firefox browser occupies more RAM

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Posts: 4
Joined: November 24th, 2005, 9:00 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2005, 9:03 am

hi all,

im using firefox v1.5.
it occupies more space in RAM, around 85,000 KB.

how can this be reduced. even after closing most of the tabs in the browser, i see that its still arnd 70,000 KB.

please help me on this.



User avatar
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2005, 9:07 am

Looks normal to me. Dependant on what your looking at, number of extensions, number of open tabs, any of those tabs have a java application running? Java alone will grab 20Meg of RAM just loading, not counting the application.

If your CPU cycles are staying low, then there should be no impact on your system with the amount of memory used. Its there for a reason, to speed up applications. Why do you think systems are coming out all the time with more and more memory? Its not to just sit there and collect 'dust-bits', its to make programs faster.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8) Gecko/20051124 Firefox/1.5 ID:2005112403

Posts: 4
Joined: November 24th, 2005, 9:00 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2005, 9:30 am

hey i dont have any of the extensions and still face the problem.
and the machine is very slow. thats what really sucks.

please help me. is there any possible solution to solve this???



User avatar
Posts: 587
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 1:33 am

Post Posted November 24th, 2005, 9:43 am

what's your pc h/w config?

Posts: 5
Joined: November 25th, 2005, 4:45 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2005, 8:56 am

I have similar problems. right now with 4 tabs 1 blog extension and it is using 259,676K Mem usage. When I close a tab memory does not get returned. This can't be good. This is use=ing more memory than IE does.

Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests