this build.

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 8:52 am

Too bad it only works for Firefox, and not Mozilla...

ArtLonger
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 5th, 2005, 5:31 am
Location: Moscow

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 9:00 am

mcm_ham
It is a pity, that you have removed support Mozilla. Many my friends still work with her.
Somebody can will correct install.js for installation on Mozilla?

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 10:24 am

I tried to just replace the adblock.jar from my profile/chrome folder and got a strange error below the status bar when doing so. Restoring the original adblock.jar fixed that.

mcm_ham

User avatar
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:09 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 2:06 pm

My apologies, I forgot that Mozilla doesn't have the new install system. I will look at adding it back in.
Last edited by mcm_ham on May 16th, 2005, 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

aaron

User avatar
 
Posts: 3130
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 8:49 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 2:11 pm

Thanks :) Just for clarification, the whitelisting system -- does it mean that if I whitelist, say www.cnn.com, that all ads that are normally filtered out from www.cnn.com will now be displayed?

mcm_ham

User avatar
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:09 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 2:22 pm

No it isn't site whitelisting, just that any URL's with say "cnn.com" in them won't be blacklisted by other filters. It seems the main reason people want site whitelisting is to support their favourite website financially for the money they get per advert viewed. In which case I will see what's involved in adding a list of sites where ads are hidden. This means ads are still downloaded earning money for site, but hidden from view unlike remove which prevents them from being downloaded with the added bonus of speeding up browsing.

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13667
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 2:43 pm

What Adblock really needs is to store the elements that are not displayed in an array (i.e. an array of page element pointers) and be able to temporarily allow them (just as we can with popups, and now JavaScript, thanks to NoScript). Adblock is fine for 90% of the time, but occasionally there's an odd page where navigational images are in the folder /banner/ or something and thus are blocked.

mcm_ham

User avatar
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:09 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 3:57 pm

I'm not sure what you're asking for but AdBlock can be enabled/disabled on the fly from the context menu on the status bar txt/icon. Are you wanting to only temporarily disable AdBlock for the site your browsing but for it to continue to work afterwards without having to re-enable? Or from say the blockable-items list click a button an a blocked link and just have that re-enabled temporarily without a page reload?

mcm_ham

User avatar
 
Posts: 1747
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 6:09 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 9:03 pm

http://mcmblog.homedns.org/Firefox/test.xpi
The main extensions have the broken Mozilla install scripts now for someone to try.

Just posting this in case there are any smart people who can solve my problem quicker than I can, probably really simple. When installing on Mozilla the locale chrome doesn't appear to work trying "chrome://adblock/locale/adblock.properties" into the location bar yet the extension installs and entries in "chrome.rdf" appear to be correct.
Last edited by mcm_ham on May 18th, 2005, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BenBasson
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 13667
Joined: February 13th, 2004, 5:49 am
Location: London, UK

Post Posted May 16th, 2005, 11:37 pm

mcm_ham wrote:Or from say the blockable-items list click a button an a blocked link and just have that re-enabled temporarily without a page reload?

Yep, that's what I mean. See the popup blocking status-bar icon and menu for reference.

ArtLonger
 
Posts: 7
Joined: May 5th, 2005, 5:31 am
Location: Moscow

Post Posted May 17th, 2005, 1:58 am

mcm_ham
http://mcmblog.homedns.org/Firefox/test.xpi
Error of installation on a Mozilla... :( After installation in the bottom part of a window is written:

<menuitem id="itemsAdblock" label="&adblock.adblocklabel1;" oncommand="filterAllDialog(true);"/>
----^

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest