MozillaZine

Protocol association?

Discussion of general topics about Mozilla Firefox
DaBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 26
Joined: September 2nd, 2004, 4:15 am

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 6:43 am

How do I control which applications Firefox opens protocols with? For example, I want Firefox to open magnet:// links with Azureus.
I'm using Debian Etch with KDE 3.5.2.
Check out my new website!

logan

User avatar
 
Posts: 3453
Joined: May 22nd, 2003, 3:51 pm
Location: NGC 2403

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 7:19 am

Throw this in <<a href="http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile">profile</a>>/prefs.js:
Code: Select all
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.external.magnet", true);
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.magnet", "/path/to/azureus");

DaBlade

User avatar
 
Posts: 26
Joined: September 2nd, 2004, 4:15 am

Post Posted May 8th, 2006, 8:41 am

Thanks a lot. :)
Check out my new website!

SallyToo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2006, 7:26 pm

I realize this is for "Unix" however, I tried this with WinXPsp2 for the guest account and changed the guest profile "prefs.js" to

user_pref("network.protocol-handler.external.magnet", true);
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.magnet", "/G:/Programs/azureus/Azureus.exe");

withut success. If you could make a suggestion as to how to change my entry, I would appreciate it.

Interestingly, on my other WinXP machine, these entries are missing but clicking on the "Mininova" magnet works fine. Apparently I am looking in the wrong place!

Thanks in advance,

S.

Grist

User avatar
 
Posts: 836
Joined: January 27th, 2006, 9:20 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2006, 8:10 pm

For Windows, the protocol needs to be in the registy:
Code: Select all
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet]
@="URL:magnet Protocol"
"URL Protocol"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet\shell]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\magnet\shell\open\command]
@="\"G:\\Programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe\" \"%1\""


If the program doesn't create these during setup or there isn't an option in the program, merge the above into the registry. Copy and paste the above into a text file and save as "magnet.reg". Double click the file to merge.

SallyToo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Post Posted May 20th, 2006, 9:38 pm

Hi Grist,

Thanks for the help. I'm using Firefox on WXPsp2.

Unfortunately, nothing happened after the registry was changed and rebooted. The changes were accepted but the error is still
"firefox ..undefined protocol...doesn't know what to do etc...." Looking thru the registry, I can find all the entries above.

If you have any other suggestion, it would be welcom. I don't need the magnet often but it's a convenience sometimes.

I'm listing the "Regseeker 1.45" result on "magnet" just in case it may help. Sorry for length.

Thanks,

Sally

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.magnet]
@="Magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.magnet]
@="Magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet]
@="URL:magnet Protocol"
"URL Protocol"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\Content Type]
@="application/x-magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\DefaultIcon]
@="g:\\programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe,0"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell]
@="open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open\command]
@="\"G:\\Programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet]
@="URL:magnet Protocol"
"URL Protocol"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\Content Type]
@="application/x-magnet"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\DefaultIcon]
@="g:\\programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe,0"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell]
@="open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\shell\open\command]
@="\"G:\\Programs\\azureus\\Azureus.exe\" \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Magnet\Content Type]
@="application/x-magnet"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\OpenSaveMRU\magnet]
"a"="D:\\Documents and Settings\\amf\\My Documents\\test.magnet"
"MRUList"="a"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\OpenSaveMRU\magnet]
"a"="D:\\Documents and Settings\\amf\\My Documents\\test.magnet"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\ComDlg32\OpenSaveMRU\txt]
"c"="C:\\Registry entries for Magnet Protocol for XP.txt"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET\OpenWithList]
"a"="Azureus.exe"
"MRUList"="a"

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET\OpenWithProgids]
"Magnet"=""

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.MAGNET\OpenWithProgids]
"Magnet"=""

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Services\RemoteAccess\Parameters\magnet]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Services\RemoteAccess\Parameters\magnet]

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52883
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 21st, 2006, 8:48 am

Try to change Magnet to magnet (all lowercase)

fahlmanc
 
Posts: 281
Joined: June 13th, 2005, 6:48 pm
Location: Victoria

Post Posted May 21st, 2006, 4:08 pm

Try this ==> go to about:config, and put in "magnet". Just reset all the entries that come up (I think one should come up). Then restart ff and click on a magnet link. Firefox should ask what you want to do with the magnet link. If it doesn't work, reinstall azureus, and try again.

SallyToo
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 18th, 2006, 7:08 pm

Post Posted May 21st, 2006, 9:40 pm

Hi,

Thanks all for the help. I'll try the suggestions.

Meanwhile, I can do an end run by copying the link and opening the Azureus "open torrents" page and then pasting the link into the "Add URL" tab. Not the real thing but it works.

Crude but when nothing else except the dreaded "reinstall" is left. Adjusting the Azureus torrent tabs columns/widths and content etc to my personal liking is a real pain. I haven't found the file that contains these settings yet so I save the whole D&S Azureus settings in case of major failure. I haven't tried moving these back over a new install yet.

Best,

Sally

Thumper

User avatar
 
Posts: 8037
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 5:42 pm
Location: Linlithgow, Scotland

Post Posted May 22nd, 2006, 6:31 am

Why is there a slash in front of the g:? The slash is for Unix.

- Chris

montenegrino7
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 1st, 2006, 9:42 pm

Post Posted November 1st, 2006, 9:44 pm

Does anyone know how do I associate this on MAC? (PowerBook17, MAC OSX 10.4.8, Firefox 1.5.0.7)



Thanx a lot

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52883
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2006, 5:14 am


trog93845
 
Posts: 3
Joined: May 4th, 2008, 3:44 pm

Post Posted May 4th, 2008, 3:55 pm

> how do I associate this on MAC?

> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Register_protocol

I tried these directions, with several variations and it doesn't work (OS X 10.4). I tried it with Firefox 2 and 3. The binary file I try to map foo://... to runs fine on the command-line. I've tried several suggestions on various pages on this site, and had a savvy friend try it as well.

Return to Firefox General


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests