MozillaZine

manual proxy

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
svs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 1st, 2006, 3:26 am

Post Posted May 1st, 2006, 3:34 am

Hi, My manual proxy keeps getting automatically configured. I change it back to direct connection to internet, but as soon as I launch it the manual proxy is configured. I know this isn't a firefox problem but wondered if someone could help. I have scanned my pc for viruses, trojans, malaware, browser hijackers all to no avail. The manual proxy is set to he following settings:

127.0.0.1 Port 5405
no proxy for: localhost, 127.0.0.1, *update.microsoft.com,*windowsupdate.com,download.microsoft.com,codecs.microsoft.com,activex.microsoft.com,liveupdate.symantecliveupdate.com,liveupdate.symantec.com,download.mcafee.com,*.phobos.apple.com,update.adobe.com

I am running WinXP SP2
Kerio Firewall
AVG antivirus
Windows Defender
WatchPatrol

Is it possible that my firewall is automatically switching to this proxy? If so how can I find out?

many thanks

Simon

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 1st, 2006, 1:36 pm

You can look for settings in user.js if changing the settings in Tools > Options > General : Connection Settings doesn't work.

svs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: May 1st, 2006, 3:26 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2006, 12:11 am

Many thanks for your reply.

The ChromEdit Extension doesn't work with Firefox 1.5.0.2. However, I have found out it automatically configures IE6 as well.
Is there any way I can find out what programme is making these changes? I am suspecting my firewall (Kerio) as it has a
loopback adaptor set to 127.0.0.1, which is the same as the proxy that is altered. however, there are entried in the no proxy for that are spam sites
and this concerns me.

Simon

irs009

User avatar
 
Posts: 729
Joined: November 28th, 2004, 7:33 am
Location: Des Moines, Iowa

Post Posted May 2nd, 2006, 6:04 am

I've seen this posted before, and it was due to something that was listed in 'no proxy for' that
was changing it back. Can't remember exact details but you may find it in a search or perhaps
This will help you. I think what concerns you is your problem.

Jack

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2006, 6:28 am


liviuro2007
Guest
 

Post Posted May 2nd, 2006, 12:45 pm

Hi all!

I try to develop an app in delphi, to configure the proxy settings.
Where is the proxy IP server saved? In what file, location? In registry isn`t located. I want to modify it from my app!

Thanks,
Liviu

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 2nd, 2006, 7:29 pm

It's stored in prefs.js or aternatively in user.js
See: about:config
network.proxy.http
network.proxy.http_port
Last edited by dickvl on May 5th, 2006, 3:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted May 2nd, 2006, 7:56 pm

I have managed to trace what is overriding my proxy. Due to my slow internet connection I use an internet accelerator (onspeed).
This programme automatically overides the proxy setting when it is active.

thank you all for your help

Simon

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], patclash and 24 guests