MozillaZine

can't open firefox after downloading site advisor...

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Anela
Guest
 

Post Posted June 25th, 2006, 12:18 pm

The title pretty much explains it. In order to use the regular firefox, I have to ctrl+alt+dlt the firefox program, then go into firefox safe mode and then I'm good to go. Is anyone else out there having this problem? Please help.

Thanks!

brog44
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 4:46 am

Anonymous wrote:The title pretty much explains it. In order to use the regular firefox, I have to ctrl+alt+dlt the firefox program, then go into firefox safe mode and then I'm good to go. Is anyone else out there having this problem? Please help.

Thanks!
Yes, I experienced the same problem 4 or 5 days ago. I installed an updated SiteAdvisor plugin in Firefox 1.5.0.4. Afterwards, Firefox would not open.

I uninstalled the plugin (didn't help). Then I reinstalled Firefox (also didn't help). At that point, I concluded that my Profile was corrupted. After deleting my original Mozilla profile (all my passwords, settings, and Bookmarks), I was able to startup Firefox.

I am NOT pleased !

rtmjr50

User avatar
 
Posts: 6318
Joined: August 2nd, 2004, 5:06 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC USA

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 5:10 am

brog44 wrote:
Anonymous wrote:The title pretty much explains it. In order to use the regular firefox, I have to ctrl+alt+dlt the firefox program, then go into firefox safe mode and then I'm good to go. Is anyone else out there having this problem? Please help.

Thanks!
Yes, I experienced the same problem 4 or 5 days ago. I installed an updated SiteAdvisor plugin in Firefox 1.5.0.4. Afterwards, Firefox would not open.

I uninstalled the plugin (didn't help). Then I reinstalled Firefox (also didn't help). At that point, I concluded that my Profile was corrupted. After deleting my original Mozilla profile (all my passwords, settings, and Bookmarks), I was able to startup Firefox.

I am NOT pleased !


You did it the hard way .... easy way would have been to use firefox safemode to remove the "problem" from your profile ..... 95% of the time there is no need to delete the profile .... all you need to do is remove the problem .... safemode is the first step, second step would be to do manual uninstalling, and 3rd step is create a new profile, and copy your user files from the old profile to the new profile.

Guide: Fixing a bad Firefox Profile
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 02#1590202
step #1 ... Open Firefox by using safemode option.
step #2 ... Create a new profile using the profilemanager option.
step #3 ... Other Answers ...
--> Standard Diagnostic - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diag ... Firefox%29
--> Issues with Firefox - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Issues_with_Firefox
--> Problematic Extensions - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Problematic_extensions

The reason Firefox works is safemode is that you have disable the "problem" .... Your beef is with SiteAdvisor ... which created something that does not work in Firefox 1.5.

last thing, anything that you install that is not from the update site means that it has not been tested to make sure that it actually works .... anyone can create a plugin, .... an another example of a bad plugin is VLC ... its Firefox plugin will not work in FF 1.5., VLC works fine, the Firefox plugin does not.

--> Uninstalling Extensions - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Uninstalling_Extensions
--> Unable to install themes/extensions - http://kb.mozillazine.org/Unable_to_ins ... Firefox%29

Personally, I always make a backup of my profile, before adding any kind of extension, theme, or plugin .... if something is screwed and safemode can not solve it, I just delete the bad profile and copy the original profile back.

Listing of other extensions/utilities to backup/copy/transfer your profile & user files
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic ... 25#1252725

later, Richard
Rule #1: My computer is always right, the human is always the problem .. RULE #2: See Rule #1
using Win XP/SP2 (home) FF1.5.0.9 FF2.0.0.1 FF3a1 Tbird1.5.0.9 ==> Press for More Answers <==
No colours in sig please.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 6:39 am

I have had the problem also. rtmjr50 seems to suggest it is a firefox ( funny that the symptoms are all identical ) problem but for so many people to get the problem suggests aproblem with Site Advisor ( who I have contacted ) but as usual with most companies they deny all knowledge of their application is faulty.

The resolution would be interesting.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 8:47 am

It is a plug in. If MaAfee saids it works with FF it is their responsibility to make sure it does.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 6:49 pm

I've had the exact same problem with firefox since I updated site advisor to the newest version. Weird thing is that sometimes firefox will launch and other times it just sits in my process manager running on very minimal resources. Since I've disabled it (the site advisor extension) I've had no problems from firefox. I hope McAfee will address this error and let me their extension again. It really is very useful... if not... Maybe someone will develop an alternative. Does anybody know of one out right now?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 27th, 2006, 8:01 pm

Thanks all for responding...I thought my computer just hated me but now I know

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 28th, 2006, 12:29 am

I've been having the same pronblem for the last two days: every morning my firefox would refuse to start, using task manager to stop the process and restarting didn't help. I created a new profile, installed every extension again, it worked until the next restart, then in safe mode I removed siteadvisor and it works fine again.

It's definitely the Siteadvisor extension, so I'll see if McAfee have a feedback system for such events.


BTW just glad I'm not the only one :D

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted June 29th, 2006, 9:11 pm

I experienced the same problem when I updated Siteadvisor from ver 21 to ver 22. I have no prolem after reverting back to ver 21.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 14th, 2006, 9:43 pm

Can anyone tell me where to get a copy of the prior version (21)?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 19th, 2006, 8:16 pm

Anonymous wrote:Can anyone tell me where to get a copy of the prior version (21)?



Follow this link for ver 21:

http://www.snapfiles.com/get/siteadvisorfx.html

Solution12
Guest
 

Post Posted July 20th, 2006, 4:33 am

To "Brog 44". I've expirienced exact the same problem, not opening firefox, after installing "Mcafee siteadvisor for Firefox extension 22.0
The solution is to install the previous version, Mcafee siteadvisor firefox extension version 21.0 build
2945 05-29-2006
Witch works fine.And here is the link:

http://www.snapfiles.com/download/dlsiteadvisorfx.html

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted July 20th, 2006, 10:45 am

brog44 wrote:After deleting my original Mozilla profile (all my passwords, settings, and Bookmarks),....

Now why in the world would you do that? If you delete things, they tend to go away.

But you may still have your data. If you made a copy of the files, you would still have them. But apparently you didn't do that. If you used the Profile Manager to delete the profile and checked "delete files" they are gone. But if you didn't check it, they are still there safe in the profile folder, even though the profile has been removed. Once again, don't delete things that you might want.

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder and http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_manager .

lanky
Guest
 

Post Posted July 21st, 2006, 3:02 am

VanillaMozilla wrote:
brog44 wrote:After deleting my original Mozilla profile (all my passwords, settings, and Bookmarks),....

Now why in the world would you do that? If you delete things, they tend to go away.

But you may still have your data. If you made a copy of the files, you would still have them. But apparently you didn't do that. If you used the Profile Manager to delete the profile and checked "delete files" they are gone. But if you didn't check it, they are still there safe in the profile folder, even though the profile has been removed. Once again, don't delete things that you might want.

See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder and http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_manager .
I must be one of the lucky ones because Site Advisor works o.k. with Firefox 1.5.0.4

Wyeast
Guest
 

Post Posted July 24th, 2006, 4:19 pm

Yeah, weird. I've got SA v.22 (build 3073) running fine on FF 1.5.0.4. *knocks on wood*

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests