MozillaZine

Images / .gif animations don't load

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Filipp0s
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 1471
Joined: July 9th, 2004, 3:33 am
Location: Greece

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 7:41 am

Image 1
If you cannot see the image below check under: Tools | Options | Content | Load Images <put checkmark here
Image

Image 2
If you cannot see the image below check under:
1. Type about:config in the location bar
2. Filter for permissions.default.image
3. Change value to 1
Image

Image 3
If you only see frame one of the animation below:
1.a. Type about:config in the location bar
b. Filter for image.animation_mode
c. Change value to normal</ul>
2. Enable animations from ZoneAlarm [screenshot]

Image


Image 4
If you cannot see the image below, some adblocking software is probably blocking it. [This is the wanted behaviour, I've just added this step for troubleshooting]
Image
[edit]Replaced lost image.[/edit]

Image 5
<a src="javascript:document.getElementById('myimage').setAttribute('src','http://img307.imageshack.us/img307/1337/blimp59ck.png')">First click here</a>; if after clicking the link, the blimp image does not appear check under: Tools | Options | Content | JavaScript <put checkmark here
<img id="myimage" src="http://img307.imageshack.us/img307/6524/1pixel13np.png"></img>

One more note
If some images don't appear and at the same time background and text colours are displayed wrong, read this page: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Website_colors_are_wrong

Still cannot see some images? Read this: http://kb.mozillazine.org/Images_or_ani ... o_not_load
Last edited by Filipp0s on June 13th, 2006, 5:32 pm, edited 9 times in total.

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 8:30 am

Great post, Filipp0s! This should make diagnosis much easier.

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 8:35 am

Make sure you post a link from the FAQs
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 2:53 pm

EXCELLENT POST!!!

FIXXED ME RIGHT UP!!!

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 4:51 pm

I passed the test, but I'm still having trouble seeing images in yahoo, mlb.com, etc.
Need help.

Guest999
Guest
 

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 5:45 pm

Perfect post- Fixed all my image problems. Many thanks.

SoCuu
Guest
 

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 5:58 pm

Thanks for a great post, Filipp0s. However, I am still having a minor problem at #5. I have to click at "click here first" to see the image. After saw the pic, if I refresh the page, the I wouldn't be able to see the image again. I checked the settings as you suggested, I had the same settings. Any idea?

thank you.

Swami
 
Posts: 4221
Joined: September 25th, 2004, 11:32 pm

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 8:26 pm

Nice post, Filipp0s. Didn't even realize I had a problem with 'Images / animations' but I was unable to get Image 5 to appear even though I had the correct Javascript settings. After poking around I finally tracked it down to the 'Image Zoom 0.1.9.20041021' extension. After disabling it, the image appeared. Not sure why that extension is causing that behavior, but I never use it anyway, so I uninstalled it. Maybe this can help anybody who has the same problem.

irs009

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 7:33 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post Posted July 5th, 2005, 10:07 pm

I read another post Yesterday or today that said web accelerators would cause animations to not work. I turned mine off and sure enough the poster was right.

safeb

User avatar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 6th, 2005, 2:22 am

Post Posted July 6th, 2005, 2:33 am

Image four I can't see unless I disable my Norton adblocker, however that doesn't solve my problem since even if I disable it I can't see the images I am having problems with. It also doesn't explain why I could see those same images on Firefox and with the adblocker enabled yesterday. I can still see the images if I use Netscape, though.

If I right click and then try 'view image' it claims the file cannot be found and to check the location and try again.

Any suggestions? Forgive me if this is something easily solved but I am less than technically minded at the best of times and am at a complete loss.

Thanks in advance.

Giomezzo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 6th, 2005, 12:45 pm

Post Posted July 6th, 2005, 12:50 pm

I am having lots of problems with Quicktime and Flash Images. Anyone know what applications or extensions interfere with these formats?
Charles D. Lombino

Hrafnir
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 6th, 2005, 12:58 pm

Post Posted July 6th, 2005, 1:06 pm

I'm still getting the 'broken image' image, the only ones I can see is image 1 and 4.

greenknight

User avatar
 
Posts: 6177
Joined: December 13th, 2004, 2:28 am
Location: In the shadow of Mount St. Helens

Post Posted July 7th, 2005, 5:01 am

I can only see 1, not even broken image symbols for the rest.
Win 10 Home x64, Linux Mint 17 MATE x64, AMD A4 5300 APU 3.6 GHz, ADATA XPG DDR3 1600 8GB, ATI Radeon HD 5450. Firefox 50.0.1, Developer Edition 51.0a2x64 (Win only), Nightly 53.0a1x64 (Win), Nightly 53.0a1 (Linux AMD64) .

OlGranDad
 
Posts: 4191
Joined: December 8th, 2004, 4:34 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2005, 5:06 am

No #4 unless AdBlock (w/Filterset.G) is disabled.
Wondering which one of those filters is blocking #4.....

irs009

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 7:33 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post Posted July 7th, 2005, 9:58 am

I think Image shack is broken right now. These images worked for me earlier and now only #1 works and #4 would probably work if I disabled Adblock. I tried to go to Image Shack website and couldn't connect.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 21 guests