MozillaZine

[Ext] MR Tech Local Install 5.3.2.6/6.0 Alpha 29 (04-8-08)

Announce and Discuss the Latest Theme and Extension Releases.
mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted June 22nd, 2006, 8:26 pm

MR Tech's Local Install 5.3.2.6/6.0 Alpha 29

Homepage: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/
AMO Install: https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/421/
Download 5.x Local Install: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install.xpi
Local Install 5.x Changelog: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... rsions/421

Download Toolkit 6.0: http://www.mrtech.com/msgboard/toolkit.xpi
Toolkit 6.0 Changelog: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/release_notes.xhtml

Supported by 5.x: Firefox 1.0-2.0, Thunderbird 1.5-2.0, Mozilla, SeaMonkey, Flock, Netscape 8.x, Nvu & Sunbird
Supported by 6.x: Firefox 2.0-3.0, Thunderbird 2.0, SeaMonkey, eMusic Remote, Flock, Netscape 9.x & Sunbird

Localizations: be-BY, bg-BG, cs-CZ, da-DK, de-DE, en-US, es-AR, es-ES, fa-IR, fi-FI, fr-FR, he-IL, hu-HU, hR-HR, it-IT, ja, ko-KR, lt-LT, mk-MK, nl-NL, pl-PL, pt-BR, pt-PT, ro-RO, ru-RU, sk, sr-YU, tr-TR, uk-UA, zh-CN, zh-TW
Rate It on AMO: click here
E-Mail: mrtech [at] gmail.com

Special Notes:
<li> New Hacks list is available on my site: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_ ... hacks.html
<li> Smaller locale specific installer are available on my site: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/local_install/

Known Issues:
<li> Local Install does not always archive extensions or themes, this is true when there are multiple updates
<li> Using Local Install with All-In-One-Sidebar may produce some adverse affects with Extension/Theme titles and other features, please disable window title, sorting and slimmode as these are already included in Local Install.
Last edited by mrtech on April 8th, 2008, 8:30 pm, edited 34 times in total.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 22nd, 2006, 9:22 pm

Updating as i type this. Just 'marking a spot' here for now. Thanks for the update, Mel!

Cato62

User avatar
 
Posts: 684
Joined: March 7th, 2005, 10:06 am
Location: Eugene, OR

Post Posted June 22nd, 2006, 10:00 pm

Hey Mel, I was wondering where the icon below disappeared to for Firefox 1.5.0.4. The icon is still there in Thunderbird 1.5.0.4. I'm using the Walnut theme for both FF and TB and my OS is WinXP SP2. Any ideas?

<img src="http://www.emsbl.com/icon_mtli_5.1.jpg">

Thanks in advance
"It is difficult to fight against anger, for a man will buy revenge with his soul." ~ Heraclites, 500 B.C.

The Blood Series: BloodFire, BloodFire 3, BloodThunder, BloodSun, & BloodSong

norix

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 6th, 2005, 10:16 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted June 22nd, 2006, 11:14 pm

Hi mrtech, thanks for updating.

"Eable Session Manager/Crash Recovery session restore on restart" setting don't work well for me.
Always eabled.

I use Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; ja; rv:1.9a1) Gecko/20060622 Minefield/3.0a1 - Build ID: 2006062219

Thanks.

Old Makondo
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 12:04 am

In about:config, type sessionmanager in the filter field, double click on the line that will show, it will change it to 'false'. See if this helps.

norix

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: May 6th, 2005, 10:16 am
Location: Japan

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 12:30 am

I set "local_install.enableSessionManagerResume" to <strong>false</strong>.
but I restart using Restart feature, session is restored.

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 12:56 am

Since bug 335864 has been fixed, I decided to implement the same changes into Crash Recovery/Session Manager. This means that the .resume_session_once pref is automatically set when restarting and there's no way to opt out (i.e. local_install.enableSessionManagerResume won't have any effect).

@norix: Why would you not want to resume the session when restarting? As I see it, restarting is currently mostly/only a hack to refresh the interface in case a new extension/theme was installed. If that refresh was possible without a restart, you wouldn't do so, thus keeping your session. Automatic session resuming thus just tries to mitigate that fact as much as possible until restarting gets obsolete.

onemen

User avatar
 
Posts: 1126
Joined: October 15th, 2004, 7:48 am

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 2:42 am

on FF trunk build when i click on Tools > Add-ons or on extensions manager toolbar button i get this error messages.
no error from theme manager button

i don't think it's local install bug, i get the warning on chrome://mozapps/content/extensions/extensions.js on clean profile too.

Code: Select all
Warning: reference to undefined property window.arguments[0]
Source file: chrome://mozapps/content/extensions/extensions.js
Line: 503
 ----------
Warning: reference to undefined property window.arguments[0]
Source file: chrome://mozapps/content/extensions/extensions.js
Line: 507
 ----------
Warning: reference to undefined property window.arguments[0]
Source file: chrome://mozapps/content/extensions/extensions.js
Line: 509
 ----------
Warning: reference to undefined property window.arguments[0]
Source file: chrome://local_install/content/local_install.js
Line: 1059
 ----------
Error: window.arguments[0] has no properties
Source file: chrome://local_install/content/local_install.js
Line: 1059

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 6:21 am

onemen wrote:on FF trunk build when i click on Tools > Add-ons or on extensions manager toolbar button i get this error messages.
no error from theme manager button

i don't think it's local install bug, i get the warning on chrome://mozapps/content/extensions/extensions.js on clean profile too.

I thought I saw this with TB trunk, but I'll check it out and see if I can patch it up.

edit: I thought I saw a bugzilla on this for a js update a few days ago, I'll check around.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 6:24 am

Cato62 wrote:Hey Mel, I was wondering where the icon below disappeared to for Firefox 1.5.0.4. The icon is still there in Thunderbird 1.5.0.4. I'm using the Walnut theme for both FF and TB and my OS is WinXP SP2. Any ideas?

<img src="http://www.emsbl.com/icon_mtli_5.1.jpg">

Thanks in advance

it shouldn't have disappeared, try changing themes to see if it shows up, if that doesn't work you might need to reset your toolbar.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 6:29 am

zeniko wrote:Since bug 335864 has been fixed, I decided to implement the same changes into Crash Recovery/Session Manager. This means that the .resume_session_once pref is automatically set when restarting and there's no way to opt out (i.e. local_install.enableSessionManagerResume won't have any effect).

@norix: Why would you not want to resume the session when restarting? As I see it, restarting is currently mostly/only a hack to refresh the interface in case a new extension/theme was installed. If that refresh was possible without a restart, you wouldn't do so, thus keeping your session. Automatic session resuming thus just tries to mitigate that fact as much as possible until restarting gets obsolete.

no offense zeniko but you really shouldn't assume someone wants to resume on any restart, that's why there are options, to allow the user to pick what they prefer.

I'll wait to see if CR/SM get updated to change this, if not I'll see what I can do on my end.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 6:47 am

mrtech wrote:you really shouldn't assume someone wants to resume on any restart, that's why there are options, to allow the user to pick what they prefer.

Then please convince me that having such an option is worth bothering the user with. I have yet to see a reason why you wouldn't want to resume a session on restart. And apparently the Firefox devs haven't seen such a reason, either, as you can see by how the mentioned bug 335864 was fixed...

mrtech

User avatar
 
Posts: 2007
Joined: May 15th, 2003, 7:46 am
Location: New York

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 6:52 am

zeniko wrote:
mrtech wrote:you really shouldn't assume someone wants to resume on any restart, that's why there are options, to allow the user to pick what they prefer.

Then please convince me that having such an option is worth bothering the user with. I have yet to see a reason why you wouldn't want to resume a session on restart. And apparently the Firefox devs haven't seen such a reason, either, as you can see by how the mentioned bug 335864 was fixed...

just because fx 2.0 is going to resume on restart doesn't mean you have to. Extensions are created to give users options, the resume on restart option should be driven by extensions, not just force it because it's the default behavior.
mel reyes • mrtech.com • BlogPlaxoLinkedInTwitter
Support mrtech.com get our toolbar

old zeniko
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 7:01 am

True, but just because I could give the user an option, doesn't mean I have to. As I said: as long as I don't have a reason for offering an option, I won't.

slyfox

User avatar
 
Posts: 177
Joined: November 6th, 2004, 12:53 pm

Post Posted June 23rd, 2006, 7:58 am

Nice update, as allways
May the source be with you

[EXT] Splash Screen - 1.2 (100%), 2.0 (10%)

[EXT] Slyfox - The Firefox logger - alpha (3%)

Return to Extension/Theme Releases


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LewS and 5 guests