MozillaZine

Odd problem building trunk with inspector

Discussion of third-party/unofficial Firefox/Thunderbird/SeaMonkey builds.
Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 7:43 pm

Im getting my builds failing recently when building the inspector extension, but there isnt much of an error to go on, anyone got any ideas?

Code: Select all
+++ updating chrome ../../dist/xpi-stage/inspector/chrome/../chrome.manifest
+++ overriding content/inspector/contents.rdf skin/classic/inspector/contents.rdf skin/modern/inspector/contents.rdf
updating: content/inspector/contents.rdf (stored 0%)
updating: skin/classic/inspector/contents.rdf (stored 0%)
updating: skin/modern/inspector/contents.rdf (stored 0%)
Stripping inspector-1.9a1 package directory...
../../dist/xpi-stage/inspector
make[1]: *** [libs] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/cygdrive/c/mozilla/build/xretrunk-i586-pc-msvc/extensions/inspector'
make: *** [all] Error 2


Mossop

BlueFyre

User avatar
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: February 11th, 2004, 4:33 pm

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 9:21 pm

Code: Select all
Stripping inspector-1.6a1 package directory...
../../dist/xpi-stage/inspector
make[5]: *** [libs] Error 2
make[5]: Leaving directory `/cygdrive/c/mozilla/mozilla/extensions/inspector'
make[4]: *** [libs] Error 2
make[4]: Leaving directory `/cygdrive/c/mozilla/mozilla/extensions'
make[3]: *** [libs_tier_94] Error 2
make[3]: Leaving directory `/cygdrive/c/mozilla/mozilla'
make[2]: *** [tier_94] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/cygdrive/c/mozilla/mozilla'
make[1]: *** [default] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/cygdrive/c/mozilla/mozilla'
make: *** [build] Error 2


It would seem that you're experiencing the on-going bug that seems to be affecting the win32 builders which include myself, bangbang023, and Non Sequitur (to name a few)

It would seem at the current point there isn't a solution.
Last edited by BlueFyre on January 8th, 2006, 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If you notice this notice you may notice that this notice is not worth noticing.

Non Sequitur

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 11th, 2005, 4:52 pm
Location: United States

Post Posted January 7th, 2006, 11:13 pm

In your %PATH% variable, make sure cygwin\bin is before WINDOWS\system32.
<a href="http://www.silvershift.net">Silver Shift (my blog)</a> | <a href="http://www.silvershift.net/builds/">My Builds</a>

Mossop

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: January 11th, 2004, 7:24 am
Location: Swansea, UK

Post Posted January 8th, 2006, 6:33 am

Non Sequitur wrote:In your %PATH% variable, make sure cygwin\bin is before WINDOWS\system32.


Wow that did it. Any ideas what's changed to make that happen?

Non Sequitur

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 11th, 2005, 4:52 pm
Location: United States

Post Posted January 8th, 2006, 9:52 am

The checkin for <a href="https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=309210">bug 309210</a> implemented a use of find.exe that required the unix-style find (in cygwin\bin) instead of the windows one (in system32). Apparently, the build system has always intended for the environment to be configured that way, but (at least for me) it's built fine up until now, though it would never package properly. The source of the problem for most builders is that some non-Mozilla build documentation (such as <a href="http://whereswalden.com/mozilla/msvcfree/">this one</a>) <em>actually</em> tells people that system32 must precede cygwin\bin, and that error has gone unnoticed until now.
<a href="http://www.silvershift.net">Silver Shift (my blog)</a> | <a href="http://www.silvershift.net/builds/">My Builds</a>

BlueFyre

User avatar
 
Posts: 1985
Joined: February 11th, 2004, 4:33 pm

Post Posted January 8th, 2006, 1:08 pm

Non Sequitur wrote:In your %PATH% variable, make sure cygwin\bin is before WINDOWS\system32.


Did that and I got
Code: Select all
link.exe - Entry Point Not Found
The procedure entry point _impure_ptr could not be located in the dynamic link library cygwin1.dll
If you notice this notice you may notice that this notice is not worth noticing.

Non Sequitur

User avatar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: August 11th, 2005, 4:52 pm
Location: United States

Post Posted January 9th, 2006, 12:07 am

Make sure cygwin\bin is after whatever directory contains your compiler's link.exe.
<a href="http://www.silvershift.net">Silver Shift (my blog)</a> | <a href="http://www.silvershift.net/builds/">My Builds</a>

bangbang023

User avatar
 
Posts: 1726
Joined: July 7th, 2003, 12:23 am
Location: Brooklyn, NY

Post Posted January 9th, 2006, 6:05 am

an easy soluton is, in your mozset, to set your PATH variable vefore making the call to vsvar32.bat

Return to Third Party/Unofficial Builds


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests