MozillaZine

Can you turn off the "preview pane" in Thunderbird

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Thunderbird
rebbi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:27pm

Post Posted Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:40pm

Hi,

First of all.... wowie, zowie, Thunderbird is already great! I'm running Mac OS X "Panther" and I'm pretty close to making Thunderbird my default e-mail client. It's terrific.

Now, here's why I want to know about turning off the preview pane. I'm still "training" the adaptive filters for Spam. Now, suppose something makes it into my Inbox that I think, but am not sure is spam. Or, suppose I'm sure it's spam and want to mark it as such?

Since clicking on the mail with the preview pane active will display the mail, I'm concerned about downloading images that the spammer might have put there to identify my e-mail address as active. Now I know that there's a setting in Junk Mail Controls to "sanitize" HTML in displayed mail marked as Junk... but what about mail that hasn't been marked (yet) as Junk? Once it's displayed in the preview pane, haven't I lost that battle against "web bug" HTML code?

Of course, I can also tell Thunderbird under "Advanced" settings to "block loading of remote images in HTML mail." But then, even HTML mail that I'd like to see lacks graphics. Or, is there a way to ask Thunderbird to load gfx in HTML mails on an individual basis, making "no load" the default, but loading for mails I want to see?

Hope all this makes sense.

Steve
"Macintosh: Because Bill Gates wants to know what you ate for breakfast."

hsingh
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Feb Tue 4th 2003 6:03pm

Post Posted Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:44pm

Uncheck View>Layout>Message Pane

rebbi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:27pm

Post Posted Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:55pm

Well, duh, there you go! ;-) Thanks!
"Macintosh: Because Bill Gates wants to know what you ate for breakfast."

R4F

User avatar
 
Posts: 999
Joined: Dec Sun 7th 2003 7:13pm
Location: Netherlands

Post Posted Dec Thu 11th 2003 9:58pm

You can also drag the divider up and down or get an extension on the Thunderbird Help site in my signature.
[size=9:0df8c2550c]Firefox Help | Nederlands
Thunderbird Help | Nederlands[/size:0df8c2550c]

rebbi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:27pm

Post Posted Dec Fri 12th 2003 8:42pm

R4F wrote:You can also drag the divider up and down or get an extension on the Thunderbird Help site in my signature.
Thanks for this reference. Can you tell me which extension you had in mind for this?

Thanks,

Steve
"Macintosh: Because Bill Gates wants to know what you ate for breakfast."

!!!!cdn!

User avatar
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Dec Sun 7th 2003 9:58pm
Location: Latitude 53ish

Post Posted Dec Fri 12th 2003 8:45pm

togmespane, I expect
!!!!cdn!
-- http://extensionroom.mozdev.org/#chromedit -- http://themes.mozdev.org/ --
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-*; rv:*.*) Gecko/200*mmdd Mozilla Firebird/*.*

Bernard W. Joseph
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Oct Fri 17th 2003 7:21pm
Location: Clinton Twp, MI

Post Posted Dec Fri 12th 2003 9:23pm

Dragging the divider always worked, but for some reason, my Tbird 0.3 frequently only lets me drag it down to about 80% of the message window height. It's not quite random, I've yet to attach this behavior to anything so that I can get a handle on why it happens. Mostly, I've learned not to let it bother me. It'll probably be gone by the time 1.0 comes out.
Bernard W. Joseph
"I do not suffer fools, nor do I fool sufferers."

couldabeen

User avatar
 
Posts: 6729
Joined: Sep Tue 9th 2003 6:24pm
Location: I'm Right Here

Post Posted Dec Sat 13th 2003 1:43am

Go to the Thunderbird extension site and get the 'grippies' extenison if available for your OS.
This will add some 'handles' to the bars between panes that close and open each of the panes.
Free Your Mind, And Your A$$ Will Follow - Funkadelic, 1970

wintogreen
 
Posts: 3891
Joined: Nov Sat 1st 2003 3:38am

Post Posted Dec Sat 13th 2003 11:07am

Bernard W. Joseph wrote:Dragging the divider always worked, but for some reason, my Tbird 0.3 frequently only lets me drag it down to about 80% of the message window height.
I noticed this as well. But so far I haven't had this problem with 0.4.

