MozillaZine

Special versions of Firefox

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
Coriolan
 
Posts: 7
Joined: April 17th, 2005, 10:44 am
Location: France

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 2:59 am

Hello,

Please, what do you think about these versions ?
http://www1.plala.or.jp/tete009/en-US/software.html

yagood
 
Posts: 245
Joined: September 16th, 2005, 10:46 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 4:52 am

Wow, dude, thanks for a link! Finally a person who builds current trunk... I'm going to test it!
"This show is taped before live studio audience... as soon as someone removes that dead guy. This is the Colbert Report!"
The Colbert Report @ Wikiquote

Old UliBär
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 8:35 am

Very interesting. These builds are even configurable for AMD CPUs. Just made a 3Dnow!+ version for my trusty Athlon TBird ... i like it 8-)

bloodykiss

User avatar
 
Posts: 62
Joined: November 8th, 2004, 10:46 am
Location: Torun, Poland

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 1:59 pm

Yeah, working fine on AMD, fast and smooth :)

yagood wrote:Wow, dude, thanks for a link! Finally a person who builds current trunk... I'm going to test it!


Bluefyre is also building current trunk almost everyday.

adamlau

User avatar
 
Posts: 162
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 6:55 pm
Location: SoCal-SGV

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 2:11 pm

"Speedup of internal memory transmission for Mozilla"...
Interesting...Firefox 1.5 G7 build working well thus far...
NetBSD 64-bit + Xfce
ArchLinux 64-bit + JWM

BeachKeys

User avatar
 
Posts: 282
Joined: January 14th, 2005, 7:31 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 3:47 pm

Coriolan wrote:Hello,

Please, what do you think about these versions ?
http://www1.plala.or.jp/tete009/en-US/software.html


<img src="http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/4848/dll4gl.png">

Exactly where do you place the DLLs?



.

bollix47
Folder@Home
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 4:03 pm

I put them in the same folder as the program.
Last edited by bollix47 on December 10th, 2005, 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BeachKeys

User avatar
 
Posts: 282
Joined: January 14th, 2005, 7:31 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 4:04 pm

bollix47 wrote:Where you put the program.


OK, just in the main folder and not in any sub-folder?

Stevi
 
Posts: 24
Joined: November 4th, 2004, 6:59 am
Location: Osnabruck, Germany

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 4:06 pm

BeachKeys wrote:OK, just in the main folder(...)?

correct!

bollix47
Folder@Home
 
Posts: 1195
Joined: November 1st, 2004, 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 4:07 pm

That's where I put them ... I think they were already there and I just replaced them.

bangbang023

User avatar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: July 7th, 2003, 12:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 4:44 pm

yagood wrote:Wow, dude, thanks for a link! Finally a person who builds current trunk... I'm going to test it!

say what? Bluefyre and I put out trunk builds daily. Hell, mine use an extra optimization or two.

BeachKeys

User avatar
 
Posts: 282
Joined: January 14th, 2005, 7:31 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 5:07 pm

Coriolan wrote:Hello,

Please, what do you think about these versions ?
http://www1.plala.or.jp/tete009/en-US/software.html

Well, I just installed it and it loads quicker (snaps open right away) than any build I"ve used up to this point. Is that because of the of Module Builder?
Last edited by BeachKeys on December 10th, 2005, 7:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Old UliBär
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 6:34 pm

Although many complain... i can only confirm, what he said is right. Just copy the DLLs (conforming to your cpu) into the right folder and confirm overwrite and confirm the local settings after starting tbind.exe and you're done... really... believe me... it's great!!!

mmoy
 
Posts: 5024
Joined: February 17th, 2004, 9:05 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Post Posted December 10th, 2005, 10:35 pm

I suspect that the setup is so that the DLLs are preloaded when Windows starts up.

It appears that this builder is using custom CRT DLLs optimized for specific platforms which is pretty slick. I did this on some of my older builds using inline code but it resulted in maintenance issues so I dropped it. But the approach of doing it in DLLs is very, very nice.

I don't have time to try the build out right now (and they probably wouldn't run on my Mac anyways) but some BenchJS comparisons with the usual builders might be interesting on the 1.0.7 builds given that not everyone does trunk builds.
Dell E521 X2 5600+ MacBookPro 17'' 2.5 Ghz Penryn Dell M1330 2.0 Ghz Merom 4 GB Vista x64 Compaq r3000z AMD 64 3200+ (Win 32/64) PowerMac G5 1.8 Ghz MMOY-1.5 (OSX 10) Inspiron 8500, 4100, 4000, Dimension 2300 MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz HP E6600 HP X2 4400+

yagood
 
Posts: 245
Joined: September 16th, 2005, 10:46 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Post Posted December 11th, 2005, 7:00 am

bangbang023 wrote:
yagood wrote:Wow, dude, thanks for a link! Finally a person who builds current trunk... I'm going to test it!

say what? Bluefyre and I put out trunk builds daily. Hell, mine use an extra optimization or two.


Sorry, I forgot to write - I'm interested in SSE/MMX G6 builds, but none of you unfortunetely builds it I think :(

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests