MozillaZine

Temporary override of ad-blocking

Talk about the native Mac OS X browser.

Moderator: Camino Developers

b00le
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 7:32 am

Sometimes I need/want to see ads. In particular, to read Salon.com for free you need to click on an ad. With Safari and PithHelmet I can Command-Shift-R to reload a page without blocking, clcik on the ad, then carry on browsing with ad-blocking as normal. I can't find a way in Camino or CamiTools to do the equivalent - am I missing something?
Nullius in verba

eccoana

User avatar
 
Posts: 813
Joined: February 27th, 2004, 1:43 pm
Location: bavaria

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 7:52 am

b00le wrote:am I missing something?
no, it's (currently) not possible in Camino or CamiTools to disable ad blocking temporarily.
<a href="http://www.nadamac.de">nadamac.de</a> - <a href="http://www.quermeer.de">quermeer.de</a>

b00le
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 7:56 am

Rats - back to Safari

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 8:11 am

b00le wrote:Rats - back to Safari

Too bad you find such this, imo minor, missing feature to be a show-stopper! :(

b00le
 
Posts: 3
Joined: February 17th, 2006, 7:24 am

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 8:23 am

Well, I go to Salon a lot - so it's not that minor to me. Camino is a little faster, but there's nothing else decisive, and Safari does everything I need, instead of just nearly everything, and I don't want to futz with more than one browser. I agree it's not likely to be a deal-breaker for most people. I guess I could save up for a subscription to Salon...

krmathis

User avatar
 
Posts: 4699
Joined: May 24th, 2004, 9:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 9:12 am

I have posted an enhancement bug on this:
327636 - Add "Temporary override ad-blocking" function

PS! Only post comments in a bug of you have something valuable to add!

Uncle Asad
Camino Developer

User avatar
 
Posts: 3957
Joined: July 24th, 2004, 1:38 pm
Location: بين العالمين

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 5:18 pm

Um, we already do this. Uncheck the box in the Web Features pref, reload the page, and go on about your business. (It doesn't apply if you've used hostperm.1, userContent.css, or CamiTools to block the particular ad, but it does toggle the built-in ad-blocking. Depending on how CamiTools works, you could probably do something similar for its Page Styles, but the Camino checkbox won't do it ;) )
Mac OS X 10.3.9 • PowerBook G4 17" 1.33 GHz | Mac OS X 10.5.x • MacBook Pro 15" 2.2 GHz
Snow7's Camino Forum FAQSearch the Forum  Camino. HelpTroubleshoot Camino

Lost User 18071
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted February 17th, 2006, 7:54 pm

talking about blocking ads.

Well - with yahoo mail, they will have a ad that will cover the links on the left side.

Very weird.

Christian

Return to Camino


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests