MozillaZine


n00b's Guide to fixing bookmark problems in latest Firebirds

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
bangbang023

User avatar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: July 7th, 2003, 12:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post Posted October 5th, 2003, 4:06 pm

OK, I just fixed my bookmark problem in aebrahim's latest builds.


I had issues with firebird creating a new "bookamrks toolbar folder" everytime I started Firebird. If I didn't delete it, I would soon have 3 or 4 of them. This fixed it.


Step 1
Delete all your profiles after successfully exporting your bookmarks

Step 2
Run firebird and create a new profile and proceed to close firebird

Step 3
Open up the bookmarks.html file inside your profile folder, using notepad, and look for the line:
<DT><H3 PERSONAL_TOOLBAR_FOLDER="true">Bookmarks Toolbar Folder</H3>
Delete everything below that line

Step 4
Keeping that file open, open up, inside notepad, your exported bookmarks.html file and look for the line
<H1>Bookmarks</H1>
Copy and paste everything below that line to the bottom of your nw bookmarks.html folder

Step 5
Look for the first folder branch from your exported bookmarks. Mine looked like this:
<DT><H3 ADD_DATE="1033178868" LAST_MODIFIED="1064104072" ID="rdf:#$NJdQK1">Computer</H3>
Now Delete that line and copy whatever you have in place of "Computer" the Bookmarks Toolbar Folder branch so it loooks like this:
<DT><H3 PERSONAL_TOOLBAR_FOLDER="true">Computer</H3>

Step 6
Save file, run Firebird.

lynchknot
 
Posts: 6253
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:36 pm

Post Posted October 5th, 2003, 4:22 pm

Damn. I'm lazy to make another profile and add extentions and themes back in - as well as cookies, history, tabs, etc. Is there a way that we can just delete and add some lines to our old bookmark file?

ehume

User avatar
 
Posts: 6743
Joined: November 17th, 2002, 12:33 pm
Location: Princeton, NJ, USA

Post Posted October 5th, 2003, 4:51 pm

This works:

1. Take your old bookmarks file and leave it somewhere you can find it.

2. Nuke your old profile and your old installation of FB.

3. Install the new FB build.

4. Start the newly FB installed FB build. Let it finish its housekeeping.

5. Enter Bookmarks Manager.

6. Import your old bookmarks from your old bookmarks file.

7. Go into the Bookmarks Toolbar Folder imported from your old bookmarks file.

8. Select everything in the old Bookmarks Toolbar Folder.

9. Drag your selection to the new Bookmarks Toolbar Folder and drop it (the collection of bookmark entries) there.

10. Delete the old--now empty--Bookmarks Toolbar Folder.

You're ready to go.

I've done this a number of times, including with the most recent build.
Firefox: Sic transit gloria mundi.

bangbang023

User avatar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: July 7th, 2003, 12:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post Posted October 5th, 2003, 5:24 pm

I didn't have a bookmark toolbar folder so I had to do it my way

jareha

User avatar
 
Posts: 697
Joined: April 13th, 2003, 6:32 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 3:52 am

Want an <a href="http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=9431">easier solution</a>?

<off-topic>Wow, it's crazy that finding specific (early) posts of mine has become a chore. Guess this makes me an old-hat?</off-topic>

<< Jonathan
<a href="http://www.deftone.com/blogzilla/">Blogzilla - A Blog About Mozilla</a>
Apple iBook / Mac OS X 10.4.9 / 1GHz G4 1.12GB
Mozilla Firefox 2.0.0.4 (2007-05-15) / Thunderbird 2.0.0.4 (2007-06-04)

Steffen

User avatar
 
Posts: 524
Joined: May 10th, 2003, 3:17 pm
Location: Munich

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 6:22 am

If you don't want to nuke your profile and also want your bookmarks.html to stay compatible with earlier versions (like 0.7) and with Mozilla, follow this:
  1. Delete all the empty Bookmarks Toolbar Folders which Firebird created.
  2. Exit Firebird.
  3. Open your old bookmarks.html (inside your profile folder) with e.g. notepad, and look for the line:
    <H3 ID="NC:PersonalToolbarFolder">Bookmarks Toolbar</H3>.
    Before the ID="...", insert
    Code: Select all
    PERSONAL_TOOLBAR_FOLDER="true"
    separated with spaces.
EDIT: You shouldn't be affected by this problem if the attribute is already there.
Last edited by Steffen on October 7th, 2003, 4:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

WeSaySo
 
Posts: 475
Joined: November 5th, 2002, 8:22 am
Location: Earth

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 8:04 pm

See also this bug. Looks like some code was changed in the way the personal toolbar folder was defined.
Ad astra

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests