MozillaZine

can't connect to web since firefox update 1.5.0.2

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mmssi
 
Posts: 19
Joined: January 28th, 2005, 3:16 pm

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 12:24 pm

since the automatic update to the firefox 1.5.0.2 i can't connect to the web any longer. I can through internet explorer, but not firefox anymore. gives me this message.

Unable to connect

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.yahoo.com.
* The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
moments.

* If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
connection.

* If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.

it doesn't matter what site i go to. I tried the safe mode and that doesn't work either. Internet explorer works just fine so my isp connection is working ok. I'm not going through a proxy or anything. just connected right through a cable modem. anybody having problems since that firefox update? any way to fix this?

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38941
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 12:32 pm

Remove FF from the program control list of your firewall.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

currrysteph
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 2:58 pm

did that but didnt make a damn difference....its like FF is simply shut off from the internet

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 2:59 pm

I dont even get that far!! Nothing will load, it just sits there. I left the window open for almost an hour, to let it load and it didn't do anything. -cries-

rtmjr50

User avatar
 
Posts: 6318
Joined: August 2nd, 2004, 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 3:05 pm

Anonymous wrote:I dont even get that far!! Nothing will load, it just sits there. I left the window open for almost an hour, to let it load and it didn't do anything. -cries-


--> Error loading any website
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Error_loading_any_website#

--> Standard Diagnostic - Was working fine but isn't anymore ...
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diag ... Firefox%29
--> Browser will not start up
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_:_Iss ... 7t_Startup
--> Issues with Firefox
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Issues_with_Firefox

What Firewall are you using?
What security software are you using?

work fine, install new version .... does not work .....

99% of the time, something on your computer is blocking net access to the net for the new version of Firefox ... most likely its your firewall ...

the other reason is a extension or theme that you have installed is causing the problem ....

Guide: Fixing a bad Firefox Profile
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 02#1590202
step #1 ... Open Firefox by using safemode option.
step #2 ... Create a new profile using the profilemanager option.
step #3 ... Other Answers ...
--> Standard Diagnostic - Was working fine but isn't anymore ...
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diag ... Firefox%29

later, Richard
Last edited by rtmjr50 on April 14th, 2006, 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rule #1: My computer is always right, the human is always the problem .. RULE #2: See Rule #1
using Win XP/SP2 (home) FF1.5.0.9 FF2.0.0.1 FF3a1 Tbird1.5.0.9 ==> Press for More Answers <==
No colours in sig please.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38941
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 3:09 pm

Nearly everything which is known about that:
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=404774
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 3:14 pm

I dont use profiles, because it's only me on this computer...I checked my NIS settings and firefox is allowed to connect...my firefox won't even CLOSE from the processes panel! I tried to get it to and it just won't. I've uninstalled it completely after restarting my computer, and then reinstalled but I was having the same problem. It was working fine this morning...

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38941
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 3:34 pm

NIS is allowing FF 1.5.0.1 not 1.5.0.2. So remove FF from the control panel to force NIS to ask what to do with 1.5.0.2. Firewalls do onyl allow specific versions of a program to access the net. If the program changes it is a new programs the firewall asks or simply blocks.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 4:21 pm

trolly wrote:NIS is allowing FF 1.5.0.1 not 1.5.0.2. So remove FF from the control panel to force NIS to ask what to do with 1.5.0.2. Firewalls do onyl allow specific versions of a program to access the net. If the program changes it is a new programs the firewall asks or simply blocks.


How do you remove FF from the control panel?

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38941
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 4:33 pm

Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 4:39 pm



You mean the control panel of NIS? I though you meant control panel in Windows. Any way I read the article you linked and I understand how to adjust the settings but how do you remove FF from the panel? Just delete the entry?

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38941
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 4:50 pm

Exactly.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

artbrooks
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 6:25 pm

Open NIS. Click on "Personal Firewall",then on "Configure". That opens the Personal Firewall control panel. Click on "Programs", then scroll down to "Mozilla Firefox". Mine had 2, one blocked and one not. Highlight the blocked one, click "modify", change it to "access allowed" and you should be home free.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 8:25 pm

You are all wrong. My computer worked just fine for many month and I forgot to turn off automatic updates. Then it happend. The new update was there and installed itself on my computer. Since then I can not use Firefox to go online. I can use the IE just fine. I deinstalled and completely removed any trace of Firefox and installed an ealier version but still the same issue. Somehow, Firefox 1.502 installs something somethwere, deep in some windows folder or god knows where, that gives this issue. It too me 2 hours by now to install, remove, install, clean (using ccleaner). Going again through the registry and deleting everything with firefox and morzilla, nothing. I really dont like automatic updates and forgot to turn it off this time. I guess I will go back to IE!

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted April 14th, 2006, 9:18 pm

God, I found it. Somehow, a part of kaspersky was still installed on my computer and must have blocked the Firwfox stuff completely.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 14 guests