One nifty feature in Netscape 7 mail that I was surprised to see isn't included in Thunderbird is that there was a button in the middle of the divider. If you clicked on it, it would close the mail preview pane (or open it, if closed), so that you didn't actually have to manually drag the divider down and up.

!!!!cdn!

User avatar
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Dec Sun 7th 2003 9:58pm
Location: Latitude 53ish

Post Posted Dec Sat 13th 2003 12:26pm

that's what the grippies extension restores
!!!!cdn!
-- http://extensionroom.mozdev.org/#chromedit -- http://themes.mozdev.org/ --
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-*; rv:*.*) Gecko/200*mmdd Mozilla Firebird/*.*

Deucalion

User avatar
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Apr Tue 15th 2003 2:31am
Location: Grass hut on the Luna Sea

Post Posted Dec Sun 14th 2003 3:58am

If you choose not to mess with grippies, use the Toggle Preview Pane extension as previously suggested:

http://extensionroom.mozdev.org/more-in ... togmespane
You can't get here from there

rebbi
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Dec Thu 11th 2003 8:27pm

Post Posted Dec Sun 14th 2003 12:39pm

to "couldabeen:" I thought that the extensions were all cross-platform??

to Deucalion: Yes, the togmespane extension works, but I figured out after futzing around for awhile that the toolbar button does not automatically install, you have to configure it.

Speakin' of which: has anybody else had bizarre behavior in the toolbar configuration window... corrupted graphics (specifically, what looks like the standard toolbar showing up multiple times, overlapping??)
"Macintosh: Because Bill Gates wants to know what you ate for breakfast."

!!!!cdn!

User avatar
 
Posts: 250
Joined: Dec Sun 7th 2003 9:58pm
Location: Latitude 53ish

Post Posted Dec Sun 14th 2003 3:25pm

everybody has had that at one time or another : )
!!!!cdn!
-- http://extensionroom.mozdev.org/#chromedit -- http://themes.mozdev.org/ --
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-*; rv:*.*) Gecko/200*mmdd Mozilla Firebird/*.*

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16080
Joined: Nov Tue 19th 2002 1:44am
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted Dec Sun 14th 2003 4:17pm

!!!!cdn! wrote:everybody has had that at one time or another : )
Hasn't hit me yet, but I've only been using FB for about 6 weeks so far.

To the original poster:

All that follows assumes your Mac version works the same as my WinXP version...

Make sure you have the third checkbox under Tools | Junk Mail Controls | Handling checked to sanitize the html of messages marked as junk.

To mark a suspect message as junk without previewing, right click on the suspect message in the message list, then Mark | As Junk. You can also set your message list up to give you a column showing each message's junk status. Click on the right-most button at the top of the message list and choose Junk Status to display this column. Then just click on the junk indicator in this column for any message to toggle the junk status on or off.

I have my installation set to move messages I mark as junk to my Junk folder immediately, and I check them there. You may choose to do this or leave them in place according to your preferences.

My understanding is once you have marked a message as junk you can now view it safely (with sanitized html) either by opening it or seeing it in the review panel.

If, after reviewing, you determine it not to be junk, it is important to change its status back to "not junk" for proper training of the junk filter.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10: FF 48.0.2, TB 45.2.0 ║ Android 6.0.1: FF 48.0, No Android TB available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

couldabeen

User avatar
 
Posts: 6729
Joined: Sep Tue 9th 2003 6:24pm
Location: I'm Right Here

Post Posted Dec Sun 14th 2003 6:27pm

rebbi wrote:to "couldabeen:" I thought that the extensions were all cross-platform??

I didn't know they weren't cross platform. Nothing in the extenisons site indicates specific OS's that I have seen. Did you try to go to that extenions 'homepage' to see if has limitations?

I have had trouble in the past with grippies not showing up after a restart, and had to delete the profile\chrome folder and XUL.mfl file, and reinstall a bunch of other extenison as a result of this action, or 'trick' it by installing another theme, then back to the default theme.
Free Your Mind, And Your A$$ Will Follow - Funkadelic, 1970

Return to Thunderbird General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest