MozillaZine

Fx 1.0.4 confused -Forum search- for -Find-

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
theshadowofgold
 
Posts: 486
Joined: January 6th, 2004, 9:35 am

Post Posted June 1st, 2005, 11:26 am

Firefox 1.0.4
Mac OS X 10.3.9
Adblock, Autofill 0.2, Netcraft Toolbar 1.0.1 extensions
Plenty of damn RAM

I tried searching for people who posted the same problem several times but after using "the right" keywords and coming up with about 8000+ results each time, I figured "forget it."

This one's a tricky bug to reproduce. Let's say I go to http://www.emailaddresses.com/forum/search.php and start typing in "whitelist" or any other search term, it doesn't matter what you use. Rarely, the Firefox "Find in page" function will take over while I'm typing in the search field, so right after I type in "w" for "whitelist," the rest of the letters will be entered into the Find field along with the first "w" at the beginning of the field. This problem could not be reproduced on another forum search engine. Later, I return to http://www.emailaddresses.com/forum/search.php and the problem does not come up again.

So:
[1] Anybody reported this problem yet?
[2] Anybody else even heard of it before?
Usually I'm the guy that doesn't get all the really wierdo but not problematic bugs.

theshadowofgold
 
Posts: 486
Joined: January 6th, 2004, 9:35 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 7:27 am

[20 hours later]

The two questions above still remain.

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 7:31 am

I think you must be the only person who has seen this problem (and thought it sufficiently noteworthy to comment). Do you normally have Find as you type turned on or turned "off" (the darn thing is practically impossible to turn completely off)
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

theshadowofgold
 
Posts: 486
Joined: January 6th, 2004, 9:35 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 1:52 pm

I use the "When I start typing random characters while browsing a webpage, the Find menu appears at the bottom of the viewable browser window pane" Find option. I began the thread, additionally because this is one of those bugs that I felt needed some (not a lot, though) noting for bug fixing in a Fx revision.

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted June 2nd, 2005, 3:21 pm

I found the bug (https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=258285) It looks like it's been around for a while. If they haven't an example of it occurring on a Mac, I'll add this thread (they often don't thank you for adding comments to bugs, so I'll have to get my tin hat out!!)
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

theshadowofgold
 
Posts: 486
Joined: January 6th, 2004, 9:35 am

Post Posted June 14th, 2005, 6:34 pm

[12 days pass]

only change since: Now using Mac OS X 10.4.1, same extensions, and same version of Firefox.

All right, I am able to reproduce the problem everytime, and this time I think you guys can nail it down. Go to this website: http://search.aol.com/aolcom/search?inv ... dy&Search=

if you play around with just the search field and nothing else all day, then nothing happens, even when the SmartBox pops down. When I click on the "Instant Message" link straight below the search engine, the alert comes up, close it, and play around again in the search field... nothing happens. All right, but then I went to open the "Instant Message" link in a new window. That is supposed to check for the existence of an external program from a new window, which doesn't quite show up correctly. I go back to the search engine, and the problem begins again. For as long as I have Firefox selected as the application at the front of the screen on my computer, the problem persists, but if I click on a window for another application, switch apps, etc., or even if I switch Firefox windows, then return to the original window in Firefox, then the problem goes away.

So, let's recap: No restart is required, only one Firefox window is required, this problem began when opening a new window from a link that was supposed to check/launch an external application, and the problem went away when switching windows or applications.

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted June 15th, 2005, 4:14 am

Read the bug report. I posted a link to it. It explains exactly what is happening - i's been waiting for a fix for a while now, so I wouldn't hold your breath.
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests