MozillaZine

Address book (LDAP) and Thunderbird 1.5 beta 1

Discussion about official Mozilla Thunderbird builds
hlsu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 5:09 pm

Post Posted September 11th, 2005, 10:03 am

Post to correct forum.

I just noticed that the address book of TB 1.5 beta didn't render the entry from my company's internal LDAP server. However, it's fine when I was composing a message and thus email would be matched while I typed the names.

Anyone experienced similar problem?

Thanks,

HL

hansen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5268
Joined: June 23rd, 2003, 6:28 am
Location: denmark

Post Posted September 11th, 2005, 10:54 am

What do you mean by render?

BryanSD

User avatar
 
Posts: 11
Joined: March 21st, 2005, 12:10 pm
Location: South Dakota, USA

Post Posted September 11th, 2005, 12:07 pm

By "rendering", I think he means the auto-completion feature.

I have not tested the Beta, but have noticed similar problems with LDAP in the nightlies. Work is using the older Netscape Directory. Though in my case, the auto-completion worked in "Contacts" and the "Address Book", but not in the compositions windows main addressing Window. Also, in the Contacts and Address Book...only by using the last name and not the display name and first name could the user be listed. I've seen these problems in other versions before...and it always seemed by the time the release candidates for the full version was out, the problem was corrected.

As I said, I haven't tested Beta 1. When time allows, I'll give it a try.

-Bryan

hlsu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 5:09 pm

Post Posted September 11th, 2005, 8:41 pm

Thanks Bryan, you've given a good elaboration.

The "Auto-completion" is working while using the composer. However, when I used the Address Book and select my company's LDAP server, it didn't return any result when I typed the full name. Obviously it worked when I used the TB 1.06.

- HL

hansen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5268
Joined: June 23rd, 2003, 6:28 am
Location: denmark

Post Posted September 12th, 2005, 2:01 am

Try a new profile and set the LDAP up once more there.

It might be a glitch in the preferences.

jacketmowitz

User avatar
 
Posts: 25
Joined: May 3rd, 2004, 7:48 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2005, 8:38 am

I've had a problem with the corporate directory for a while and just tried this today. I don't know if it'll help you folks or not:

I fixed the problem w/ our LDAP. I had to add the following line into either the prefs.js [above user_pref("ldap_2.autoComplete.useDirectory", true);] or user.js files. Note that "servername" is the name of the corporate directory and should be replaced by your own directory name.

user_pref("ldap_2.autoComplete.directoryServer", "ldap_2.servers.servername");

hlsu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 5:09 pm

Post Posted September 12th, 2005, 7:43 pm

It's still not working while I used the standalone "Address Book" to search the names ...

hansen

User avatar
 
Posts: 5268
Joined: June 23rd, 2003, 6:28 am
Location: denmark

Post Posted September 13th, 2005, 1:25 am

Try putting an asteric (*) in the quicksearch of the Address Book. Does make the addresses show up?

hlsu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 5:09 pm

Post Posted September 13th, 2005, 10:44 pm

Still not working. Basically it's fine while using the composer, but not the standalone address book.

The other part I've noticed is that the response time of auto-complete of Thunderbird (1.0.x and 1.5 Beta 1) is not as good as Mozilla suite.

HL

kalaroo
 
Posts: 24
Joined: June 16th, 2004, 7:01 am

Post Posted September 14th, 2005, 9:44 am

I can confirm this sighting. The address book searches to my company ldap server do not return any responses but the autocomplete feature in the compose window still works. I'm using the official TBird 1.5 Windows build on WinXP SP2. This used to work in TBird 1.06.

hlsu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 5:09 pm

Post Posted September 19th, 2005, 4:50 pm

I downloaded the 9/18 branch build. It's still the same: The address book searches to my company ldap server do not return any responses but the autocomplete feature in the compose window still works.

flaxthejute
 
Posts: 98
Joined: November 16th, 2003, 4:04 pm
Location: Dundee, Scotland

Post Posted September 20th, 2005, 1:50 am

I had this problem, but solved it (touches wood) by deleting and re-entering the LDAP settings for the hospital server

Flax

hlsu
 
Posts: 10
Joined: September 10th, 2005, 5:09 pm

Post Posted September 22nd, 2005, 11:31 pm

I deleted the LDAP entry, and re-created it. It's still the same problem. But it works fine with TB 1.0.6 and Mozilla 1.7.x.

Return to Thunderbird Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest