aebrahim: W32 2003-11-09 optimised for P3/P4/Athlon/AthlonXP

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

aebrahim: W32 2003-11-09 optimised for P3/P4/Athlon/AthlonXP

Post by aebrahim »

Fixed in this build: Ctrl+P now works again (was broken in 2003-11-08 and before).

I built Mozilla Firebird today from CVS with MSVC++ .NET 2003 using some optimisations. To build on MSVC++ .NET 2003, I had to use some old headers from the MSVC++ .NET 2002 Standard C++ Library. However, it's using the MSVC++ .NET 2003 compilers and linkers, so it should fully benefit from the new optimisations. The one bug that's blocking full native build support on MSVC++ .NET 2003 (without any code modifications) is:

http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=208314

If you'd like to see native build support for MSVC++ .NET 2003, please sign into Bugzilla and vote for this bug, or better yet, contribute a patch. Thanks.

Optimised for Pentium 4, Pentium M, Celeron 1.7GHz+ and Athlon64 with SSE2 (-Oxs -G7 -arch:SSE2):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... 7-SSE2.zip (6.08MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... 7-SSE2.exe (4.47MB - 7z sfx)
The above build will work on Pentium 4, Pentium M, Celeron 1.7 GHz and above and Athlon64 systems ONLY.

Optimised for Athlon XP and some newer Durons with SSE (-Oxs -G7 -arch:SSE):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G7-SSE.zip (6.08MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G7-SSE.exe (4.47MB - 7z sfx)
The above build will work on systems that support the SSE instruction set ONLY.

Optimised for Pentium III and Pentium III based Celerons with SSE (-Oxs -G6 -arch:SSE):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G6-SSE.zip (6.08MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... G6-SSE.exe (4.47MB - 7z sfx)
The above build will work on systems that support the SSE instruction set ONLY.

Optimised for non-SSE Athlons (-Oxs -G7):
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... Oxs-G7.zip (6.08MB - zip)
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim/Mozi ... Oxs-G7.exe (4.46MB - 7z sfx)

I should note that I can't guarantee that these builds will work with Windows 95 (Microsoft has removed Windows 95 as a target platform on their .NET 2003 version of development tools), but they will work with Windows 98/NT4 or better, and probably on Windows 95 too.

You can find a copy of these builds (and my older builds) on pryan's mirror:
http://pryan.org/firebird/aebrahim

My .mozconfig is as follows:

. $topsrcdir/browser/config/mozconfig
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="see build info"
ac_add_options --enable-static
ac_add_options --disable-shared

My builds have the following preference set:
pref("general.useragent.vendorComment", "aebrahim");

I've included a copy of my .mozconfig in the build folder itself. For more on what the optimisation switches do see this link:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/defau ... _.2f.o.asp
Mikhail Capone
Posts: 61
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post by Mikhail Capone »

What does control-P does anyway?
User avatar
joeg
Posts: 2616
Joined: October 10th, 2003, 12:37 pm
Location: How can you be in two places at once, when you're not anywhere at all?

Another winner!

Post by joeg »

Works fast and stable on my machine.

Another thanks to Mr. Ebrahim.
Although every day is Judgment Day, I nonetheless feel like a room without a roof.
avbohemen
Posts: 292
Joined: April 25th, 2003, 6:50 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by avbohemen »

Mikhail Capone wrote:What does control-P does anyway?

Print... or more precisely, call the Print dialog, from which you can print :)
w_ready99
Posts: 7
Joined: September 3rd, 2003, 9:37 pm
Contact:

Right-click menu Print option?

Post by w_ready99 »

avbohemen wrote:
Mikhail Capone wrote:What does control-P does anyway?

Print... or more precisely, call the Print dialog, from which you can print :)


I am sure this is probably not the right place to put this, but after doing a quick search on bugzilla I couldn't find anything regarding this (of course this could very easily be due to incompetence ;) [edit: btw - I searched originally for print but that came up with way to many so I did print right click and that only came up with 3, none what I wanted]). But currently, none of the Mozilla Firebird builds I have used have the selection to Print when you right click on a page. It is not that big of a deal, but this is the way I am used to printing things. Even better would be if it could go one step ahead of Internet Explorer, and when you have selected a large block of text and then right click and choose Print, it would actually setup the Print Dialog with Source: Selection enabled instead of Whole Document.

Again, like I said, completely off topic but I was hoping maybe somebody could either find the bugzilla bug which deals with this or if it does not exist, help me confirm that.

Will
Last edited by w_ready99 on November 9th, 2003, 4:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Does the dog have Buddha-nature? That is the most essential question of all!
User avatar
Archangel
Posts: 73
Joined: August 16th, 2003, 9:35 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by Archangel »

Pryan.org seems to be down. I'm getting operation timed out whenever I try to contact the site.
vinayan3
Posts: 7
Joined: November 2nd, 2003, 11:09 pm

Post by vinayan3 »

It's back up now it seems, so you can DL now
chob
Posts: 4283
Joined: May 17th, 2003, 12:05 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by chob »

Does ALT+RETURN in the search bar open a new tab as it used to? Or is it still broken?
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Right-click menu Print option?

Post by aebrahim »

w_ready99 wrote:Again, like I said, completely off topic but I was hoping maybe somebody could either find the bugzilla bug which deals with this or if it does not exist, help me confirm that.

http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=225091
w_ready99
Posts: 7
Joined: September 3rd, 2003, 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Right-click menu Print option?

Post by w_ready99 »

aebrahim wrote:
w_ready99 wrote:Again, like I said, completely off topic but I was hoping maybe somebody could either find the bugzilla bug which deals with this or if it does not exist, help me confirm that.

http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=225091


I really appreciate the response (I use your builds all the time :) ) but I think you missed the first paragraph of my post. I was actually not talking about the Ctrl-P thing at all.

Will
Does the dog have Buddha-nature? That is the most essential question of all!
User avatar
opaiev
Posts: 142
Joined: August 18th, 2003, 6:04 pm

Post by opaiev »

Does ALT+RETURN in the search bar open a new tab as it used to? Or is it still broken?


I'm wondering the same thing....
trooper21
Posts: 206
Joined: October 5th, 2003, 8:12 am

FB crashing on bank's website

Post by trooper21 »

I can't seem to login into my bank's website. It uses a java applet for logon. Didn't hv this prob on the 11/05 build. Pls help
User avatar
couldabeen
Posts: 6729
Joined: September 9th, 2003, 11:24 am
Location: I'm Right Here

Post by couldabeen »

opaiev wrote:
Does ALT+RETURN in the search bar open a new tab as it used to? Or is it still broken?


I'm wondering the same thing....


If your talking the search bar by the location bar,
It is still broken.
Free Your Mind, And Your A$$ Will Follow - Funkadelic, 1970
User avatar
jacsac
Posts: 140
Joined: October 5th, 2003, 4:13 pm

Post by jacsac »

couldabeen, my search bar by the location bar works great with this build.
aebrahim
Posts: 1234
Joined: November 10th, 2002, 2:47 am
Location: Hong Kong
Contact:

Re: Right-click menu Print option?

Post by aebrahim »

w_ready99 wrote:I really appreciate the response (I use your builds all the time :) ) but I think you missed the first paragraph of my post. I was actually not talking about the Ctrl-P thing at all.

Oops. My mistake. :)
Post Reply