MozillaZine


aebrahim: Unofficial Win32 2003-10-06 Nightly

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
aebrahim
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 12:24 pm

I built Mozilla Firebird today from CVS with MSVC++ .NET 2003. To build on MSVC++ .NET 2003, I had to apply a somewhat dirty trick with my MSVC++ .NET 2003 install, where I'm using some libraries from MSVC++ .NET 2002. However, it's using the MSVC++ .NET 2003 compilers and linkers. The one bug that's blocking full native build support on MSVC++ .NET 2003 (without any code modifications) is:

http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=208314

If you'd like to see native build support for MSVC++ .NET 2003, please sign into Bugzilla and vote for this bug, or better yet, contribute a patch. Thanks.

This build will run on any Win32/x86 platform, and does not require SSE or SSE2 instructions. I'm experimenting with some new optimisation settings though and would appreciate some feedback on the speed.

The builds are here:
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... Oxs-G7.zip (6.07MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... Oxs-G7.exe (4.46MB - 7z sfx)

Because of some changes to the bookmarks format, I suggest taking a look at this thread before reporting any problems with this build:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=27954

I should note that I can't guarantee that these builds will work with Windows 95, but they will work with Windows 98/NT4 or better.

You can find a copy of these builds (and my older builds) on pryan's mirror:
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim

My .mozconfig is as follows:

. $topsrcdir/browser/config/mozconfig
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="-Oxs -G7"
ac_add_options --enable-static
ac_add_options --disable-shared

My builds have the following preference set:
pref("general.useragent.vendorComment", "aebrahim");

Please try with a new profile (delete or rename the Phoenix folder in %AppData% while Firebird is NOT running) before reporting any problems. Do not overwrite your old Firebird install tree, you need to delete it completely before installing new builds. Also, please test sites before importing data from your old profile.

EDIT: If you're having problems, please state your OS and processor type.
Last edited by aebrahim on October 6th, 2003, 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pryan

User avatar
 
Posts: 246
Joined: December 8th, 2002, 4:08 am

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 12:33 pm

Mozilla <a href="http://pryan.org/mozilla/firefox/">Firefox Builds</a>, <a href="http://pryan.org/mozilla/thunderbird/">Thunderbird Builds</a> and <a href="http://pryan.org/mozilla/">More</a>

jrobbio

User avatar
 
Posts: 713
Joined: June 28th, 2003, 12:40 pm
Location: Loughborough, England

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 12:52 pm

Woo can't wait to try out this one. Thanks pryan for setting up your torrent tracker this is all good news for the community as a whole.

Rob
Official Win32 BitTorrent 0.7: here
BT Tracker
- Get the latest Fire/Thunderbird builds

gl'er
 
Posts: 23
Joined: March 28th, 2003, 10:41 am

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 2:04 pm

For some reason this buld makes Kerio (personal firewall) go nuts. I keep messages about having too many application registered even after removing several from the valid apps list. Went back to 10-02 and everything is fine again.

gl'er

Bosco82
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 2:19 pm
Location: ND, US

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 2:35 pm

With these new builds i am having problems loading http://www.cdfreaks.com

Comics

User avatar
 
Posts: 52
Joined: June 8th, 2003, 8:44 am
Location: Canada

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 2:41 pm

Works fine for me so far, but I had to delete my Firebird directory (not the profile) to get it working. An overwrite didn't work. The process started but nothing was loading. Works fine now, though. I'll report back if I see any differences in speed.

TeddyBerlin

User avatar
 
Posts: 340
Joined: August 10th, 2003, 9:53 am
Location: Berlin(Germany)

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 2:57 pm

WFM
Heinrich Witt
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7b) Gecko/20040309 Firefox/0.8.0+
Mozilla Thunderbird 0.5+ (20040304)

jideel

User avatar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 3:36 pm

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 3:45 pm

It seems to be slower for me than MozillaFirebird-20031004-O1-G7.exe
Config : Ahlon Thunderbird 1400 / 256Mo

aebrahim
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 3:54 pm

Comics wrote:Works fine for me so far, but I had to delete my Firebird directory (not the profile) to get it working. An overwrite didn't work. The process started but nothing was loading. Works fine now, though. I'll report back if I see any differences in speed.

That's actually the standard procedure. You should never be overwriting the directory. You should always delete it, and then extract the new build. Never overwrite.

aebrahim
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 3:56 pm

Bosco82 wrote:With these new builds i am having problems loading http://www.cdfreaks.com

The site works for me. The navigation bars are underneath the ad image though in Firebird, but I think this is more to do with their poor HTML coding than an actual Firebird bug.

EDIT: Have you tried it with a clean profile? Also, did you overwrite the old files? You need to delete them completely, overwriting won't work.
Last edited by aebrahim on October 6th, 2003, 3:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NewHarlock

User avatar
 
Posts: 90
Joined: September 24th, 2003, 6:37 am

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 3:57 pm

Cdfreaks.com works fine for me Bosco 82 :| Anyway everything seems to works fine.

Even if at start i feel this build a little slower than official 20031003, now with time i'm sure i was wrong, especially for pages being in cache, rendering goes really quick, thanks Aebrahim.

Eisprinz

User avatar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:19 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 5:42 pm

Maybe it's just me, but I have serious problems with (wanted) popups both in Aebrahims 2003-10-04 and 2003-10-04 which do not appear in the official 0.7RC.

On http://www.tecchannel.de/hardware/1245/index.html, when I click one of the article's pictures, it minimizes the browser. On http://www.gelbeseiten.de (the german yellow pages), after you finsih a search you have the option to see a city map for the adress found. Clicking there completely crashes the browser.

I did clean installs in any of these cases (both profile and program folder,even registry entries).
I have not edited any pref files.
I do have installed several extensions, but I guess that can't be the problem, since they work fine with the official.
Runs on XP Pro SP1, Athlon 1.2 GHZ.

Is it just me and I have misconfingured some obscure system pref which isn't touched by the official or is something wrong?
XP SP2, Athlon TB 1200, 256MB
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20040922 Firefox/0.10

aebrahim
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 5:51 pm

Eisprinz wrote:Maybe it's just me, but I have serious problems with (wanted) popups both in Aebrahims 2003-10-04 and 2003-10-04 which do not appear in the official 0.7RC.

On http://www.tecchannel.de/hardware/1245/index.html, when I click one of the article's pictures, it minimizes the browser.

This works fine for me. I couldn't test the German yellow pages since I don't speak German and can't navigate the site. :)

Eisprinz

User avatar
 
Posts: 10
Joined: October 6th, 2003, 5:19 pm
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 6:09 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.

aebrahim wrote:This works fine for me. I couldn't test the German yellow pages since I don't speak German and can't navigate the site. :)


I feared so --- in both respects. I tried the obvious alternative for the yellow pages: www.yellowpages.com. This crashes FB ruthlessy as soon as I click on "find". Well, I do see an empty popup for a split second. Having problems nobody else has... that's like hearing voices :-k. And we all know that's a bad sign, even in the world of wizards.
XP SP2, Athlon TB 1200, 256MB
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.3) Gecko/20040922 Firefox/0.10

bengine

User avatar
 
Posts: 84
Joined: October 1st, 2003, 10:49 pm

Post Posted October 6th, 2003, 6:16 pm

Maybe it's just me, but I ALWAYS crashed this build FB if I clicked on "Add Smilies" in the "Post a reply" in this very forum!!! :(

Can someone please verify this....

I'll re-install yesterday's build to check for sure.

Windows 2000 SP4
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.6a) Gecko/20031006 Firebird/0.7+ (aebrahim)

Return to Firefox Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest