Strange Bug (radio button causes unclean exit)

Discussion about official Mozilla Firefox builds
Post Reply
maxheadroom
Posts: 63
Joined: September 4th, 2003, 5:36 am
Location: Dublin, IE

Strange Bug (radio button causes unclean exit)

Post by maxheadroom »

Hi,

Hoping you can help me with this. I've put it here because the bug only affects my own builds and not an official release (0.7 is the one I tried).

Platform: Linux (Mandrake 9.2, GCC 3.3.1)
Reproductible: Always

Steps to Reproduce:
1 - Click "Search" on the right hand side of this page
2 - Enter some search terms
3 - Change "Search for any terms or use query as entered" radio button option to "Search for all terms".
4 - Watch firebird fall over and die (translation: the window just closes; the process stops unexpectedly)

Expected behaviour:
Firebird changes the option and allows me to use the search page.

I have tried with no plugins installed, it hasn't helped. No error message is printed to the console if I start from the command line.

My .mozconfig:

Code: Select all

export MOZ_PHOENIX=1
mk_add_options MOZ_PHOENIX=1
mk_add_options MOZ_OBJDIR=@TOPSRCDIR@/../fb-build

ac_add_options --enable-crypto
ac_add_options --disable-tests
ac_add_options --disable-debug
ac_add_options --disable-mailnews
ac_add_options --disable-composer
ac_add_options --disable-installer
ac_add_options --disable-ldap
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=gtk2
ac_add_options --enable-xft
ac_add_options --disable-freetype2
ac_add_options --enable-extensions=cookie,xml-rpc,xmlextras,transformiix,venkman,inspector,universalchardet,webservices,pref,p3p
#ac_add_options --enable-extensions=content-packs,help,typeaheadfind,xmlterm,irc,wallet,cview,datetime,layout-debug,finger
#ac_add_options --enable-strip
ac_add_options --enable-optimize="-O3 -march=athlon-xp -mfpmath=sse -msse -mmmx -m3dnow"


I need some help tracking this one down. Any ideas where to start. I didn't put this on bugzilla cos its probably specific to my builds.

EDIT: Changed Subject to make it more descriptive
Old Persist
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post by Old Persist »

Why have you got

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --disable-freetype2 ?
How can you

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --enable-xft
without freetype2? I don't think it's causing your crash, I'm just curious.

I would try turning down the level of optimisation if I were you.
My builds started crashing a week ago,
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... highlight=
using

Code: Select all

ac_add_options '--enable-optimize=-O2 -g'
like the official builds solved the problem. Good luck.
maxheadroom
Posts: 63
Joined: September 4th, 2003, 5:36 am
Location: Dublin, IE

Post by maxheadroom »

Persist wrote:Why have you got

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --disable-freetype2 ?
How can you

Code: Select all

ac_add_options --enable-xft
without freetype2? I don't think it's causing your crash, I'm just curious.


Dunno - Saw it somewhere lese, thught I'd try it out. I usually leave both enabled. It didn't actually make a difference to the font rendering though.

To be completely honest, I know next to nothing about freetype and XFT - I tried googling for info and it was less than successful...

Persist wrote:I would try turning down the level of optimisation if I were you.
My builds started crashing a week ago,
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... highlight=
using

Code: Select all

ac_add_options '--enable-optimize=-O2 -g'
like the official builds solved the problem. Good luck.

I'm trying a debug build with no optimisations now (sshed into my home box from college) and I'll try it later on. I'll aslo do a build with -O2 instead of -O3 and see if that helps...
maxheadroom
Posts: 63
Joined: September 4th, 2003, 5:36 am
Location: Dublin, IE

Fixed

Post by maxheadroom »

Got it working by changing the optimisation level to -O2 instead of -O3
Post Reply