MozillaZine

problem viewing videos

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
walkerx
Guest
 

Post Posted November 11th, 2005, 1:08 pm

i am having trouble viewing wmv videos that worked in firefox before. i dont know whats up it was fine one day then it just stopped. i tryed re installing windows media player but nothing worked. any idea whats wrong? :(

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 11th, 2005, 2:04 pm

"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

walkerx
Guest
 

Post Posted November 12th, 2005, 7:58 pm

well i installed it, and nothing at all changed

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 12:50 am

What did you try installing?
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

ringlord
Guest
 

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 4:04 am

I have the same issue : embedded wmv videos do not play in the 1.5 version of Firefox. When I reinstall 1.0.7 they work again.

I use this link to test :
http://jrzycrim.sitesled.com/mozilla/wm ... st-HS.html

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 7:09 am

If you don't have 1.5 installed, I can't help you get the WMP plugin to work in it.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 9:22 am

yea i'm using 1.5

walkerx
Guest
 

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 9:23 am

so you think i should just downgrade?

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 10:01 am

I was talking to ringlord in my last post.

As for your problem:
walkerx wrote:well i installed it, and nothing at all changed
Installed what?
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

ringlord
Guest
 

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 10:33 am

Hey Vectorspace. If I now have Firefox 1.0.7 with the wmv plugin working and upgrade to 1.5, it should still function, right ? If just upgrading to 1.5 breaks the plugin then something is not correct in 1.5 or is my thinking not correct ?
I tried most of the tips in the thread http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=206213 (Step-by-step guide) but that did not work.
So I downgraded to 1.0.7 and that fixed my plugin problem.

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 11:51 am

Upgrading to 1.5 should not break the plugin. I've used Deer Park Alpha 2, Beta 1, Beta 2, and RC1 with the WMP plugin with no issues whatsoever.

There could be many reasons why it stops working in 1.5, but unless you have 1.5 installed I can't help you work through it.

The ActiveX plugin will not work with 1.5 though, if that's the plugin you are talking about.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

ringlord
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 12:12 pm

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 12:23 pm

When I upgrade to 1.5 RC2, http://jrzycrim.sitesled.com/mozilla/wm ... st-HS.html shows no video.
When I downgrade again to 1.07 I can see the Pink Floyd video.

So if you can help, I would be glad to try out any suggestions.
As for me I can live with 1.07 I just wanted to point out that a lot of users could have the same problem after upgrading and some of them would maybe switch back to another browser because the latest upgrade renders Firefox unusable.
Last edited by ringlord on November 13th, 2005, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 12:44 pm

Someone has a similar problem recently. I had them redonwload the WMP plugin files from dlldump.com and then copy them into Firefox's plugins folder - that fixed the problem.

The dlldump.com links are in the gude: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=206213
In the Restoring the WMP plugin section.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

ringlord
 
Posts: 2
Joined: November 13th, 2005, 12:12 pm

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 1:21 pm

Hello Vectorspace.

I tried your suggestion but to no avail.

BUT I found the solution (I think) : disabling the OBJ-TABS setting in the Adblock Extension (0.5.2.039) resolves the problem.
Somehow this setting behaves differently in FF 1.5 than in 1.07...

Anyway thanks for your help.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39843
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 13th, 2005, 1:25 pm

Adblock does not work very good in 1.5
A possible replacement is Adblock plus.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 12 guests